Webnode Review: We put Webnode through its paces

With more than 18 million websites created, Webnode is one of the larger players in the website creation arena. Next to an easy to use website builder, their core competency is clearly languages – they support more than 20. Surprisingly, they also offer support in all these different languages.

What’s more, you can also create a fully multilingual web presence. In fact, this is why we used their services for more than three years before recently switching to a more powerful solution (we still use Webnode for some of our medium-sized projects).

Webnode’s Pricing

Looking at their pricing, you will notice that a basic website is free. The difference between Webnode’s personal and business packages lie mainly in the number of designs you have to choose from (including some pre-filled industry-specific content). Aside from that, there is not much difference.

Now let’s dive right into our Webnode review and take a look under the hood:

See it in action here

info You can sign up for a free Webnode account here (link will open in a new window)

Webnode in Detail

Ease of use
Sophisticated editor with a wide range of functions.
Choice and flexibility of design (templates)
Can look dated, but are functional and include access to CSS. Features a smartphone-friendly website version. If you dig deep in their template gallery you can also find some great looking, fully-responsive designs.
Advertisement-free yesIn 'Standard' plan. Free version puts a link and a small button banner in your website's footer.
Webnode is available in more than 20 language variants. A great plus is the multilingual feature that supports different language versions of your website!
Your own domain name (e.g. .com or .net) yesRegister a domain via Webnode or re-direct your existing domain.
Depth of navigation
Seemingly unlimited sub-navigation (we were able to continue adding levels below six).
Widgets (small tools to add extra functionality)
Video (YouTube), social media (Facebook, Twitter), images (photo galleries) and more.
Monetization yesGoogle AdSense integration, but code has to be inserted into a separate section, i.e. not embedded inside a text block.
Limited options on the personal and business packages. The dedicated e-commerce package offers more sophisticated functionality (not reviewed).
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Page titles, meta tags, URL fields and image ALT tags are all freely editable - excellent!
Does the job but is too basic for dedicated bloggers. Commenting can be improved with Disqus.
Visitor statistics
Looks very good. Google Analytics can also be added.
Contact form yesFlexible form builder that supports multiple choice fields as well as file uploads next to standard text entry fields.
Password protection yesIn paid plans. Allows you to set up protected areas with individual user logins.
Newsletter tool noYou can integrate external newsletter systems like Mailchimp or Aweber easily.
Add HTML code yesAllows you to add other widgets and tools.
Storage space 100 MB+Upgrade to 5 GB with the paid version. Large files can be uploaded using the Upload Manager.
Forum no"Forum" option is actually just a commenting feature.
Support yesEmail, forum and knowledgebase. Technical support questions answered quickly but not always to our full satisfaction. Help files are not very comprehensive.
Fun Factor
Wide range of features certainly encourages experimentation.
Overall Rating
Webnode offers a powerful website builder that features quite a few interesting options particularly suited to larger websites.


Webnode has great strengths in a couple of key areas: the editor offers top-class drag and drop functionality, and no other website builder makes it so easy to create a multilingual website. Optimization is also one of Webnode’s upsides. This will enable you to truly optimize the pages of your website so they can be easily found by search engines. Moreover, Webnode is one of the few site creators that let you create backup copies of your website.

On the downside, we noticed that beginners might find it a little more difficult to use than some of their competitor’s products. Also, Webnode’s template designs won’t be to everyone’s taste and are not that easy to customize, but it’s still worth having a look to see if you can find one you like. All in all, it’s a very solid product.

> Click here to try Webnode for free

Webnode Example Sites

Alternatives to Webnode

See review

FAQ about Webnode

Does Webnode offer a backup feature?

Yes, you can backup your entire website and roll it back if you need it. However, you won’t be able to back up individual pages.

Why does WebsiteToolTester.com not use Webnode anymore?

We were using it ourselves for more than three years and were very happy with it. As WebsiteToolTester.com grew larger (luckily!), we came to a point where we needed to switch to a CMS (WordPress) that allows us to use a database for our review data. We still use Webnode for many of our other projects: ChatToolTester.com and Creadores-PaginasWeb.com are two examples.

Review Updates

22 Apr 2015 – Update in templates and designs
05 Jun 2014 – Text updates & revision
15 Jul 2013 – A couple of smaller updates
13 Mar 2013 – We’ve added information about password protection
21 Feb 2013 – New form creator feature
22 Nov 2011 – We have tested Webnode’s server performance.
16 Aug 2011 – New look and functionality for the editor
30 Mar 2011 – General update
16 Jan 2011 – The free plan now features a small Webnode banner button. So it is not really ad-free anymore, contrary to Webnode’s claim on its website.
11 Jan 2011 – Update of all reviews: Webnode hasn’t released any new features for a couple of months now.

Last updated: 22 Apr 2015 | Robert Brandl

Your opinion and user reviews:

  • Blogger Blogger

    Currently, I’m in the “trying to decide which website builder to use” stage.

    1. You wrote “it so easy to create a multilingual website”, but in truth, a user cannot make a multilingual website with the free version or the paid Mini version of Webnode.

    I’ve saved a tip from the Internet (with an actual website to prove it) about creating a multilingual website with Weebly’s free version. [http://evacanodesigns.wordpress.com/2012/01/20/free-multilingual-weebly-website/]

    2. I **really** wish Webnode would allow the user to switch the language of Webnode’s menus across the top of the screen for accessing its key features. At present, you must specify your website’s language when you first create it, and you’re locked into that language.

    I’m a native English speaker working on a Czech website with a native Czech speaker. When I work, I want English menus across the top of the screen. When my colleague works, he wants Czech menus. Not possible with Webnode’s current configuration.

    3. Webnode seems **much** more expensive than Weebly. For example, Webnode only provides unlimited bandwidth with its most expensive paid package ($24.95 per month).

    4.My biggest concern. Weebly has a HUGE user base (? 12 million according to their site). Webnode has a very small user base (? I seem to remember reading 2,500 on their website). Will Webnode survive?

    I’d hate to put a lot of effort into a Webnode site only to have Webnode go belly up in a couple of years.

    5. Finally, I wish you would tell us why you ultimately selected Webnode for your website. (The cynical side of me suspects Webnode provided a financial incentive [e.g. free Profi paid package].)

    Still trying to decide which to use…

    • http://www.rt1959.com/ Robert Thompson

      Try Bing Language Translator. Just post the widget code into every page of your website. Good luck. http://www.bing.com/widget/translator

      • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

        Hi Robert, thanks for your tip. To be honest, I wouldn’t use an automated translator as the translations are usually very poor quality and you don’t get any SEO benefit from it (those translated pages won’t be listed in search engines).

        • thoney max

          We can help you to get Original registered driver’s license,within a short period of time .
          Our program for Original Driver License permit you to have a Valid driving License issued in your name and fully registered in The National System of Traffic Authority.

          ** Please note that this driving license is fully original and genuine and in case of Lost or Stolen or at expiration date you can renew it yourself at the prefecture .

          We help you to get a New driver’s license ,Change name and other details on your driver’s license ,Add Your category ,Renew your driver’s license and to Replace lost driver’s license .

          No drive test needed .

          Contact us Now!!for more details .

          Email: unidock@outlook.com
          Skype : docky.chat

          Regards .

  • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

    Hi, thanks for your feedback!

    1. I was referring to the Standard package regarding the multilingual setup of a website because there you have a really cool feature for that. If you have some basic coding skills you can also add another language to the top link section like I did with “Español” on this site here. It’s necessary to edit the template code though.

    2. Yes, I can remember having had the same issue when I used Webnode with a co-worker. It s… not that great.

    3. The question is when you actually need unlimited bandwith. I now have more than 1000 visitors daily and have yet to reach the bandwidth ceiling of the Standard plan. Of course, if you offer files to download this could be different.

    4. Webnode actually talks about 7.5 million users on their testimonals page. Most of those are free websites, I reckon but Weebly is not different in this respect. I really do think Webnode will be around for quite some time.

    5. The reason I went for Webnode was mainly that they have a decent free plan, great SEO and I found a template I liked. In 2009 Weebly’s SEO options were extremely limited just like Jimdo’s. All in all I am really happy with Webnode and I would choose them again. For smaller sites than mine I think Weebly and Jimdo are generally better suited. And no, they didn’t give it to me for free 😉 I pay the standard price for all four Webnode sites that I own.

    Let me know if I can help you with anything else!

  • Blogger Blogger

    Well, I decided to go with Webmode. Besides your influential comments, I also read an article comparing Webnode and Weebly head-to-head; its knowledgeable author also preferred Webnode.

    Robert, can you answer two questions for me, please?

    1) Is it possible in Webnode to make a menu item inactive (i.e. it displays, but does nothing when clicked)?

    2) Can Webnode “copy” anything? Can I copy a whole page? Can I copy an item in a list?

    When I’m editing an item in a list, I highlight some text, but the “Copy” icon in the editor’s toolbar does not become active. Why not?

    I posted these questions of Webnode’s forum. Didn’t get a response in a couple of days, which I’m interpreting as “No”. :-)

    Thanks for your assistance.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi again! Here are my answers:
      1) You can remove a page from your navigation so that users will not see it at all. To only make it inactive would be rather confusing for your visitors I think.
      2) There is no “copy” feature but what I usually do is the following: edit the existing text element, switch to source code mode, copy everything (CTRL + A), paste it into my new text element on a new page using CTRL + V (also in source code mode).
      Not sure why it is not active but it should work using your keyboard: CTRL + C. For me it was totally worth it getting used to using my keyboard for copying and pasting. You’ll save a ton of time!

  • Sarah

    I recently started a blog through Webnode. I can’t figure out how to add contacts to it…I want to add my friends email addresses, so they can know when I’ve posted something to my blog. Also, I want to add friends’ blog’s too, so people can see them. Help please! Thank you!

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi, you can offer an email sign-up for your blog feed (RSS feed) through an external service like Feedburner (see screenshot) or Mailchimp. You find your RSS feed on yourdomain.com/rss. Nowadays this option has become less and less relevant as blog posts are usually distributed via Facebook and Twitter.
      As for your second question, do you mean a blogroll where you link to your friend’s blogs? You can easily create that: just add a text block to your side-column and put in the links and description. Hope this helps!

      • Sarah

        Thank you so much for responding! Yes, my second question was just that :) I will show this to my husband and we’ll work on it together. Again, thanks!!!


  • http://www.facebook.com/jack.hunter.391 Jack Hunter

    Have set up 2 or 3 webnode sights all of a sudden i cant purchase anything after going back and forth with emails they tell me they have blocked purchasing from Africa due to fraud, I look like a total dummy now and they and they dont seemed to stressed about it.Will go back to locally hosted and coded sights where i have more control.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      I spoke to them and they said that African countries are in fact quite problematic due to fraud. That’s why they run security checks. They said that you should try again to contact their customer support and they will look into it once more.

  • Artemio Gradus

    I think this is the best builders.

    1) Working with Webnode is quick and easy. No technical skills, no installation or configuration required. Just register and start building.

    2) No ads.

    Example of a site: http://beermat.webnode.com/

    Really, no ads!!!

  • Marie

    Hello Robert, I own a small travel agency and I would like to create a new multilingual website, so I guess webnode’s multilingual feature is a reason to choose this provider. But I find the templates quiet boring and I am wondering if it is easy to use galleries and slide shows as it seems to be with weebly for example. So my question: Can you recommend any other website builder which has a good and easy multilingual feature? Or is it easy to change the templates of webnode as much so that it looks more modern like templates of squarespace?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Marie, I hear you. Unfortunately it’s a bit hard to find good
      templates with Webnode. There is one I really like that looks very
      modern (see screenshot). They also have it in different colors. I use it
      for one of my sites (with some
      minor adaptations that my programmer did for me). Other than that Edicy
      is supposed to be pretty good with multilingual sites:

  • Sarah Clibourne

    I just created a website
    and having issues with the shipping methods. When I finally found how to set one up I feel a little dull because I don’t understand it. Is the shipping name just anything I want it to be? And what is the VAT and do I need to set that up? Also anyone know about the sales tax portion. Do I have to set those up with different rates? Any helps is greatly appreciated.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Sarah, don’t worry. So the Shipping Name is simply what your visitor will see. Give it any name you want, e.g. UPS, DHL, Self-Collection etc. The VAT means the value-added tax that you might need to charge. The rate depends on the country and sometimes also the state that you are in.

  • Bits

    Hello. I am looking to build a website for my trading company. Webnode seems like a good fit especially with the language transition options. I was wondering do they also provide email addresses for customers with websites?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Bits! Yes, if you choose a paid plan you’ll get 3 (Mini), 20 (Standard) or 100 (Pro) email addresses. You can use the Webnode email interface or any other email client via POP3.

      • Bits

        Wow thank you so much for the quick response and for the information!

  • James Steven Handshoe

    Does Webnode offer unlimited websites for any of it’s plans? We are using Homestead (Uck) but we are having a hard time finding a good replacement that does offer unlimited sites. We run about 15 right now.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi James,
      There’s only Yola that allows you to run up to 25 websites with one account. However, you should test it before you start your project with that website builder, because Weebly for instance is by far better than Yola.

      • James Steven Handshoe

        Thanks for your reply! I did end up using (and despising) Yola’s builder and Loved Weebly. Weebly did get back to me and tell me that with their new plans, that I can request more sites as I needed them (and anyone grandfathered in on older plans were not able to do so).

  • Jade Champion

    Hello, I’m looking into making an photography website and not sure whether to use weebly or webnode? Many thanks.

    • Josep Garcia

      Hello. Weebly’s templates are better looking than Webnode’s. Therefore, if you are between Webnode and Weebly, I would suggest to use Weebly. Nonetheless, we have an article about photography website creation.