Webs.com Review: Our take on the Swiss army knife of website builders

With more than 40 million websites hosted on their servers, we are talking about one of the largest site building companies worldwide.

In mid 2012 they launched a completely new version of their product called SiteBuilder 3. Most notably they have introduced a range of new and very modern designs and added full drag and drop support to their editor. The basic version of this website builder is free and already includes a variety of apps such as an online store and an option to manage membership accounts for your audience.

So let’s check if the inside looks are just as promising as the outside!

See it in action here

info Try Webs for free. Sign up here (link will open in a new window)

Webs.com in detail

Criterion Rating Comment
Ease of use
Intuitive, but the number of features makes it a little tricky to use in places. However, not all bugs have been ironed out (see comments below).
Choice and flexibility of design (templates)
The designs have a modern look and it is possible to adjust colors and styles but not the source code (yet). Features a mobile website version as well.
Advertisement-free yes ..., but free version only features a small footer text link. Your mobile website will show a small ad if you don't upgrade to Pro or pay an additional fee.
Languages
The interface is available in English and Spanish. No special feature to create multi-lingual sites.
Your own domain name (e.g. .com or .net) yes Re-direct your existing domain or register a domain via Webs.com (included in the Enhanced Package). Domains with a country-code can't be connected at this time.
Depth of navigation
Two sub-levels, with a drop-down menu.
Widgets (small tools to add extra functionality)
Video tool and nice photo gallery options are included. It even has its own app library with third party widgets.
Monetization yes Using Google AdSense or other banner ads.
E-Commerce
Online store with many options. More payment methods are needed however (PayPal and Google Checkout are the only ones available).
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Meta tags, meta descriptions and page titles can all be edited (for some SEO features you need a paid plan). The URL is generated from the name of the menu item. More details.
Blog
Very basic: no option to moderate comments before they're published. No HTML widgets apart from YouTube videos. It's possible to assign categories and schedule posts for future publication.
Visitor statistics
Clicky is the default tracking tool, but you can also add Google Analytics.
Contact form yes Easily customizable with different field types
Password protection yes Allows you to set up protected areas with individual user logins. Users can communicate with each other like in a social network, e.g. Facebook.
Newsletter tool yes Send email blasts to members of your site. Premium users can also use certain HTML elements (pictures and formatting).
Add HTML code yes Allows you to add other widgets and tools.
Storage space 40 MB+ Free: 40 MB (0.5 GB bandwidth), Starter: 400 MB (4 GB bandwidth), Enhanced: 1000 GB (25 GB bandwidth), Pro: 100 GB (100 GB bandwidth)
Forum yes Looks good.
Support yes Self-help, ticketing system and Live Chat. Responsive Live Chat for premium users, available 24/7.
Fun Factor
Plenty of features make it fun to play around with. However, their ad-policy is annoying (see "Advertisment-free" at the top of the table). The whole interface looks very cluttered.
Overall Rating
3.5/5
A versatile website builder with a huge range of features and beautiful designs. The downsides are numerous bugs that leave a lot of users frustrated as you can see in the comments below.

Conclusion

Webs.com is a good website builder with a rich set of features that can’t be found anywhere else. The way you can organize your site’s design stands out. The carousel image slider is pretty unique and will make your website look very professional.

However, at this time some parts of the user interface feel a bit inconsistent as they’ve been taken over from the old site builder version. Let’s hope Webs will polish everything out in the future.

Next to their free plan they currently offer three different paid plans. The Enhanced and Pro plans also include email accounts. When comparing prices with other providers you have to be a bit careful: by default they show you prices for 2-year plans.

> Click here to try Webs.com for free

Webs.com Example Sites

Alternatives to Webs.com

Weebly
See review
Squarespace
See review

FAQ about webs.com

Can I create a members-only area in Webs?

Yes, Webs.com has quite a sophisticated membership feature. Your visitors can set up individual profile pages and access content that you specify. Learn more in this article.

Is it possible to register my website with Google Webmaster Tools?

Yes. Simply sign up at google.com/webmasters and paste the code they provide under “Website Settings.” Choose the “Meta-Tag verification” method.

I heard the Webs.com site builder still suffers from bugs and malfunctions. Is this true?

Webs released their Site Builder 3 in 2012. According to our user’s feedback and to some extent also our own experiences, we can agree with that. That’s why we have repeatedly downgraded Webs. Please check our comment section below for more details.

Does Webs support all languages?

Currently not. Here is what their support section says:

We do not fully support non-Latin based characters. Additionally, the way special characters or symbols appear on your website may vary based on what browser the visitor of your website is using.

Are Webs.com and Web.com different companies?

Yes, they are.

Review Updates

14 Mar 2013 – We’ve added information about password protection.
05 Dec 2012 – We downgraded Webs’ rating again as our readers pointed us to a couple of major and minor bugs (see comments).
06 Nov 2012 – There are a still a couple of bugs in Webs’ new editor. That’s why we decided to downgrade the overall rating from 4.5 to 4 stars. Please check our comments section and this thread for details.
05 Oct 2012 – We downgraded the blogging feature from 4 to 3 stars (see comments for details).
23 July 2012 – Review of Webs’ new SiteBuilder 3.
22 Nov 2011 – Check out the results of our Webs’ server performance test.
30 Aug 2011 – Webs has added an integrated mobile website builder
17 Mar 2011 – General update: Webs has added a couple of well-designed templates.
12 Jan 2011 – General update, but support was not reviewed at this time.

 

Last updated: 14 Mar 2013 | Robert Brandl

Your opinion and user reviews:

 
  • Idee Esperanza

    I am using webs.com for my ongoing website designs. I haven’t noticed any bugs yet, I’m using Google Chrome. But seriously, I’m really scared by these negative comments. Do you advice I go on with webs? I’m yet to go premium.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      I think they’ve ironed out some of the main pain points by now. But I would advice you to test it thoroughly before you upgrade to a paid plan. Any feedback from your side is much appreciated!

      • Idee Esperanza

        What about these annoying adds cluttered all over the site? Does it happen in the paid plan too? It’s so annoying!

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          No, in their paid plans there arent’t ads displayed.

  • Maggie

    I had trouble with my webs.com page, but they fixed it overnight. Very thankful and satisfied.

  • anna

    i can confirm all of the reviews regarding the slow, glitchy, awful time using webs.com. i can honestly say, it has been a nightmare to work with since I started building several websites back in april 2013. it takes an hour to complete the simplest task b/c there are so many glitches & limitations. just today and entire page of text, I had been working on for 2 hours, just disappeared and cannot be recovered.
    the glitches are so numerous, but here are a few to list:
    -when hi-liting text to cut/copy and paste, once pasted elsewhere on the page, the entire page reverts formatting to something never previously used for spacing, font, size, and color. usually very small and unreadable.
    -when simply clicking in editing field to type text, entire page changes formatting to large, dark and not previously used text, then back to your format when you click outside the editing area
    -whenever adding bullet points or symbols, spacing on the the entire page will change
    -essentially whenever you do the smallest thing such as click in an editable field to do anything, the page freezes, re-saves (some times) and reformats or un-formats or deletes everything
    some recent changes a tech support operator told me are due to webs.com downgrading their editing options:
    -you are unable to edit photo size once photo is inserted on to page. you have to guess on size and then insert, delete if it’s not right, resize outside site, insert again, etc.
    -you are unable to type in the text color description, only click on the impossible grid of rainbow colors, this makes insuring text is the same color black on every page impossible, especially when pages spontaneously reformat constantly
    -it is impossible to type in a font size only inlarge and decrease arrows, trying to hilite a certain portion of text to “click up or down” on size is impossible, as it for some reason changes the size on the entire page, or not at all
    anyway, I encourage anyone to use any other site but this one for their website building needs. it would really benefit them to focus on the getting the basics of their business to actually function.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Anna, thank you very much for your detailed report. Webs wanted to have a call with me on Tuesday. You can be sure that I will bring this up.

    • http://help.webs.com/ Webs

      Anna,

      We apologize for the headaches you’ve had. We know it’s been some time since your post, but we wanted to respond and let you know that we have doubled down recently and resolved many of the bugs you’ve mentioned with editing and builder loading.

      To ensure text is the same color on the entire site, we suggest setting them in the Theme Builder, but you can set them for each paragraph. You are able to type a hex color or select from a recent color used. Just a last week we replaced the +/- for font sizing with numbers.

      Should you still have issues, please respond with your site address and we’ll be sure our Support Team reaches out.

  • Idee Esperanza

    I just came across wix.com and it looks impressive. What’s your take on them?

  • Stan

    Webs.com
    Support is the worst.
    Unless it is a common question, their support plain ol sucks. You cannot speak to a live person. The chat can only handle simple things.
    I am waiting three days to resolve an expired domain issue. I would not recommend them ever.
    If I can get this issue resolved. I am moving the site somewhere else.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Sorry to hear that. I talked to Webs last week and they wanted to follow up on all those negative comments here. Let’s see what happens.

    • http://help.webs.com/ Webs

      Stan,

      I apologize for the frustrations you’ve had. I know it’s been a few months now, but I hope everything was resolved. If not, please let me know the domain in question and I’ll be happy to help resolve any issue.

  • tnutz140

    Bought a pro account and deleted it 2 days later… It’s extremely glitchy! The Themes are also TERRIBLE! Changed over to Weebly, and I LOVE IT! (Plus its $50.00 Cheaper). Webs support also just blows…

    • http://help.webs.com/ Webs

      We apologize for the poor experience you had. We are always working to improve. We’ve recently launched a number of bug fixes and many new themes.

  • 8thColour

    I upgraded to the premium account, because I wanted more pages and no ads. It took me a while to get the hang of their site builder – I just logged in to upload a new blog and I noticed all my images were missing and the navigation bar stopped working, rendering the web site useless.

    I have sent a message to their support and I await their reply with baited breath, although after reading so many negative comments on here and very few positive ones, I’m scared I’ve wasted some money and will have to reupload the blog to a different service.

    I will however give their customer support a chance to respond first and see if they can fix the issue fast and I will report back here.

    • 8thColour

      Further to my last comment, I’m pleased to inform the issues are resolved.

      I agree the web builder is not the best, but it’s not that bad and easy to use. Let’s hope they iron out the bugs, as it has the potential to be a very good platform for non-technical types to make easy blogs/ web sites.

      • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

        Thank you for sharing your experience!

  • Jan

    I’m having major problems, I’ve contacted webs but they said they are not sure how long it will take to be fixed. A lot of my images in the shop are missing and when I click on any image in the shop the images are missing. Loads of uploaded resized and cropped image files are now missing which took me hours and hours have now disappeared. Really not happy.. I’ve invested a lot of time and effort into my business and website. If this keeps up I’ll have to close the website down as it’s potentially losing me a lot of work.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Thanks for letting us know. If Webs’ support is not able to resolve your issue please make sure to let us know!

    • http://help.webs.com/ Webs

      Jan,

      Your issues were most likely related to a DDoS we experienced last week. We apologize for the frustrations this caused. Everything should be pretty much back to normal and you should not have these images issues anymore.

      If you are still experiencing these issues, please let us know your site address and we will have a member of our support team reach out as soon as possible.

  • http://northernwhiteshepherds.webs.com Marcia Berry

    No one has been able to access my website for over a week – it keeps saying trouble loading page. Unable to contact Customer Support unless you are a premium customer. I can’t even log on to delete my site – I’ve been with them for many years – but I am planning on switching to wordpress.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Marcia,
      can you send us the link to your website? Before you decide to WordPress here’s an interesting article that we wrote about it:
      http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/blog/wordpress-alternatives/

      • http://northernwhiteshepherds.webs.com Marcia Berry

        My website is: northernwhiteshepherds.webs.com

        I found this on their facebook page:

        We
        are continuing to work to resolve service issues due to a DDOS attack.
        In order to ensure the issue is fully resolved for those that are still
        affected, we need additional information from anyone still having
        difficulties.

        Those that are still having trouble accessing their sites or the editor should comment in the support topic at http://webs.zendesk.com/entries/27415340-Unable-to-Access-Webs-com-Your-site-or-Images-not-Appearing-on-your-site-SUPPORT-610

        Thanks for working together with us towards a complete solution on this issue!
        Unable to Access Webs.com, Your site, or Images not Appearing on your site? SUPPORT-610
        webs.zendesk.com
        Issue:
        We have some users experiencing issues accessing Webs.com or their
        sites. Users may also have issues viewing the builder or viewing images
        on a…

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          Hi Marcia, your website is loading perfectly. I could see all the lovely dog pictures. :-) Does it work now from your computer?

          • http://northernwhiteshepherds.webs.com Marcia Berry

            No – I tried from two different search engines – no luck – then tried other sites and I can get in.

          • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

            Have you also tried it from another computer and with another browser? Your website works perfectly in Google Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer 11. I also could access your homepage from Google.

        • http://help.webs.com/ Webs

          Marcia,

          Things should be cleared up for most people that were affected by the fallout of this DDoS. We see that you posted in the above linked community topic. Hopefully you saw Eric’s recent update.

          If you’re still having trouble, please either post again in that topic or reply here and we’ll have someone personally reach out to you soon.

  • Donald William Tate

    Absolute rubbish….no customer support whatsoever. I have written them a dozen emails about my web site being ‘frozen’ and got no response….Anyone who signs up for their ‘premium’ package is a fool….