Webs.com Review: Our take on the Swiss army knife of website builders

With more than 50 million websites hosted on their servers, we are talking about one of the largest site building companies worldwide.

In mid 2012 they launched a completely new version of their product called SiteBuilder 3. Most notably they have introduced a range of new and very modern designs and added full drag and drop support to their editor. The basic version of this website builder is free and already includes a variety of apps such as an online store and an option to manage membership accounts for your audience.

So let’s check if the inside looks are just as promising as the outside!

See it in action here

info Try Webs for free. Sign up here (link will open in a new window)

Webs.com in detail

Criterion Rating Comment
Ease of use
Intuitive, but the number of features makes it a little tricky to use in places. However, not all bugs have been ironed out (see comments below).
Choice and flexibility of design (templates)
The designs have a modern look and it is possible to adjust colors and styles but not the source code (yet). Features a mobile website version as well.
Advertisement-free yes ..., but free version only features a small footer text link. Your mobile website will show a small ad if you don't upgrade to Pro or pay an additional fee.
Languages
The interface is available in English and Spanish. No special feature to create multi-lingual sites.
Your own domain name (e.g. .com or .net) yes Re-direct your existing domain or register a domain via Webs.com (included in the Enhanced Package). Domains with a country-code can't be connected at this time.
Depth of navigation
Two sub-levels, with a drop-down menu.
Widgets (small tools to add extra functionality)
Video tool and nice photo gallery options are included. It even has its own app library with third party widgets.
Monetization yes Using Google AdSense or other banner ads.
E-Commerce
Online store with many options. More payment methods are needed however (PayPal and Google Checkout are the only ones available).
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Meta tags, meta descriptions and page titles can all be edited (for some SEO features you need a paid plan). The URL is generated from the name of the menu item. More details.
Blog
Very basic: no option to moderate comments before they're published. No HTML widgets apart from YouTube videos. It's possible to assign categories and schedule posts for future publication.
Visitor statistics
Clicky is the default tracking tool, but you can also add Google Analytics.
Contact form yes Easily customizable with different field types
Password protection yes Allows you to set up protected areas with individual user logins. Users can communicate with each other like in a social network, e.g. Facebook.
Newsletter tool yes Send email blasts to members of your site. Premium users can also use certain HTML elements (pictures and formatting).
Add HTML code yes Allows you to add other widgets and tools.
Storage space 40 MB+ Free: 40 MB (0.5 GB bandwidth), Starter: 400 MB (4 GB bandwidth), Enhanced: 1000 MB (25 GB bandwidth), Pro: 100 GB (100 GB bandwidth)
Forum yes Looks good.
Support yes Self-help, ticketing system and Live Chat. Responsive Live Chat for premium users, available 24/7.
Fun Factor
Plenty of features make it fun to play around with. However, there are quite a few serious technical issues that can quickly destroy the Webs experience.
Overall Rating
3.1/5
A versatile website builder with a huge range of features and beautiful designs. The downsides are numerous bugs that leave a lot of users frustrated as you can see in the comments below.

Conclusion

Webs.com is a good website builder with a rich set of features that can’t be found anywhere else. The way you can organize your site’s design stands out. The carousel image slider is pretty unique and will make your website look very professional.

However, at this time some parts of the user interface feel a bit inconsistent as they’ve been taken over from the old site builder version. Let’s hope Webs will polish everything out in the future.

Next to their free plan they currently offer three different paid plans. The Enhanced and Pro plans also include email accounts. When comparing prices with other providers you have to be a bit careful: by default they show you prices for 2-year plans.

> Click here to try Webs.com for free

Webs.com Example Sites

Alternatives to Webs.com

Weebly
See review
Squarespace
See review

FAQ about webs.com

Can I create a members-only area in Webs?

Yes, Webs.com has quite a sophisticated membership feature. Your visitors can set up individual profile pages and access content that you specify. Learn more in this article.

Is it possible to register my website with Google Webmaster Tools?

Yes. Simply sign up at google.com/webmasters and paste the code they provide under “Website Settings.” Choose the “Meta-Tag verification” method.

I heard the Webs.com site builder still suffers from bugs and malfunctions. Is this true?

Webs released their Site Builder 3 in 2012. According to our user’s feedback and to some extent also our own experiences, we can agree with that. That’s why we have repeatedly downgraded Webs. Please check our comment section below for more details.

Does Webs support all languages?

Currently not. Here is what their support section says:

We do not fully support non-Latin based characters. Additionally, the way special characters or symbols appear on your website may vary based on what browser the visitor of your website is using.

Are Webs.com and Web.com different companies?

Yes, they are.

Review Updates

11 Aug 2014 – Another downgrade as we keep receiving user comments about technical issues.
14 Mar 2013 – We’ve added information about password protection.
05 Dec 2012 – We downgraded Webs’ rating again as our readers pointed us to a couple of major and minor bugs (see comments).
06 Nov 2012 – There are a still a couple of bugs in Webs’ new editor. That’s why we decided to downgrade the overall rating from 4.5 to 4 stars. Please check our comments section and this thread for details.
05 Oct 2012 – We downgraded the blogging feature from 4 to 3 stars (see comments for details).
23 July 2012 – Review of Webs’ new SiteBuilder 3.
22 Nov 2011 – Check out the results of our Webs’ server performance test.
30 Aug 2011 – Webs has added an integrated mobile website builder
17 Mar 2011 – General update: Webs has added a couple of well-designed templates.
12 Jan 2011 – General update, but support was not reviewed at this time.

Last updated: 11 Aug 2014 | Robert Brandl

Your opinion and user reviews:

 
  • Idee Esperanza

    I am using webs.com for my ongoing website designs. I haven’t noticed any bugs yet, I’m using Google Chrome. But seriously, I’m really scared by these negative comments. Do you advice I go on with webs? I’m yet to go premium.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      I think they’ve ironed out some of the main pain points by now. But I would advice you to test it thoroughly before you upgrade to a paid plan. Any feedback from your side is much appreciated!

      • Idee Esperanza

        What about these annoying adds cluttered all over the site? Does it happen in the paid plan too? It’s so annoying!

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          No, in their paid plans there arent’t ads displayed.

  • Maggie

    I had trouble with my webs.com page, but they fixed it overnight. Very thankful and satisfied.

  • anna

    i can confirm all of the reviews regarding the slow, glitchy, awful time using webs.com. i can honestly say, it has been a nightmare to work with since I started building several websites back in april 2013. it takes an hour to complete the simplest task b/c there are so many glitches & limitations. just today and entire page of text, I had been working on for 2 hours, just disappeared and cannot be recovered.
    the glitches are so numerous, but here are a few to list:
    -when hi-liting text to cut/copy and paste, once pasted elsewhere on the page, the entire page reverts formatting to something never previously used for spacing, font, size, and color. usually very small and unreadable.
    -when simply clicking in editing field to type text, entire page changes formatting to large, dark and not previously used text, then back to your format when you click outside the editing area
    -whenever adding bullet points or symbols, spacing on the the entire page will change
    -essentially whenever you do the smallest thing such as click in an editable field to do anything, the page freezes, re-saves (some times) and reformats or un-formats or deletes everything
    some recent changes a tech support operator told me are due to webs.com downgrading their editing options:
    -you are unable to edit photo size once photo is inserted on to page. you have to guess on size and then insert, delete if it’s not right, resize outside site, insert again, etc.
    -you are unable to type in the text color description, only click on the impossible grid of rainbow colors, this makes insuring text is the same color black on every page impossible, especially when pages spontaneously reformat constantly
    -it is impossible to type in a font size only inlarge and decrease arrows, trying to hilite a certain portion of text to “click up or down” on size is impossible, as it for some reason changes the size on the entire page, or not at all
    anyway, I encourage anyone to use any other site but this one for their website building needs. it would really benefit them to focus on the getting the basics of their business to actually function.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Anna, thank you very much for your detailed report. Webs wanted to have a call with me on Tuesday. You can be sure that I will bring this up.

    • http://help.webs.com/ Webs

      Anna,

      We apologize for the headaches you’ve had. We know it’s been some time since your post, but we wanted to respond and let you know that we have doubled down recently and resolved many of the bugs you’ve mentioned with editing and builder loading.

      To ensure text is the same color on the entire site, we suggest setting them in the Theme Builder, but you can set them for each paragraph. You are able to type a hex color or select from a recent color used. Just a last week we replaced the +/- for font sizing with numbers.

      Should you still have issues, please respond with your site address and we’ll be sure our Support Team reaches out.

  • Idee Esperanza

    I just came across wix.com and it looks impressive. What’s your take on them?

  • Stan

    Webs.com
    Support is the worst.
    Unless it is a common question, their support plain ol sucks. You cannot speak to a live person. The chat can only handle simple things.
    I am waiting three days to resolve an expired domain issue. I would not recommend them ever.
    If I can get this issue resolved. I am moving the site somewhere else.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Sorry to hear that. I talked to Webs last week and they wanted to follow up on all those negative comments here. Let’s see what happens.

    • http://help.webs.com/ Webs

      Stan,

      I apologize for the frustrations you’ve had. I know it’s been a few months now, but I hope everything was resolved. If not, please let me know the domain in question and I’ll be happy to help resolve any issue.

  • tnutz140

    Bought a pro account and deleted it 2 days later… It’s extremely glitchy! The Themes are also TERRIBLE! Changed over to Weebly, and I LOVE IT! (Plus its $50.00 Cheaper). Webs support also just blows…

    • http://help.webs.com/ Webs

      We apologize for the poor experience you had. We are always working to improve. We’ve recently launched a number of bug fixes and many new themes.

  • 8thColour

    I upgraded to the premium account, because I wanted more pages and no ads. It took me a while to get the hang of their site builder – I just logged in to upload a new blog and I noticed all my images were missing and the navigation bar stopped working, rendering the web site useless.

    I have sent a message to their support and I await their reply with baited breath, although after reading so many negative comments on here and very few positive ones, I’m scared I’ve wasted some money and will have to reupload the blog to a different service.

    I will however give their customer support a chance to respond first and see if they can fix the issue fast and I will report back here.

    • 8thColour

      Further to my last comment, I’m pleased to inform the issues are resolved.

      I agree the web builder is not the best, but it’s not that bad and easy to use. Let’s hope they iron out the bugs, as it has the potential to be a very good platform for non-technical types to make easy blogs/ web sites.

      • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

        Thank you for sharing your experience!

  • Jan

    I’m having major problems, I’ve contacted webs but they said they are not sure how long it will take to be fixed. A lot of my images in the shop are missing and when I click on any image in the shop the images are missing. Loads of uploaded resized and cropped image files are now missing which took me hours and hours have now disappeared. Really not happy.. I’ve invested a lot of time and effort into my business and website. If this keeps up I’ll have to close the website down as it’s potentially losing me a lot of work.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Thanks for letting us know. If Webs’ support is not able to resolve your issue please make sure to let us know!

    • http://help.webs.com/ Webs

      Jan,

      Your issues were most likely related to a DDoS we experienced last week. We apologize for the frustrations this caused. Everything should be pretty much back to normal and you should not have these images issues anymore.

      If you are still experiencing these issues, please let us know your site address and we will have a member of our support team reach out as soon as possible.

  • http://northernwhiteshepherds.webs.com Marcia Berry

    No one has been able to access my website for over a week – it keeps saying trouble loading page. Unable to contact Customer Support unless you are a premium customer. I can’t even log on to delete my site – I’ve been with them for many years – but I am planning on switching to wordpress.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Marcia,
      can you send us the link to your website? Before you decide to WordPress here’s an interesting article that we wrote about it:
      http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/blog/wordpress-alternatives/

      • http://northernwhiteshepherds.webs.com Marcia Berry

        My website is: northernwhiteshepherds.webs.com

        I found this on their facebook page:

        We
        are continuing to work to resolve service issues due to a DDOS attack.
        In order to ensure the issue is fully resolved for those that are still
        affected, we need additional information from anyone still having
        difficulties.

        Those that are still having trouble accessing their sites or the editor should comment in the support topic at http://webs.zendesk.com/entries/27415340-Unable-to-Access-Webs-com-Your-site-or-Images-not-Appearing-on-your-site-SUPPORT-610

        Thanks for working together with us towards a complete solution on this issue!
        Unable to Access Webs.com, Your site, or Images not Appearing on your site? SUPPORT-610
        webs.zendesk.com
        Issue:
        We have some users experiencing issues accessing Webs.com or their
        sites. Users may also have issues viewing the builder or viewing images
        on a…

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          Hi Marcia, your website is loading perfectly. I could see all the lovely dog pictures. :-) Does it work now from your computer?

          • http://northernwhiteshepherds.webs.com Marcia Berry

            No – I tried from two different search engines – no luck – then tried other sites and I can get in.

          • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

            Have you also tried it from another computer and with another browser? Your website works perfectly in Google Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer 11. I also could access your homepage from Google.

        • http://help.webs.com/ Webs

          Marcia,

          Things should be cleared up for most people that were affected by the fallout of this DDoS. We see that you posted in the above linked community topic. Hopefully you saw Eric’s recent update.

          If you’re still having trouble, please either post again in that topic or reply here and we’ll have someone personally reach out to you soon.

  • Donald William Tate

    Absolute rubbish….no customer support whatsoever. I have written them a dozen emails about my web site being ‘frozen’ and got no response….Anyone who signs up for their ‘premium’ package is a fool….

    • Janine G

      Once you get your business up and running, it’s too difficult to switch to another web host…I was stuck with webs.com for 7 agonizing years…they are so disorganized and you are right…if they don’t have an answer for you, they will ignore you…I have the pro plan so now I can use chat for help, but still if they don’t have the answer you get the run around. I actually just found out that I cannot post to their help site as they have suspended me for being “rude”…lol. Members often get angry and rude when they are ignored and cannot manage their website because webs.com is having yet another technical difficulty…Only members can view the help forum where you usually get employee “Eric” to help you…if you cross Eric though, he will suspend you….members are regularly frustrated at webs.com customer service, or lack thereof. We could go literally weeks with not being able to properly manage our websites…when you are losing business, you bet we’ll get rude…especially when they feed you lies or ignore you when trying to find out what the problem is. I do have to say however, that webs is getting back to making managing your website easier…for awhile, it was ridiculous and backwards.

  • Temmio

    Does Webs.com support copy paste external html code, link from external website, document file,youtube video,etc?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Yes, sure. See: “Add HTML code” above. Webs even has its own video player.

      • Temmio

        ok, thanks I will see them all when I do the editing,

  • Temmio

    Can I upload document files with Webs? How and where is that feature

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Sure, that’s no problem at all. You simple highlight the image or text that you want to link, click “Link” and choose the file option.

      • Temmio

        I will check on that. Thanks!

  • Temmio

    It’s somewhat frustrating when I tried to link my document file to a specified page which did not work. After uploading, the file is nowhere to be found. It only says, 100% complete. How is this?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Have you contacted the Webs support? This is a standard function and of course it should work. Sorry that we cannot help you more.

  • Temmio

    I intend to purchase domain offered by Webs.com, but my credit card is not available. Can I pay using WIRE TRANSFER?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Temmio, they only accept payments via credit card and Paypal.

  • Chris

    I cannot use the editor , When it loads up it shows what I should be able to use, I can click all the links in the editor but when I hover over an area where I should be able to click Text to edit, it just switches to a loading icon as if it is still trying to load something but alas it never loads, so I cant edit my page at all…. what could be causing this?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Chris, have you tried a different web browser, Chrome or Firefox for example? It’s very important that you use a version that is up-to-date. Not only in terms of security but also to benefit from the editor’s full functionality.

  • Samson

    I’ve used WEBS for a few years now. I had three sites with them, and never really had any issues. Their upgrade to the builder was a good move for those just starting out. For those of us who had established sites it became a nightmare to upgrade any content. I had to completely redo one of my sites because I update it on a regular basis. But it was all good until one of my pages was suddenly Frozen. I received no notice, no requests for change, nothing. Just one day the page started showing Frozen. It took me over a week of emails to them asking why my account was Frozen, before I got a partial answer. They got “A” complaint of me allegedly using my page to SPAM. Did they investigate this ONE complaint to assure that it was legitimate before they shut me down and cause me to lose money, NO. They asked that I check and clear any Forums, Chat pages or Guestbooks. I do not have any Guestbooks, Chat rooms, or Forums. Its not that kind of web site. I only suggest my URL to people asking in public forums for products I sell, or with whom I am already dealing with via other means. I have relayed this information to these idiots twice and received NO response or acknowledgment, and my page is still Frozen. Needless to say their support is horrid, and after this fiasco, I’ll never use them again.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Thank you for sharing your experience, Samson. I am sorry you had to go through this. Unfortunately Webs has decreased a lot in quality since they were bought by Vistaprint a few years ago.

  • Katie

    I’m interested in switching our web hosting from one thats extremely outdated to Webs. I’ve read a lot of reviews, and most are terrible and are scaring me. I know our current provider is always there to answer questions, but they use a much older format and the design is extremely not with the current times. I’ve been using the free version for a few weeks, and I haven’t had a problem. I’ve read things like cards being charged outrageously, all the glitches and poor customer services.. I was wondering if anyone has actually enjoyed their experience with Webs? I understand the limited themes, but its a really easy and straight forward site from what I’m noticing. People are talking about not being able to have the pictures the rights sizes and what not, but in what i’m using you can resize them. When do the glitches start?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Katie,
      We haven’t had these problems, but the important thing is that you are happy with the website builder. It doesn’t matter what other think and what they say. However, it could be interesting to try also another website builder. Thus, you can better judge if Webs really is the best choice for you. Here you have an overview.

  • http://www.thefloorsuperstore.com Devastated

    Well, I have used Webs.com for years and until recently, namely June of 2014, never had a serious problem.

    But,
    lately I have encountered a rash of problems.
    The main problem is that I cannot get my website to load. I left the computer on and came back after
    two hours, and it still did not load. My
    custom background is missing, the jpegs, some of which are missing, and a few
    other things. The support is not very
    good. I have been on the chat and got
    nowhere, sent them emails and still got nowhere. Finally, one of the technicians finally
    answered. What a line of baloney I was
    given. First, I was told it was my
    antivirus; that I should turn it off,
    which is crazy. Then it was possibly my
    internet provider; then because I embed my own html; that I should change to Fox Fire; that it
    could be my Add Ons; and the list went
    on. Afterwards, I was told to join their
    Webs Support 3.0, and to my horror, found out that there were others
    experiencing the same problem. After a
    while, the technicians refused to answer my emails, re-routing them back to me
    unanswered. I was livid. I have been writing them every day along with
    others that I have been in contact with writing to the webs techs. If you would like to read some of the
    correspondence, surely go to their support webs.30.com and read up. Finally, they contacted me, and you would not
    believe the lines they gave me. It was
    my AVG, which is nuts. I advised them
    that I had Web Root on two of my other computers and was still having them same
    problems. Now, once again, I am waiting
    for a response from them. The problem
    started on the last week of June 2014 and has not been fixed since them. Here is one of their support links: http://webs.zendesk.com/entries/43791524-Unable-to-View-Webs-com-or-your-Site-SUPPORT-751. Copy and paste it into your browser. Good luck reading! I have been looking for another site builder
    unfortunately, because I do not believe this issue will ever be fixed since
    they were bought by Vista Print. Sad

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Thank you for your detailed report! It seems to be going downhill with Webs unfortunately. We stopped recommending them a while ago. I’ve just downgraded their rating again. There actually was some hope about a year ago when Webs contacted us and really seemed like they wanted to improve their rating.

      I asked them if they could answer some of the comments that disappointed users left on this review. They agreed and I was optimistic. They did answer a few of them but then they disappeared again.

      My guess is that their support is unable to cope with 55 million users and three versions of the editor. It’s really a pity – when the editor works as it should it’s actually not bad at all.

  • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

    Hi! We’re sorry to hear about that. In case that you haven’t heard from Webs.com yet, could you send us your URL, please? We are happy to follow up on your behalf with Webs’ support.

  • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

    Hi, I don’t know what the exact issue was in your case but I canceled my premium account a few times and never had any issues. Also, Webs cannot take your domain name “hostage” as you say, especially not if you registered it through another company. They physically have no way to do that. Feel free to give me your Webs URL and I will follow up with them on your behalf.

  • derek

    why cant i pay with paypal to renew my domain name?

  • http://thewaterfilterladysblog.com Laura

    I have been a loyal customer of Webs. for over 8 years. I am a webmaster and built and paid for nearly 20 websites for people. Most of these are premium accounts that have been paid for. Webs.com decided to freeze my account and all 20 of my websites. No warning, no chance to fix whatever I did wrong or anything. The e-mail they sent me states “The suspension will not be removed and no additional investigations will be performed. Our billing team is processing cancellations for active subscriptions. If you wish to get a refund for eligible transactions, please contact billing@webs.com.”
    Not only that, I own several domains that I purchased from them and have no way to transfer the domains so I can re-build the sites on another server because I can not even log into my account. I am certain that every one of my sites are not in violation so why would they freeze all 20 of my sites without any notice!? I am a good person and go out of my way to help people. Many of these sites I’ve build and paid for out of my pocket to help others in my network. These are all paid accounts/websites that cost me $99 a year each . Is this the Thanks they give to loyal customers who have done nothing wrong without warning? I am in a devastation mode right now since marketing and these websites are my livelihood. What did I do to deserve this Webs? I would seriously like to know exactly what each of my sites were shut down for. 2 sites were just built within the past week, for affiliates in my network that I paid for. I would appreciate my money refunded for these and all the other premium accounts I have, and my domains released so I can start working on rebuilding these sites elsewhere. I am absolutely in tears about this. Years of work down the drain, and loss of income for not only myself but for many people that have sites that are now shut down for no good reason. This is devastating to say the least. I plan on contacting the FTC to see if there is anything I can do to fight this Injustice.