Squarespace Review – More Illusion Than Reality?

You can say what you want, but Squarespace’s homepage is a visually impressing masterpiece. Among all website builders we’ve tested, no other company understands how to stage its product with such perfection. Everything looks so cool, fresh and impeccable. Let’s find out if the website builder works the same way.

Squarespace’s latest version 7 introduced some new features like a Cover Page builder, Google Apps for Work and Getty Images. However, the most important aspect is the editor’s usability. Now it’s possible to edit content live without switching back and forth between the site manager and preview mode. We are big fans of inline editing as it makes things not only less abstract but also faster.

Squarespace positions themselves as THE website builder for blogs, portfolio sites or online stores. This review will give you an overview of the most important aspects of the revised version.

See it in action here

info Test drive Squarespace 14-days for free.

Squarespace in detail

Ease of use
The user interface has a very minimalistic design. Unfortunately, it’s not always very self-explanatory. Content can be edited on the fly. When you resize the window, you see directly how it looks on your mobile devices.
Choice and flexibility of design (templates)
The designs look very artistic and state-of-the-art. The Cover Page builder allows you to create an impressive single page design. Pros can control the HTML/ CSS in the “Professional Plan” (Developer Platform).
Advertisement-free yesAll plans are ad-free.
Editor supports any language, but interface in English only. Does not provide a good way to create multilingual websites.
Your own domain name (e.g. .com or .net) yesYearly and bi-yearly subscriptions include a domain name (.com, .net, .org, .biz, and .info are available). Existing domains can be pointed to Squarespace.
Depth of navigation
One level below the main navigation. You can set it up using folders as they call it. Some templates feature a secondary navigation underneath the main navigation.
Widgets (small tools to add extra functionality)
Fantastic choice of add-on features: gallery widgets, social media widgets (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.), tools for restaurants and much more.
Monetization yesUsing Google AdSense or other banner ads.
Included in every plan (with limitations). You can easily integrate a shopping cart into your blog. Read more in our detailed e-commerce review.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
As good as it gets: editable page titles, meta description, and custom URLs. Even 301 redirects are possible.
The only real alternative to a WordPress blog; has all the usual blogging features (commenting, trackbacks) and more (geolocation tags, reblogging). If you already have a blog on WordPress, Tumblr, Posterous or Blogger, you can even import it. You can even host your own podcast on Squarespace, complete with RSS feed and iTunes tagging.
Visitor statistics
The inbuilt visitor analytics tool shows you some key stats. You can check your stats also with the “Squarespace Metrics App.” For more details, you can set up Google Analytics.
Contact form yesFully customizable contact form builder with lots of field options.
Password protection yesYou can either protect the entire site or individual pages. More details here.
Newsletter tool noThey allow you to connect an existing Mailchimp account. This way you can collect your customers email addresses on the checkout page.
Add HTML code yesEnables other widgets and tools to be added.
Storage space UnlimitedNo bandwidth and storage limit.
Forum noYou can use muud or tal.ki.
Support yes24/7 ticket system, live chat - The knowledge base is comprehensive. Their support is top of its class. Video tutorials are also available.
Fun Factor
Figuring out how the system works can take a while in the beginning but it's well worth it.
Overall Rating
Although not quite as easy to use as other website builders, it sets new standards for blogging, ecommerce and customization.


The rather complicated editing interface used to be a pain point for many in the past. Fortunately, this has improved tremendously in version 7. Creating a Squarespace website has never been easier because the site builder now allows for real point and click interaction. This speeds up your website building efforts and lets you avoid unpleasant surprises.

However, sometimes it feels a little too minimalistic, which can require a decent amount of trial and error until you are completely familiar with the editor. Some of the page elements are limited to an icon and don’t reveal their purpose immediately. Luckily, Squarespace provides many great tutorials that explain all the tools.

Each yearly plan contains a domain name and even the “Personal” plan allows you to sell one product. The plans “Professional” and “Business” remove the page limit and give pros more control over their website and add handy eCommerce features. Find our pricing comparison here.

Our tests have shown that Squarespace is a reliable website builder; however, its page speed could be a bit faster. Squarespace is not perfect, but we agree with their slogan: “Better websites for all,” especially from an aesthetic point of view.

> Compare Squarespace with other website builders here

Squarespace Example Sites

Squarespace User Reviews

( 4.7 ) 3 Reviews
It will require a lot of time to get to know the system, but when you are serious that won’t be an issue.
All support emails are promptly returned.
Pricing is fair.

Alternatives to Squarespace

FAQ about Squarespace

Is Squarespace secure? How much traffic does it support?

Squarespace uses SSL encryption in editing mode – a feature that sets it apart from most other tools. Both their Unlimited and Business plans support unlimited traffic and can handle tremendous amounts of concurrent website visitors. If you have used WordPress in the past you will probably appreciate this.

Will my Squarespace site work on an iPad or iPhone?

Yes, their layouts are responsive and will adapt to the screensize of your visitor’s device. They also offer mobile apps for the iPhone, iPad and Android that allow you to edit your site on the go.

Does Squarespace include email accounts?

No, you will have to set it up elsewhere. They recommend Google Apps. Alternatively you can purchase your domain name through a registrar like Go Daddy or Namecheap and let email run through them.

Can I create a members-only area?

You can set up password-protected pages on your website, although only a password is used (without a login name). More details.

Does Squarespace support 301 redirects?

Yes, you can set up URL mapping. If you are moving your site over from a previous system, you can redirect old URLs that would otherwise lead to an error page.

Can I use Disqus for comments on my blog?

Yes, Squarespace has a direct integration with Disqus.

Can I import my existing website or blog into Squarespace?

Yes, Squarespace supports imports from. WordPress, Tumblr, Squarespace 6, Blogger, Shopify, and Big Cartel. Squarespace also allows you to export your website.

Is there a discount available through Squarespace?

Absolutely! Save 10% using Squarespace’s official discount voucher: get it here.

Review Updates

11 Sep 2015 – User reviews section added
04 May 2015 – The “Personal” plan has no bandwidth and storage limit any longer
02 Dec 2014 – New video review added
21 Nov 2014 – Overall review update (V7), New rating 4.4 Stars (before 4.1)
28 Mai 2014 – Information on podcast hosting added.
31 Jan 2014 – Online store is available in all three plans.
20 Aug 2013 – The online store is now also available in the UK.
30 Mar 2013 – Video review of the online store added.
13 Feb 2013 – We added information about password protection.
20 Feb 2013 – Squarespace adds a shopping cart with their Business plan.
10 Oct 2012 – We’ve created a list of shopping cart options for Squarespace.
06 Aug 2012 – Initial tests of version 6.

Last updated: 11 Sep 2015 | Robert Brandl

Your opinion and user reviews:

  • GC

    Can you give any recommends for site building for beginners, general business site, not artistic? Thanks.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      You can find a few recommendations for small business sites here: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/how-to-create-small-business-website/ If you have any specific requirements, please let me know and I’ll try to find something for you.

    • danshafer

      I’ve spent a LOT of time and effort — and more than 15 years of Web design and development experience — and I have to tell you that for an above-average Web site for small business that is easy to use and powerful as well, you can’t do better than Jimdo. In fact, that’s also Tooltester’s recommendation. Except for the blogging component, which is marginally adequate, Jimdo is really a wonderful tool. I’m practically addicted.

      • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

        I think so too. Thanks a lot for your comment!

      • http://www.facebook.com/steven.christiansen.54 Steven Christiansen

        Thanks for input. Blogging wise, I wish to have a(initially) smaller platform and Jimdo will probably be adequate.

  • Leanna Thomas

    Thank you for this review, I am trying the trial version as of now.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Would love to hear your feedback when you are done!

  • Leanna Thomas

    I am a very picky person, so it is a downer that they only have limited types of templates. I also looked at the 5th version which they had more well design templates which is really useful but sadly enough you cannot use them in the 6th version.

    But the tools use to design the template is pretty hands on and simple. which is good.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      The good thing is that you can customize the templates quite easily. But I guess you would have to try out version 6 to see if there actually is a template you like. Compared to V5 I’d say the new templates look fresher, more modern.

  • Justin

    Thank you for the review! Can you list a few other comparable paid sites for bloggers? Thanks!

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      To be honest our focus is more on site builders than on blogging platforms. For blogging I believe the only real Squarespace alternative is WordPress, which is more effort to set up and keep secure. But it does offer great options. I think you can narrow it down to these two options.

  • http://www.webbroi.com Casey Armstrong

    Definitely a huge fan of the latest updates. The ability for full code control, while they handle the hosting, etc. is amazing!

  • bpick

    Hi, I’m a small business owner (health care provider) looking to update my site. I need CMS, multilingual, tablet/mobile viewing, form downloads, contact form, SEO, map, blog roll to keep home page active, and integrate my blog (through blogspot) and appointment booking (through a 3rd party) option to my site. Would you recommend squarespace or another platform? Thank you!

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi! So Squarespace will do almost everything you mentioned except for two things. It’s not that great for multilingual sites. There is no special feature and the navigation is not very deep. If you want to do a lot of pages in another language I would not recommend Squarespace.
      You can integrate your blog feed with an external tool like Yahoo Pipes but I that’s not something I would recommend either. Squarespace has a powerful blog module and allows you to import your Blogger blog, which seems like a much better solution to me. In terms of alternative platforms I’d take a look at Jimdo and maybe also Weebly. There you have an RSS widget that lets you integrate your blog feed anywhere you want. Jimdo is also fairly good for multilingual sites.

  • http://www.facebook.com/angelalauren94 Gypsy Angel


    iam a graphic designer. I would consider build my portfolio with Squarespace. Right now I have an Behance pro site. What are advantages i disdvantages. For me it would very important to have dowloadable PD option. On Behance I upload files to ISSUU.com and have a link. Is it the case with Squarespace too?

    Thank you!

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi, it’s the first time I hear of Behance so I can’t really compare it to Squarespace. Do you mean “PDF”? You can also integrate Issuu on a Squarespace site or simply upload the file directly to Squarespace and offer it as a download. Let me know if you have any further questions!

  • http://digitaldomination.com/ Steve Fitzpatrick

    I’ve had clients who have used both Squarespace and WordPress and some absolutely swear by Squarespace as the CMS of choice.

    However, I think they have a lot of work to do to compete in what is becoming a very competitive marketplace. Joomla and Drupal are really the only rivals to WordPress but other services like WIX are now advertising heavily and are direct competition with Squarespace.

    Will be interesting to see who the users choose!

  • Luciana

    Don’t recommend at all. Expensive, and the service is not 24/7 and good as they claim to be. I was really excited in the beginning (even with
    the price), but in how easy (and with nice design) would be to create my
    own website. I got a very bad issue while I was building it (and paying
    for the service): after many pages already designed, the scroll down
    function completely stopped working, both in the management/ editor side
    and the page view. I asked for help and the answer: they would not know
    when that would be fixed. They asked me to use one of the recording
    screen services, which I did. They took the issue to advanced tech
    support, but with no time frame when that would be solved. They also
    said the issue was only on the editor end, which proved to be wrong,
    after I published the site. Result: I am trying to get my money back
    with the issue not solved. And looking for another platform… really

  • Luciana

    AVOID IT. I am now paying $20 per month, having all kinds of trouble (after uploading my site, I started having an issue with the scrolling bar- it doesn’t roll until the end, both in the page manager and page view. After days of trouble, many many emails- to a support that claims to be 24/7, they said my issue have no date to be fixed (????). When I told I want my money back, they said sorry (they always write you with many exclamation points, showing excitement not sure for what), and this is what I had back today:

    ‘I’m terribly sorry for the troubles here! Your ticket was escalated
    to our testing team and did not immediately go to the regular queue of
    tickets due to this.’

    What??? Now they don’t respond to my emails, and I am trying to
    figure out how to get my money back… Do not recommend at all. What
    showed to me an easy tool to build your own website (and a good customerservice before this issue showed up), now is being a pain in the b.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Luciana, somehow your comment slipped through and I only saw it now. Really sorry about that! Were you able to resolve this issue with Squarespace? If not I’m happy to help you and talk to my contacts there! Just let me know.

  • disqus_eqEdKi0aJe

    Do you need to have .sqsp.com at the end of your site or will that go away when you get a plan?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      You can choose your own proper domain name. A .com, .org, .net, .biz or .info domain name is included in all their packages.

      • Vivia Horn

        This is my biggest problem with the SS, SquareSpace was not difficult for me to design, but I can’t stand to have @squarespace.com attatched to my web address. I have a commerce site with Yahoo (www.lipspeakstore.com), I am thinking redo it via SS. Few problems: 1) I don’t know how to point my domain name to SS. because I don’t want it be http://www.lipspeakstore@squarespace.com. 2) If there is no Paypal at SS that will be a problem, everyone use it.

        I do like that I can go to SS and change merchandise quantity, pricing… Is there someone out there has a Squarespace merchant site? Can you advise me on is it working for you? What are the unforeseen problems that you didn’t know before you sign on?



        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          Hi Vivia,

          1) Don’t worry, you can use your own domain name, no need to have the .squarespace.com extension. You can find the domain mapping instructions in our review under “Your own domain name”. If you are unsure how it works just as Squarespace’s support, they are usually very helpful.

          2) I know, Paypal should be added. You can check out the Weebly online store. They offer both credit card and Paypal intregration.

          I haven’t heard of any major problems with the Squarespace online store so far. You can start with a monthly subscription and see if it works for you. Also, they will extend your free trial beyond 14 days if you ask their support.

  • Ryan

    Sqaurespace is a slick con game. The templates they call beautiful and exceptional are cheap and amateur looking. It is not easy to use and has a very steep learning curve that is frustrating and time consuming. At the end of the day SS is hawking websites and they do not deliver. Unless you are a designer or have developer skills what you are left with is something just awful looking. And, surprise! Your paying a fortune for the “honor” and get very little in return. Skip this one.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Ryan, I agree with you in that there are website builders out there that are easier to use. I don’t share your opinion regarding their templates. Their design is state of the art, you absolutely don’t need developer skills to use or customize it and they don’t promise anything they wouldn’t deliver. But obviously I respect your opinion and thank you for sharing it!

  • Martin

    Hey.. I am starting to search some options to what i want to do. Can anyone recommend to me a good option to develop a webpage for Apps? You know.. A page that could pretty much show some info about the app.. the photo of it scrolling thru a smartphone screen and a link that can redirect you to the respective mobile app store.


    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Martin! I think what you need is great design as well as SEO so you can be found easily on search engines. Squarespace is great in both areas so you are at the right place. As an alternative you can also check out Weebly. It’s a bit easier to use and cheaper but doesn’t have quite as many options for customization. I’d also recommend to record screencasts that show your app in action — upload them to YouTube and put them on your website.

      • Martin

        Thanks Robert! So for my needs (App webpage) you definitely recommend SS? How about Wix? or Jimdo? I’ve been seeing these reviews as well, and I’ve found good and bad opinions of people in all of them. Now, after you’ve saw all of these responses of people, and I think, after answering to most of them.. what would be the one you recommend for me?

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          I generally recommend Weebly if it’s a classic site w/o online store. But as I said, Squarespace’s designs are more sophisticated and flexible. In your case this could be exactly what you need for your site.
          I wouldn’t recommend Wix in this case as they are not compatible with older browsers. This would make your site unavailable for up to 10% of all web users. I don’t think this is a great option for a site that promotes an app.
          My recommendation: try both Squarespace and Weebly for free and decide for yourself.

  • http://www.facebook.com/steven.christiansen.54 Steven Christiansen

    So far I am generally most interested in giving Jimdo a shot at my small business website; though I have some questions. It seems that possibly tax for individual states (in USA) as well as blogging may be easier done on squarespace? My reasons for concern is I have no idea what tax is on individual states; and blogging wise I wish to have a smaller forum (initially) for customers to share their experience with my items I sell them.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Steven, if you use Jimdo in combination with Paypal it should be possible to set up tax rates per state (see our video review). Squarespace’s blog in general is a bit more powerful than Jimdo’s. If you want people to comment on your products you can also use a third-party app like Disqus to enable commenting on any page you want.
      I’d recommend you simply try out both Squarespace and Jimdo (for free) and see for yourself what you like best.

      • http://www.facebook.com/steven.christiansen.54 Steven Christiansen

        Thank you for your services! This will be a exciting venture that I am looking forward to.

  • Cecil Pardave

    I have an urgent question. I need to do a website for a medical clinic. Specifically an Allergy solo practice. What is the best DIY website builder? Squarespace, Wix, Weebly?? Or another… PLS :-)

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Cecil, I think Weebly, Jimdo and Squarespace are all great options. It depends what is most important for you and how much you are willing to spend. Check out this article for more details: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/how-to-create-small-business-website/
      Let me know if you have any further questions!

      • Cecil Pardave

        Thank you very much Robert. Very much appreciated!

  • Fiiz Wansai

    what about after 14 days free trail, do we need to pay for it or we could still use a free version but limited funtionality.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Fiiz, it ends after 14 days, Squarespace doesn’t offer a free version. Let me know if you have any further questions.

  • Anna

    From reading these comments I don’t think I will use it. I am with Wix and cannot post pics from my website to Pinterest ( the best platform to sell in social media) Also I don’t want to make a separate mobile website, I want to make one only that looks the same! Wix sucks as they are not keeping relevant so I need to look elsewhere. I have started a WordPress page but am not really a blogger and it is a bit time consuming! Wix was easy peasy. I will look at Joomla and Drupal.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Anna, thanks for sharing your experiences. What exactly didn’t you like about Squarespace? If you found WordPress too time consuming I don’t think you’ll be very happy with Joomla or Drupal. They’re probably even more complicated than WordPress.

  • laura

    Hi What the current coupon code for ecommerce site

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Laura, you can use the code we mentioned above (WEBSITETOOLTESTER). I just tried it and it’s working, see screenshot.

  • Elle

    I am planning to create a website. The contents will be in Thai. It’s mostly blogging and the like. Would you recommend Squarespace or WordPress?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Elle, Both Squarespace and WordPress support Thai characters as they use UTF-8 encoding. It depends on your personal preference: Squarespace is a lot easier to set up and maintain, WordPress gives you more options and flexibility. Check out this article for more details: http://www.websitetooltester.com/news/wordpress-alternatives/
      Let me know if you have any further questions!

  • Lisa Ambrose

    I’ve been using Squarespace since 2010 and although there was a bit of a steep learning curve in the beginning, I’ve found it fairly easy to use.
    However, for months now I’ve not been able to make text changes with WYSIWYG enabled because there is no save button visible so even simple changes have to go through Raw. The techs get back to me quickly after I send out a trouble report, but they appear to be stumped. Then, a few days later they claim the issue is resolved (because they are not able to replicate it) and my trouble ticket is then closed. Of course the problem has not been resolved….only brushed under the rug as there is no change on my end. It’s been frustrating enough that I’m about ready to walk away from Squarespace.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Lisa! It sounds like you are using the old version (V5) of Squarespace. I think the best you could do is to record a brief screencast that shows the issue and send it back to them. Feel free to post the link here as well. To record it you can use http://www.screenr.com or Jing for example, it’s free.

  • tim

    awful website not worth anyone’s time

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Tim, can you please be a bit more specific?

  • Christy

    I just built a website with Squarespace, and although it was very easy, and much better than it was a few years ago, the template we choose doesnt look awesome on mobile devices and the customer service is stellar at times but they seem to ignore you if they dont have a quick fix. I contacted them at least 5 times over a period of 3 months with the same question, worded differently to try to trick them into answering me, with no response. Also, their ‘live chat’ which says its available during normal business hours has never once been available when I’ve tried to use it. They must be spending all their resources on all the ads that keep popping up on pandora and annoyingly on my facebook feed. Decent but has a long way to go with service!

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Christy, thanks for your comment! Interesting, usually people are quite enthusiatic about Squarespace’s support. I’d be happy to follow up on this for you. Could you please share the URL of your website with me? Either here in the comments or via email (robert@websitetooltester.com). Thanks!

  • Anne

    Hi Robert,

    I have started my website although it is kind of on hold for a while as I work on other things and decide what the content will be.

    I decided to go with SquareSpace. They were the only one that had the templates that looked sophisticated enough that matched the vision I have for my business (Wedding & Event Planning). I started with the lowest package since I knew I would just be building the site for a while and wouldn’t need any extras – you can upgrade or downgrade packages at any time which is great. So far there is a bit of a learning curve but I love how customized you can make it down to every detail and how clean and crisp the layouts look.

    I appreciate your website and found it very helpful.


  • Momma

    Hi Robert. A friend recommended I tried Squarespace and the templates are gorgeous, but unfortunately I’m finding myself frustrated with what should be easy. Resizing photos is very difficult. I wasn’t able to change photos within the template.

    I’ve been playing with a lot of design tools lately and I’m disappointed that this one didn’t work as easily as I had hoped because the templates are exactly what I’ve been looking for!

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi! I’ve just recorded a short video where I explain how you can resize an image with their integrated editor. It’s really easy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDijOeAHpmY
      Please let me know if there’s anything else I can help you with!

      • josie

        Does this still work in SP6? When I click edit I only see option to add a title.

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          Hi Josie, yes it does. I recorded it in Squarespace 6.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Momma,

      Thanks for your feedback! I’ve just replied to your comment: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/reviews/squarespace-review/#comment-937747671


  • Mounir Youssef

    Hi Robert, thanks for your website, it’s really helpful.
    Now I started my online store with some unknown website called mysiteh1. com (by the way if you know anything about them tell me), it was a terrible experience after spending a long time with them I will move now. My store is for cell phone accessories, over a 1000 products (till now, may reach 2000) and I started working with the free jimdo, it’s easy but sometimes I feel uncomfortable, for example, I made categories, like iPhone, sub category, iPhone 5, when I added products to this category, they just appear on one page, you can’t click on a product to show it in a single page, now I’m thinking about squarespace as I’m looking for a modern digital design, which I don’t find in jimdo unless there are some for pro (I will not convert until I’m sure ) so what do you think? Can I make a detailed comparison between both? Or do you recommend something else? Thanks
    By the way which one you use for your website?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Mounir, thanks for your feedback! I think you would have better options with Squarespace as they make it easier to handle this large volume of products. Also the product detail pages should be easier to implement. If on the other hand, you want to give Jimdo another try, they do have a free trial for Jimdo Pro and Business now. But I am wondering how you were able to put up 1000 products to the free version. It’s supposed to be limited to 5 products. Another option could be Shopify. More details here: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/how-to-start-an-online-store/
      WebsiteToolTester runs on Webnode. Let me know if you have any further questions!

      • Mounir Youssef

        Thanks Robert, you are amazing in your quick response. I didn’t add 1000 products yet, my website on that server I told you about has, and I’m planning to move to another host, I just tried to add 4 products to test that, so you recommend squarespace for a huge number of products? What about PayPal? They don’t support it, right? And also you didn’t tell me your opinion about (mysiteh1. com), I hope I can make a comparison between squarespace, jimdo and shopify, thanks again

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          Hi Mounir, you are very welcome! SS only supports credit card payments so far. If you need multiple payment options you should check out Shopify. I have never heard anything about the tool you mentioned and the link doesn’t work either.

  • Edward Sullivan

    I’ve been trying to build a website in SquareSpace for a week now. I find it EXTREMELY frustrating. The content management pages show a completely different layout/design than the actual preview pages. If you try to resize photos, or recenter a photo, you are essentially out of luck.

    I agree the templates are gorgeous, but the basic UI/UX for the user feels like it’s out of the stone age. I gave them the benefit of the doubt thinking it was a young company, but they’ve been around for over 10 years.

    I will not recommend it to my friends.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Edward, thank you for your feedback. It’s true that Squarespace’s editor feels a bit more complicated than it does with other website builders. I also struggled a bit in the beginning but now I got used to it and quite like it. I have to say that compared to WordPress, Squarespace really is a walk in the park. It’s a matter of taste I guess. If you are looking for a more visual editing experience you should try Weebly or Jimdo.

  • ariella


    I love everything about squarespace design but I need to create a bilingual website. If i get a programmer will they be able to help me?

    Also i heard that pictures load much slower than version 5.

    Can you export or migrate blog to another platform if need be? it that complicated or expensive?

    Please get back to me with your thoughts.



  • chris (UK)


    I’m a professional designer who is currently grappling with squarespace and I think a coule of points may help clarify things a little for people wondering if it is right for them.

    1. Squarespace templates look very classy.

    Yep, but on closer examination this is more a function of the image content than the template layouts.They are not ‘state of the art’. The layouts are pretty much vanilla, but their choice of pictures is very good.

    Now – that IS an example of good design! But it ISN’T an attribute of the product.

    You can get the same or better results with any sitebuilder if you use the same pictures and basic layout.

    2. The user interface is confusing.
    This is a result of their basic premise. They’ve traded off customisability for a system that holds all content in master containers and then distributes it semi-automatically into different formats for mobile, web and pad viewing. This necessarily involves a lot of constraints, and they really show in the limited choice of basic templates, separate content and the horribly clunky and indirect user interface.


    If you don’t need your site to be automatically adapted to all formats, I wouldn’t recommend squarespace.

    Its awkward, convoluted user interface and severely constrained functionality are too big a price to pay if you just want a good looking site.

    There are simpler, easier and more effective sitebuilders available elsewhere. Just choose your content well and keep it simple.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Chris,
      Thank you very much for you detailed review. I also think that their templates look classy and do depend on the right imagery. But compared to other site builders their designs really stand out in terms of their quality and their responsive features. They don’t have a lot of different options but you can customize them pretty well. Of course, if you compare their templates to WordPress it looks different. But WP is a completely different avenue.

      I also had days when I found the editor behaving in awkward ways. Now, I am not sure what exacly was the cause of this problem. Maybe my browser, maybe bad weather. But usually it works very well. Obviously you need to invest a bit more time to get the hang of it than with other products like Jimdo or Weebly. I hope in the end you will find a website builder you really enjoy. Let me know if I can do anything else for you!

  • Celine


    right now I am working on my new Squarespace website but I am not happy!

    It’s so complicated to work with it…. switching from the interface to real view can be a pain.

    But the issues with their drag and drop builder are even more serious – frequently it doesn’t work properly and sometimes saving changes is a test of patience – today I’ve been trying it for ages! All it says is “Unable to connect” or “internal server error: please try it later” (When? 2 to 10 hours???). And my blog…. sometimes it shows videos I’ve embedded, sometimes not…. (depending on the weather???)

    Before this website I did 2 others: one with Jimdo, one with Weebly – and working with them was a totally different experience! It was fun! Everything worked smoothly and it was soooo easy!

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Celine, thank you for your comment!
      I think the server errors may be related to an attack against their servers last Friday: https://twitter.com/Squarespace/status/386151571496529920 Unfortunately these things can happen.

      Usability-wise I see what you mean: Squarespace differs from other site builders quite. If there are any real technical issues you should get in touch with their support, usually they are very efficient. Actually, we also prefer the editing experience that Weebly and Jimdo provide. That’s also why they are ahead of Squarespace in our ranking. If you have any further questions or comments, please let me know!

  • Random IT GUy

    Hi there – not a regular but a IT support person for a large organisation. We have had to pull back from Square space due to the lack of support for IE8. Only up to date version of IE9 will have all the right support for the CSS3 standards. Not necessarily a set back or problem with square space but as with many organisations, being at a current browser version is not always possible.
    Anyway – site doesn’t mention it and they weren’t overly forth coming with this info but there are a few blogs out there that address exactly what I have said.
    apologies if this comment has already been made.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi and thank you for your feedback! I guess it depends on the template you choose. Our demo site runs perfectly in Internet Explorer 8. Do you have a link that you could share?

      The problem with larger organisations is that they sometimes still use Windows XP (initially launched in 2001!), which doesn’t support IE 9 and higher. But they could try to use Firefox or Chrome, this should work much better.

  • Bobbi Meyer

    SquareSpace is good for people who don’t get frustrated easily, but still think SetMySite is the way to go if you just want it done for you. They’re not much more than SquareSpace and you don’t have to deal with any tech crap. Plus, at least for me, SquareSpace was not as easy as they make it out to be. The tools get choppy and it’s just confusing in general. It crashed three times when I was in the process of saving my website. So frustrating! I gave Wix a try but they were even worse. SetMySite is a better bet in my opinion if you just want it done and handled for you. And for those who insist on doing it themselves, WordPress is really the way to go.

  • Ant ST

    Do you think that squarespace would be good to launch my oersonal trainer compnay on? Bearing in mind that I have no experience in creating websites. Also how long do you think it would take to create a website on squarespace (roughly of course)? Any help would be very much appreciated.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi, thanks for your comment. If you are a beginner I would say that there are easier site builders like Weebly or Jimdo, for example. Squarespace does have a few neat little things like the blogging feature or their responsive templates that adapt dynamically to tablets and smartphones.
      But in the end it depends on your specific requirements. My suggestion for you would be to try out both Squarespace & Weebly and directly compare them. Feel free to also check out our ebook “Website Creation for Beginners”: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/ebooks/website-creation-steps/ It’s free!

  • GPPNeil

    I’ve been with SS for 3 1/2 years now. Through V5 and almost a year at V6. I’m not particularly skilled at this, but I find SS very frustrating and buggy. Here are a few of the bugs:

    1. Comments are sketchy. Like, stupid sketchy. Especially when readers try to comment from smartphones (over 50% of my comments). Most get through. Some don’t. Many are told their comments are being “moderated.” I have the moderation setting off. When they alert me to their frustrations, I go hunting for their comment. Some are in the “unmoderated” Que. Others are just lost. When I switched to V6 I lost 1/3 of my readers within 2 months. They became frustrated with not being part of the community, or post results from workouts. To comment from a smart phone you must write your comment, then hit post. At this point, a new verification screen (who’s functions are cut in half) pops up. You must try to resize this screen to see what you are writing. After you resize it, you must use your phone in landscape mode to see what you wrote (name, email, etc) then turn it to portrait mode to enter and post. It’s NO BUENO. Most of my readers can’t figure it out. I tried to switch to disqus, but there is (almost) no way to retrieve past comments. My readers use the comments section as a logbook for their workouts. They search past performances to see if they are progressing. Disqus throws all past entries away. My clients would kill me. I’ve written many times to SS. They have given me several responses. a) it’s not an issue (I’m paraphrasing), your clients must be making it up (I even send them screenshots of complaints). b) it’s a known issue, we are working on it. c) we are escalating a ticket – then it’s back to a&b. Any helpful tips? I’m using the “Five” template. Would switching help?

    2. The search function is silly. You can search past articles. It will pull them up very well, but they are without dates. I post the same workout over and over. Maybe 4 times per year. When you search the title of the post (to check past performances), you have to guess which one you posted on. It usually takes a few tries if you don’t give up first. Is this a template issue?

    3. Text editing options are extremely limited. Want to change the font size, color, style? You have 3 options and you have to set them up from another part of the site. You can’t tell what they’ll look like until you post the article. If you don’t remember which is which, you’ll have to save the post, close it, move the style editor page and poke around a bit. Then close that page, reopen the post and start from there. Hopefully you still have your train of thought. It’s weird. I had more options for font styles using wordperfect 1995. Is this a template issue?

    I’m probably just doing something wrong, but I can’t figure out what it is. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you for this blog.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Neil, thank you for your feedback!
      1) To be honest, I wasn’t aware about the issue with mobile comments but now that we tried it ourselves I have to agree that this is not user-friendly at all if not completely useless. It’s very tedious to add your details to this pop-up on a smartphone as you can’t zoom in or out (I attached a screenshot for everyone to see the issue).
      2) I generally think their search function isn’t too bad but I have to agree that it needs a date for blog articles. Much like the Google-powered search box on our website.
      3) Being able to change fonts and font-sizes only in the styling part of your website editor is pretty common. You set everything in your CSS styles once, which makes it consistent throughout the whole site. So I don’t see a major issue here.
      I will contact Squarespace about your comment and ask them to post a reply here. The mobile issue in particular really needs to be addressed.

    • Sqspcc

      Hello Neil!

      Thank you for your feedback on this. We’re always working hard to improve our customer experience and we are currently looking into this mobile issue you mentioned. We’ll be touch directly with any developments. Thanks again for being a part of Squarespace!

  • John

    Having testing out Jimdo on their free trial, I eventually went with Squarespace. Jimdo is good, yet, I found the site somewhat basic and not fluid for my idea of building a website. I went with Squarespace because of the look and a certain attraction to the layout, along with the professionalism that I felt Squarespace offered.

    There is a learning curve with Squarespace and it’s not ‘plain sailing’ yet, like with anything, if you focus yourself and keep yourself open to learning than Squarespace will deliver a professional looking website.

    I have only just scratched the surface and will be building my website in the coming days and weeks. Thanks to Robert and Websitetooltester I was able to save 10% on my subscription with Squarespace, that in itself is a good deal.

    I like Robert and his team at Websitetooltester for they have given me valuable information that I’ve not found anywhere else. I will keep coming back to Websitetooltester, because I’m very confident that Robert & his team may be able to solve any issues I may have in the near future.

    I will also update at a later date to my own experiences in using Squarespace as I build my business website.

  • http://jambhu.blogspot.com/ Timnas Indonesia

    I love everything about squarespace design but I need to create a
    bilingual website susu montok. If i get a programmer will they be able to help me?Also i heard that pictures load much slower than version 5.Can you export or migrate blog to another platform if need be? it that complicated or expensive?
    Please get back to me with your thoughts. Thanks

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Yes, it is possible to create a bilingual website with Squarespace 6. You don’t need a programmer therefore. Google “squarespace bilingual site” and you will find a tutorial. Optimize your pictures as far as possible. Don’t upload pictures with high resolutions and image sizes. Exporting an website is never an easy task. Most of the time you have to do it manually. Squarespace is no exception. I hope this helps.

  • Franches

    For the domain, how come the only characters allowed is only 25? What if it’s 30? What should I do? Please help!! :(

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi there! In general we don’t recommend to register domains like “mysuperdomainwith25characters”, because people just don’t like such long domains. 😉 However, you could register your domain at another domain hosting company and map it with you Squarespace website. Squarespace provides a tutorial called “Mapping a Domain”.

  • http://www.rainmakervt.com Mike O’Horo

    For the past two months, we’ve been trying to get Squarespace to fix a critical failure that prevents reposting blog posts into LinkedIn. It used to work just fine. You’d publish your title and post-specific URL and it would display an abstract of that actual post. Now, only the general domain URL appears when you post to L/I.

    This is killing our content marketing program, and we can’t get Squarespace to fix it. Obviously, they changed something because it worked before. All we get are chirpy emails from customer support reps empathizing with our problem. Absolutely fail.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Mike, thanks for sharing. I just tried it myself and can confirm that something isn’t working correctly. I will follow up on this with Squarespace on this and keep you posted.

      • http://www.rainmakervt.com Mike O’Horo

        Thanks, Robert. I haven’t been able to get them to do anything.

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          Hi Mike, the issue is fixed! I just added a Squarespace link with success. They told me that their Spam filter blocked LinkedIn’s crawler from getting the information.

          • http://www.rainmakervt.com Mike O’Horo

            Thanks. We got an email from them Friday telling us it was fixed, but with no explanation about its cause. Thanks for that insight. They should be colossally embarrassed that it took them two months to fix it, and only after constant prodding from us. It seems like something as simple as a spam filter might be what an experienced troubleshooter would identify quickly. If they had spoke with LinkedIn, they probably would have learned that immediately. Terrible performance.

          • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

            Hi Mike, I guess it got stuck in support. Feel free to contact us again if you have a bug that doesn’t get fixed as we can talk to the partner manager directly.

          • http://www.rainmakervt.com Mike O’Horo

            Thank you. I’ll take you up on that.

            However, “stuck in support”? For two months, with us prompting them every couple of weeks? Please. You’re being too generous on their behalf. Thanks, again, for your help.

  • http://www.rainmakervt.com Mike O’Horo

    Robert: Just a heads up for you. Your eBook offer has a typo. It says “Get you eBook…” rather than “Get your eBook…”

  • Guest

    Hi, I am a designer who has done a few WordPress sites, and a custom Wix site. I think it is too easy to accidentally move around page elements in Wix, when the business owner is just trying to update text. At least with WordPress the Author or Contributor can’t mess up the design.

    My client plans to change content on the static pages and the blog page regularly.
    How would you say Squarespace is as far as the issue described above?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi, I am actually having the same issue with Wix. By default it’s less likely that something like this happens with Squarespace as the whole editor works very differently from Wix. In Squarespace you can also assign different admin levels. For example there is Admin, Content Editor, Store Manager, Comment Moderator as well as access levels for Billing and Reporting.

  • Conor Palin-Stewart

    Hi I’m trying to put a grey opaque box behind just the blog text on the forte template, how do i go about this, as no matter what i have tried it either doesnt work or breaks the site.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! We cannot help you with this issue. Go to the official Squarespace support, please and ask the community there.

  • Donna

    Hi all, I am truly a beginner’s beginner and I read lots of reviews about website builders and eventually i decided to use Squarespace. The templates looked good on their demo pages.

    The first 2 wks nearly killed me as it made little sense. I perservered and between wks 3-4 it started to fall into place. I had to work within their template perimeters which sometimes were very difficult but eventually I worked through those issues. A turning point was when I put links onto buttons. I was totally excited. It was an amazing experience to feel competent with the computer.

    The fifth wk my website was live. It is a very simple website, it has no e-commerce nor galleries. It is 4 pages long but I like it. The site looked good on a friends Ipad as well but I don’t like the mobile site.

    I liked the fact that squarespace allowed extension to the 2 wks free demo, I reckon it should be a 4 wk demo on account that it is difficult to learn.

    The email enquiry is ok but feels as though they just cut and paste stuff from their user guides. The tutorials and user guides are ok through to good but you need to google search for the best answers.

    I still consider myself a beginner but feel confident to add further to my website as need be.

    At this moment, I like my site and Squarespace, but I wish squarespace was a little easier to master.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Donna,
      Thank you very much for this great feedback! This will help our readers a lot. All the best for your website project! :-)

  • Ricardo Mejias

    My main concern in a website builder is good SOE, This includes both the structure of the code (and I am not an html programmer) and the features that allow one to specify such things as header tags and alt image descriptions. You rate SquareSpace best for that, but Weeble easier to use. (I do not use ecommerce or blogs.) Can you list specific SOE features in SquareSpace that Weebly does not have and maybe how important they are to the performance of the website?

    I have been using the old Vistaprint (they recently added a totally new version) and Godaddy and they both lack some of the SOE features that I am aware of. My Godaddy website is so bad that Google cannot even create full cache of it and Webmaster Tools reports several cases of robot.txt blocking its view. They reject my documented proof of the problem and tell me to go read their terms of service. Knowledgeable people have told me that their code is very disorganized. They are sometimes rated as having good phone service because it 24-7. Unfortunately the ones that answer the phone are not very knowledgeable and I almost always get a different answer to the same question from different people.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Ricardo! The SEO differences are not that huge. But there is one thing where Weebly doesn’t do a great job. The headline structure is not h1, h2, h3 as it should be – they’re using h2 all the time instead. And in contrast to Squarespace you can’t pick the URL of a page freely as Weebly will always take the name you use in the navigation. All in all Squarespace is a little bit better than Weebly if you are only considering SEO. You can try our new tool for a detailed side-by-side comparison: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/website-builder-comparison/

  • Marcela Bravo

    I currently have square space host my website for work. The set up was somewhat simple, it was work and it took focus and time, but at the end, it was well worth it. Now I am wanting to add a blog to the site and OH MY GOODNESS it has proven to be impossible. They make it look so easy on their videos, and Im sure some gentle man will respond to this comment with smart computer talk, but the truth is If I were keen on technology I wouldnt need squarespace. I feel their set up is okay for just a simple one. Once you get to the nitty gritty it can get real ugly real fast. It has taken 4 days to add a simple image to my blog page. When I try to copy and post my link to social medai it reads as BLOG as the title as opposed to the titlle that Ive given my article which I wrote into the section where it specifies ” Write title here”…..then when i try to add a button to link it to my facebook proffesional page (as opposed to my personal page) it wont link, it will only link to my personal page, it doesnt give you an option! Trying this so many times I accidentally linked it to my fbook page three times so now I have three fbook buttons and cant delete. There should be an easy ‘remove’ button. I was finally able to add an image to my blog page, it was SOOO MUCH work, every question that came up, i send them an email and they respond withour HOURS and respond with another video. Some of them have proven to be helpful. But its nerve racking when I only have one day while the kids arent home to work on this simple task and it takes 4 days, so far, still not done. I finally was able to add a video, I figure out that their IMAGE button does not work only their other Buttons such as VIDEO, SLIDE SHOW, etc. I added my one image using the slide show button. They siad initially that my software was outdated ad that I needed to update, so I did, but NOPE it did nothing, in fact it made it worse, not the SETTINGS buttons has a hard time clicking, but the any other button does not. I dont understand why they just cant add a “add image” Button on the blog page, just like in my other pages of my site. they have provent to be very good in some ways, and just not logical in their set up in other ways. With that said, every rep that gets back to me has been polite, although there is not much interaction, just a video that they send. I wish they had live chats like so many other companies do, or a contact number to call. A simple task such as this should take no time to do, not almost a week.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Marcela. I am sorry to hear about your issues. Yes, Squarespace
      can be a bit complicated to use. However its blog is a really good
      tool due to its advanced features. One basic thing about Squarespace
      is to learn how to use these “bubble” menus as we show in the video. I think we also made it quite clear that Squarespace is NOT the easiest tool we’ve seen so far. An easier alternative could be
      Weebly. I think you’d probably like it a lot better as it’s more beginner-friendly.

  • Lawrence Taibbi

    I have just created a Squarespace website for showing some content, selling some products and offering a simple blog. Couldn’t be easier imo. My business model anticipates a robust blogging community of responders/commenters. So here’s my question. How does somebody replying to a Post (e.g. leaving a comment) embed or include a picture in their comment for the rest of the community to see? Same question, different twist – how does one embed a text-link to a video in their reply comment?

    Is this obvious or is it impossible to do?
    Any help or guidance would be GREATLY appreciated.

  • Mark

    More than two navigation levels is browser insanity and not even good web design. Not that everyone hasn’t done it once. I think that limitation is actually a desirable feature. I will probably not use Squarespace but I disagree with your observation.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Mark, I agree that too many levels can be confusing but two levels is just not enough. We are talking about Home>Pets for example. With Squarespace this is everything you get. So no:


      Now, I am not saying that Cats and Dogs necessarily need to appear in the navigational menu (like a dropdown menu) but what’s important is that the architecture behind supports this basic structure. With Squarespace all you can do is to add Cats and Dogs as hidden pages (or ‘not linked’ as they call it) and link to them from the Pets page. This is just not a very elegant solution and can get very limiting as your site grows.

  • Ing

    Can someone please tell me why the image of my website isn´t showing when I try to post my site on Facebook? The link is there, but the picture is just blank.

  • aaron

    I think you guys should really take a look at the performance issues with Squarespace. We have spent a couple of months getting our site ready on Squarespace. In general, the design features are pretty good. Last weekend we started our beta test. We had around 2000 unique visitors over three days. It was a disaster. We received constant complaints about crashing and excessive lags. We were told by support that we needed to cut the size of our main page down, so we cut it from 7 mb to 2.7. Still crashes, still lags. We are seeing lags of 1.2 minutes on the main page load on Galaxy phones. We have posted our results on youtube – let us know if you are interested in seeing and we will forward you a link. In chrome on iphones, the site doesn’t function at all. So far, we have no clear answers from Squarespace.
    All the bells and whistles are irrelevant if your site won’t work. I encourage you to revisit your review of Squarespace and check out the real world performance – we are currently looking for another platform in the likely event that support fails to resolve our issues.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Aaron, I think we found your website (Gusto Taco, isn’t it?). We tested it with Pingdom to asses your loading speed. We figured out that the interior.jpg (background image) seems to give some issues. Reduce its size. There are free services that can do that.

      • aaron allen

        Actually, Gusto is an older site for a different business we have here. Our newest business is online content and the first site is balybaby.com. It will probably be our last with Squarespace.

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          We tested the speed of several website builders in the past. Squarespace wasn’t the fastest. In your case I’d really consider a platform like WordPress. You find more information in our WordPress special.

          • aaron

            Much thanks – let us know if you have any other advice…very frustrating…

      • aaron allen

        Also – thanks for checking; much appreciated! If you want to see some videos of our balybaby.com site crashing, we are posting videos of our tests on our new youtube channel. Here is the link


      • aaron allen

        By the way, Armin, if you can suggest a more stable platform that has fewer load speed issues, I would really appreciate it. We spent months getting our site together and now we will probably have to start over on another platform because Squarespace can’t seem to solve our issues. First they said shrink the total size of the main page, which we did, and now they are telling us we have too many pictures and too much CSS (actually, we have very little CSS). These are all new suggestions which were never mentioned when we were building out the site. We are actually scheduled to go on TV for a big morning news show here in Korea to talk about our site on Friday and we may have to scuttle our plans to demonstrate the site because it is soooo buggy and slow. We will probably spend the segment talking about the importance of carefully choosing your web platform!

    • Amy Hafemann

      Hi Aaron,
      I work for an art museum and am putting a case together for starting a new website using SS. I am searching and searching for bad experiences using the SS platform and I was wondering if you were available to talk either over email or the phone to a small group of us to hear your terrrible experiecnes with testing. ahafemann at wisconsinart.org.

      Thank You, Amy Hafemann

  • http://Youtube.com/yieldreviews Yield Reviews

    I just wish Squarespace could allow us paid url users to hide our (ourdomain.squarespace.com) that would make this web builder perfect. I feel like it’s very unprofessional for you to dictate how we want to present ourselves online. I doubt many people like myself would want people to know exactly where they built their sites. Plus shouldn’t we have that choice for paying? I mean it’s kind of pointless to pay for a domain if we can’t hide the one we don’t want people to see.

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi. People will never see the Squarespace subdomain unless they check the source code of your site.

  • Marta

    Hello, I am just starting a decorated cookie business and want to have a website. I have been reading a lot about SquareSpace, which seems to be the #1 according to a comparison chart that I found online. I have no experience in websites at all.
    I want a web site with color, pictures of every product, online selling, easily to navigate just making click on the product. As far as I have seen, SS templates are more for professionals, blogs …etc. but not for my kind of business. I don’t see color !! Am I correct? Does someone know if SS has templates that could be used for a Decorated Cookie Business?
    I appreciate your comments

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      You can adjust the colors to suit your personal taste. However, we think that Squarespace’s editor is not very beginner friendly. They offer a free trial. Feel free to try it out.

      Weebly and Wix also offer many great templates, but the editor is easier to handle. Jimdo is the cheapest solution in terms of having an online store. You can run it for free (5 products with PayPal).

  • Clew

    Recently we needed support from Squarespace what we have come to find out is the hide very well from the ability to reach them which seems very odd for advertising 24/7 customer support. I would never recommend them

    • Josep Garcia

      I am sorry to hear that you had issues with Squarespace. You can always try to ping them on Twitter, perhaps they will be more responsive there. If you are looking for an alternative website builder, you can check Squarespace’s alternatives.

  • Brendan Maher

    Hi there, I have just verified my Squarespace site with my YouTube account in order to access annotations on my videos. I am still trying to find out if I can set up a 301 redirect in Squarespace that links to my Facebook page (plus other social media pages), in order to link these as annotations on my Youtube videos. I have also been unable to reach their customer support team through their Help section, and have read mixed reports online as to whether this is possible or not. I followed their steps and watched their video on URL Mapping and made several attempts to redirect but none worked. Is there any way to do this? Thanks!

  • http://melbourneseomasters.com.au Raybees

    Why oh why would anyone want to build with wix/squarespace when wordpress or joomla is a much more superior platform. People argue and say wix/squarespace is easier. Yes it is – dumbed down to create simple words and images BUT if thats all you want to do with wordpress then use visual composer or something like that. Get your ISP to install WP with VC. Pick a theme and change text and images – not much different to squarespace. Then you will own your site – your SEO will be superior. WIX/WEEBLY and all the builders start to run into the same complexities when you try to do anything functional with your site. The difference is, WP or Joomla can do it in every case – the other builders cannot. People argue and say its expensive to hire a programmer to do it – start adding your hours messing around with the other platforms and put a dollar figure to it. Then you will find that your not that much different to a programmers/devs cost and you will still have a piece of junk you dont own nor can you change. For basic text and images only would i recommend wix/squarespace and then its usually only a temporary measure. WP will do it better, faster and be more SEO friendly and its evolving every day – you can host it on a decent platform as well rather than the over utilised servers on squarespace, wix, weebly.,With WP you can have unlimited page revisions you can fall back to, you can move it to another host or store it on your pc incase something happens. You can create custom shopping carts, custom functions and not be charged upto 3% per transaction (SquareSpace cliam its the 3rd party charge but there are kickbacks for ss) – The only downside to wp is that you have to know how to manage updates and because it can do more there is a bigger learning curve and you need someone who knows to get you started. If you are truly serious about making money from internet marketing then WP or Joomla .net nuke etc is the eventual destination regardless. So why learn something that cant be utilized later on? Each wix/weebly has their own way of doing things. The only reason its survived is because of their marketing, hitting high in google, reviews like this and people not understanding the true costs or what it really takes to be successful in internet marketing. The platform is one part of many aspects – but its a critical one.

    • Josep Garcia

      Yes, I agree. Website builders have some limitations and aren’t the right tool for every project. We explain the pros and cons here. However, a traditional CMS such as WordPress, Drupal or Joomla requires technical knowledge to create and maintain your site. We ourselves run some smaller projects with website builders and we are really happy with the results.

  • holly vr

    I have had the worst experience with square space. Their customer service is horrible. Everytime i have to email them it confirms my regret of using them.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Holly! What is the problem? It looks like Squarespace couldn’t help you. If these issues should continue, you could have a look at an alternative.

      • holly vr

        I have been emailing them for months now to resolve an issue we are having and no one can help me

        • holly vr

          Please give me an alternative!! I would love one!