Weebly Review: We test “free & easy” Weebly

Websites for grown-ups, no technical skills required: that’s Weebly’s promise. We’ve decided to do you a favor and take a closer look.

Weebly’s well-organized interface makes it easy to see at a glance what it has to offer. Like Webnode, it has a series of menus across the top for easy access to its key features. A simple drag and drop is all it takes to add text, images or forms to your Weebly website.

Weebly’s pricing

The website doesn’t reveal too much about pricing. So here’s the deal: the basic package is free, but it will include a small Weebly ad in your website’s footer.

Their paid plans consist of two tiers: Starter, which is priced at $4 and lets you fully customize your website’s footer to remove the Weebly logo. It also gives you access to their premium support. The Pro plan is $8 per month and includes even more slick features, such as site search, header slideshows as well as video and audio players. Business (25$) is the best choice if you want to run an online store with an unlimited amount of products and features like coupon codes. Find our detailed comparison of Weebly’s pricing options here.

Note that you will have to pay extra for your own domain name. However, a .com domain will be a rather steep $39.95 per year (with discounts available if you register for longer periods).

See it in action here

info Sign up for a free Weebly account here (link will open in a new window)

Weebly in detail

Criterion Rating Comment
Ease of use
This is exactly how a website builder should be. There's no learning curve with Weebly, so you'll have your website up and running in no time.
Choice and flexibility of design (templates)
They offer a great selection of flexible templates, and if you're a pro you can even access the source code for further customization. A smartphone-friendly website will be generated automatically.
Advertisement-free yes In the Starter, Pro and Business plans. The free version has a small advertising link in the footer.
Languages
Currently available in English and 11 other languages. Support available in English only. No special feature to create multilingual sites but a workaround exists. Do not use Weebly for non-English character sets like Russian, Chinese or Arabic as they are not fully supported.
Your own domain name (e.g. .com or .net) yes You can buy a domain from Weebly, but it works out to be pretty expensive and they only offer .com, .net or .org domains. You can re-direct a domain you've bought elsewhere though.
Depth of navigation
Unlimited. A drop-down menu is added to your navigation bar automatically.
Widgets (small tools to add extra functionality)
Photo galleries, video and music players and more. We very much like the Button-Widget that lets you create call-to-action buttons easily.
Monetization yes Using banner ads or Google AdSense for example.
E-Commerce
Weebly offers a solid and easy-to-use online store with SSL encryption and multiple payment options. Detailed information can be found in our Weebly Online Store review.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Title, meta and description tags are all customizable at page level, as are your images' ALT text. URL text is always created from the respective menu item. The use of headlines (H1, H2 etc.) is limited.
Blog
Has all the standard features and much more: schedule a post for a future date, choose the permalink for your articles and switch the blog side bar or and off. Now you can even add an alternative commenting system like Disqus or Facebook comments.
Visitor statistics
Weebly has its own tracking tool, or you can use Google Analytics instead.
Contact form yes Use drag and drop to create detailed contact forms or surveys.
Password protection yes Available from the Pro plan. You can either protect the entire site or selected pages. There is now also a membership area that is available that lets you share certain content only with site members. Pro allows you to add up to 100 members, while Business has no limit and also gives you the option of letting your visitors sign up on a public form.
Newsletter tool no You can use an external newsletter system, such as Mailchimp or Aweber.
Add HTML code yes Allows you to add external widgets and other tools.
Storage space Unlimited Individually, your files cannot exceed 10 MB each on the free plan, or 250 MB each on the Pro plan. But other than that, the sky's the limit! No limits on bandwidth either. And you can even download your Weebly website and host it on your own web space.
Forum yes Direct integration with Tal.ki, which makes adding forums a piece of cake.
Support yes Email, knowledge base and live chat (look in the Help Center, to us it seems they are hardly available). Email support usually responded competently and quickly to our questions.
Fun Factor
Weebly listens to their users and continuously improves the product. We also like their non-aggressive sales style.
Overall Rating
4.9/5
One of the best website builders on the market. They should provide better ways to purchase domain names and email accounts; but other than that, Weebly hits the spot.

Conclusion

weebly recommendation 2013

We have been following Weebly for more than five years now. In the beginning, it was just another website builder. That has completely changed: Weebly has evolved into an outstanding tool that we currently see far ahead of its competition. It’s simple, uncluttered and easy to use – which is exactly what people with limited technical skills need when it comes to creating their own internet presence.

One of the best features is their templates. They were clearly designed by pros who know about the importance of call-to-action elements that help to guide your visitors to make a purchase or submit a contact request.

Through their iPad app, you can now also edit your entire website on the go, whereas the iPhone and Android apps currently only support limited editing such as adding blog posts.

The only thing they could improve is a better way to get business email accounts. Weebly recommends Google Apps, which is a bit pricey at $5 per user. Nevertheless, there are different ways to tackle this issue (see our FAQ’s).

Enough with theory: Try it out for yourself and see how you like it!

> Click here to try Weebly for free

Weebly Example Sites

Alternatives to Weebly

Squarespace
See review
Webnode
See review

FAQ about Weebly

Does Weebly provide email accounts?

They offer email accounts through Google Apps. This is a professional solution but it will set you back $45 per user (yearly). For many this won’t be ideal as it’s a bit pricey. A better approach would be to purchase your domain name through an external registrar (e.g. Namecheap or Godaddy), point it to Weebly and set up email there. Another alternative could be Jimdo or Webnode where a free email account is already part of the paid plans.

weebly-google-apps

If I choose the Weebly Pro package now, can I later change to the Business plan?

Yes, that’s possible. All previous payments will be credited so won’t loose any money.

Should I purchase my domain name from Weebly? Or is it better to use a service like Go Daddy?

Domain names are not that cheap if you buy them through Weebly ($39.99 per year). With Go Daddy, for example, you can purchase a domain name for around $10-15 per year and it already includes one email account. Their Deluxe Email Package is around $50 per year and provides 5 email accounts.

Setting up a Go Daddy domain name for your Weebly website

This looks a bit complicated but at least for a brand new domain name it’s straightforward to set up. Please note that everything you change is at your own risk!

You need to go to your Zone File Editor and change the entries highlighted in red so that they have the same values like in the screenshot. Please note that it can take a few hours for them to become active.

godaddy weebly

Is there a free trial for Weebly Starter, Pro or Business?

No, unfortunately not. But we have suggested this to our Weebly partner manager as we get this question a lot.

Why does my Weebly website have limited pages?

One reason for it can be that you have an Educational account. Furthermore, we heard that they are testing a new type of free account right now where the limit is 5 pages. If you got one of these new accounts you can try signing up again with a different email address – hopefully you’ll be more lucky and get an account with unlimited pages.

Can I really use the free version of Weebly and connect my existing domain name for free?

No, not anymore. You need at least a Starter plan to do that.

Does Weebly offer support in any other language than English?

No, currently they don’t.

I saw that I can also get Weebly through Bluehost or HostGator. Should I sign up with Weebly directly?

The advantage of signing up for Weebly through Bluehost or HostGator is that they provide a domain name and email accounts. But Bluehost’s offering is more expensive than signing up with Weebly directly. What’s important is that it may take longer to receive new feature updates and you won’t be able to use Weebly’s support. If you still want to give it a try, you can do so here.

Which browser should I use for Weebly?

Generally, any of the major browsers will work. In our experience, it’s best to use either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Review Updates

26 Nov 2014 - Updates for the blog und new membership feature added
17 Feb 2014
- Google Apps integration for email accounts (see FAQ)
11 Feb 2014 -
Addition to Languages (limited support of foreign character sets)
04 Jan 2014
- Weebly finally doesn’t take a 50% cut on Google AdSense ads anymore.
29 Nov 2013 –
Added Weebly Online Store Review 
28 Oct 2013
- Weebly Support offers now live chat.
09 Oct 2013 -
Existing domain names cannot be connected to free Weebly sites anymore.
21 Jun 2013 – New video review of the updated editor
02 May 2013
 – New editor design and a price increase: Starter is now $4 (before $3.29) and Pro $8 (before $6.63)
13 Mar 2013 – We’ve added information about password protection.
08 Feb 2013 - New pricing plans: Starter and Pro plan.
17 Dec 2012 - New features: site search, header slideshows, custom footer and more. Our review.
03 May 2012 - Quite a few additions: an iPhone app, the Button Element and more template flexibility
17 Jan 2012 - Video review and video page added
22 Nov 2011 - We checked Weebly’s server performance and it has done pretty well.
20 Jul 2011 – Review of Weebly’s mobile website
17 Mar 2011 – General update
12 Jan 2010 – General update – support not reviewed at this time.

Last updated: 27 Nov 2014 | Robert Brandl

Your opinion and user reviews:

 
  • Virtual B

    Hi Robert! I’m thinking of subcontracting with other relevant entrepreneurs. I would like to place a link on my site that leads to theirs as a referral. My question is, how can I insert this link and have my partners know their potential clients actually came from my site as we’d be trying to keep track for referral percentage purposes…?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      I think your best bet would be to track via Google Analytics. They have a URL builder for campaigns. When a visitor clicks the link your partners will know that the visitor came through your site. The referral source will be “campaigns” under the Acquisition menu in Google Analytics. Here’s the link: https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/1033867?hl=en I hope this helps!

  • artie

    Hi, This is a good review although I can’t agree about Weebly support from my experience with them, had to send in several tickets before they got back to the first one ,and the live chat is very rarely on.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Artie, thanks for your comment! Now that you mention it: we’ve also been waiting for a week now to get feedback on their new web store that we need to finish the review. If anyone else wants to share his experience with Weebly’s support in our comments, please feel free!

      • Javed Khan

        My customers never use credit card. I think that weebly use only thrre check out payments. while Jimdo uses manula payment process as well. My customer use bank wire transfer, by check and COD etc.

  • chenchuanwen

    zsdasdasdasd

  • rose

    The video here said weebly can only be used with paypal, I have recently been talking with acceptsafe which claims they have an agreement with FatCow web hosting giving a choice to use paypal or acceptsafe with Weebly. Is this true?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Rose, Weebly’s online store supports Paypal, Authorize.net and Stripe. That is, when you sign up with Weebly directly. I don’t know if other hosting companies who re-sell Weebly already offer the new online store. For more details please check out our full review of Weebly’s e-commerce features: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/reviews/weebly-review/online-store/

  • Gar

    How does Weebly compared to the more expensive business specific website builders like Just Add Content? They don’t have a free trial (or a free version) so I can’t try them, but they’re just for businesses and supposed to be focused. How do these compare? Are they worth the extra cost? I like the idea of it being business specific but not sure how different it really is.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Gar, there are plenty of businesses using Weebly, Jimdo, Squarespace and the likes. They even offer very decent e-commerce features in case you want to create an online store. I took a quick look at Just Add Content’s website but couldn’t really figure out a single reason how they can charge $69 per month, which is almost ten times Weebly’s price.

  • Damien Mather

    Be very
    careful when choosing a host because it is a pain in the neck to change. I
    went for DreamHost and they are pretty good. You can use the promo code
    SAVEHUGE50 at checkout and get $50 discount.

  • Sara

    I am very new to this. I am looking to set up a simple, sponsored blog following my weight loss journey. I know you have checked “monetisation” but I just want to confirm that I can place a banner ad of my sponsor on the home page of a weebly wesbite and not violate their terms and conditions, for instance like wordpress.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      In Weebly’s Terms of Service you can read what is not allowed. They say: “Excessive Advertising: placing excessive advertising on your site, including more than three ad units per page”. So I think an ad banner of your sponsor shouldn’t be a problem.

  • BOB THE BLOB

    IT’S RETARDED! YOU HAVE TO UPGRADE EVERY WEBSITE YOU CREATE UNDER THE SSAAMMEE ACCOUNT TO BUSINESS CLASS… THAT’S RIDICULOUS!

  • Marc

    Weebly customer service is pitiful! I made a website for a friends B&B in the Philippines, and she paid for it with her credit card. Weebly decided that it violated there terms of service so without notice they deleted the website and closed my account!!! I got the message error (E313) in weeblt login when trying to log in.
    Beware before wasting your time and building a site with weebly, because if they decide they dont like you, they will flush you out and you will loose all the work you did in building the website. I know use Sitekreator, which is far better than weebly, and at least you get a reply to your questions when emailing customer support!

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Marc, sorry to hear that. Did they tell you why the account was closed? Happy to follow up for you on this. Just let me know!

      • Marc

        Hi Robert!
        Here is what they replied:
        Your
        account was in violation of our Terms of Service for detection of
        fraudulent purchases. So your site was shut down and your account was
        disabled. Sorry this happened out of the blue. The ban cannot be
        reversed.

        See our TOS here:
        http://www.weebly.com/tos.php

        There was absolutely no problem with the purchase other that it was done in the Philippines. My client is well off, and has many properties, and he used his credit card to pay for the weebly service, It is very bad business practice to simply delete your website, and close your account without even informing you, I spent a day building this website, and do not appreciate their way of doing business.

        Thanks for your help!

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          I just contacted them, let’s see what they say.

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          Hi Marc, so I’ve got Weebly’s answer now. Weebly told me that the problem lies in the fact that they risk getting their credit card processing account shut down if only a fraction of their customers abuse it. They confirmed that they made a mistake in your case. They also told me that they’ve contacted you, re-opened the account and compensated you for the error. If you are still having any issues please let me know!

  • Marlon

    Ok, I am 67 years old and always considered myself computer illiterate. If I can do this…….anyone can. Weebly has been fantastic. Their video help really explained the system well. I am really proud of my site which includes music and videos. All of my friends want to know who I got to develop it and how much it cost. When I tell them it was me they freak out. I originally tried Jimdo, but never could get a handle on how to use it. All I can say is that my site looks extremely professional, and my store (although very specialized) is gaining visits every day. Check out my site: theartisansquill.com and tell me what you think. Better yet, click LIKE and SHARE if you approve.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Nice work Marlon! Thanks for sharing.

  • Name

    Hello,
    I like to sign up for weebly pro. I read a lot of comlaints about their server being down most of the time. Is this true? Thanks.

  • Donotuseweeblyy

    Every single time I have had an issue with Weebly it has taken anywhere between days and weeks be addressed. One issue was never addressed at all and remains ignored. And Weebly has just now not saved an entire post I wrote. Not saved. Not published. And when I write to Weebly about it they will pretend not to know what I am talking about, ignore me, write to me with irrelevant standard responses and then forget I exist.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Thanks for your comment. Could you send us more information about this issue via the contact form? I’d be happy to follow up on this with our contact person at Weebly.

  • weebly user

    This is just BS. I am user of weebly and it’s just a waste of money. They don’t even have some essential features available. NEVER EVER SUBSCRIBE WEEBLY

  • Steve

    After a few weeks of preparation and a month of being published I’ve experienced no issues (using the free version). It’s been basically what I expected, so far I’m well satisfied.

  • LisaB

    Recently created a webpage for Mothers Day gift ideas using weebly.com with a group of friends. Was really easy to use and make it look appealing and professional. So easy to edit. Exceeded expectations for using the free version. Check out our page http://www.bareminimom.weebly.com

  • Steve Cox

    Great article! I have a question; I’ve been hosting on GoDaddy for years ( stevecoxinc.net ) and my site regularly pops up first among local businesses, if I keep the same domain but change servers (switching to Weebly) will that effect my Google ranking? I built my site several years ago with a free downloaded program and it just feels old a dated so I wanted to rebuild it from the ground up. Thanks again for the great info!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Steve! Yes, it will affect your ranking, but I think in a good way. You can optimize your content, improve your URL-structure, etc. Please read Google’s official eBook “Search Engine Optimization Starter Guide” (free). Weebly allows you to redirect your old URL’s to the new one’s with a 301-redirect. In other words, your old links will work and Google will still recognize them.

  • Mra78

    Hello, great article, I have a question please: I want to build a website where users can register and upload pictures, the pictures should be held for review by an administrator and then publiched. Of course the website would let any visitor look at a picture and click on the contributor’s name to see it’s other pictures, is this possible to do with weebly?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! The only way you could achieve this with Weebly or the other website builders we have tested is to integrate an online form service like “Jotform” (free) that allows users to upload files. When done, you’d have to publish the photos yourself and add their names.

      • Mra78

        Thanks

  • neha

    i am trying my level best to get accepted by google ad sense but every time it says insufficient content.plz suggest me how to get my website accepted. rt now i m using weebly free version.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hard to say what the exact problem is, but I think it’s the Weebly subdomain. The Weebly domain doesn’t belong to you, it’s Weebly’s. A real domain could be the solution.

      • http://parkfirst.weebly.com jinesh ranawat

        So the subdomain may never be approved by google for advertizing.So why should it be offered for free.

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          It’s just a conjecture. However, I would recommend you to call the Google AdWords Help Center. They can give you a precise answer.

    • Susana

      You need to create more content. Google doesn’t just hand out adsense accounts anymore, they want to see that you have a strong web presence, especially if you’re from Asia or Africa. You need about 20 – 30 pages of solid content before you apply.

  • franches

    Hello! GREAT ARTICLE! :) but btw, I bought the pro plan and I though the domain is already included. Can i refund that and purchase the starter instead?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Franches, thanks! You would have to contact Weebly’s support. I believe they will credit your existing funds to the Starter package.

  • Karen

    Hi, I’ve been using Weebly for over 12 months with great success. I have the pro plan that charges 3% on sales (and Paypal & stripe charge 2.4% +.30c on the sale) I am considering using the Paypal custom buttons to accept payment does Weebly still charge the 3% or will the sale only be subject to the Paypal fees?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Karen! Weebly doesn’t charge you 3% on sales in their Business Plan. Yes, if you embed the PayPal button on your website and don’t use the Weebly PayPal check out integration, they won’t you charge the 3% fee either.

  • Jeremy

    Hello, Is weebly ever going to have different payment options? Also is there a way to manually add another payment option?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Jeremy! No, right now Weebly offers PayPal, credit card (Stripe) and Authorize.Net. Unfortunately, it’s not possible to add another payment option.

  • Jack Forrest

    Hello, I have a business plan and the cart won’t allow me to add a freight or service charge at checkout. All that is there is sub-total, shipping, taxes and total but I need to add a freight charge on certain products and a service charge on most orders, a charge, not an option. For now all I can do is add these charges to the product price which the customer sees as, Product / with handling and freight: $xx.xx. I think this inflated price they see will discourage him from going any further and not even make it to checkout. My question, can I integrate a different cart into my site or am I stuck with what I have? I checked with Weebly about this and they said that’s something they may address in the future but that does me no good now. I would appreciate any thoughts.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Jack! You, you can integrate a 3rd party shopping cart like Ecwid or a Shopify cart. However, I browsed around their help sections and there have been discussions about a “hazmat” charge previously. It doesn’t look like it’s possible without any modifications. You might be able to add such a charge through their APIs but I am not an expert in this field.

    • BusinessAsU

      Hi, Jack ,, I agree i have spent days sorting out my web site to find out that there is no flexibility in the shipping options on the weebly eCommerce unless you upgrade to the pro user which is not cheap this makes eCommerce almost useless. Weebly do not make this clear and you can waste a lot of time and money before you find out this little trap.. Hope this helps. Their support just kept trying to get me to upgrade, this seems to be the business model for weebly.. if you are reading this and thinking of using eCommerce beware. i suggest you get in-touch with weebly support and ask them about shipping options on the business plan then sit back and watch them go to work to try and extract more money from you, they will tell you what you can do on pro weebly but not what you can not do on business…

  • Payal

    Hello, I am planning to go with Weebly pro plan(1 year) for my new IT services company website and honestly I don’t know anything about web designing and I want to build website myself using the standard templates or my own templates. Could you please help me if pro plan is correct choice for my requirement. Here is my requirement: 10 email accounts, 20/25 pages of content, 10/15 images, 2 HD videos(100 MB size each), 2 languages(English and German). Also I would like to know the INR rates to make payment through online and details about renewal.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Payal, all this is possible, but the domain (~$10/year) and email addresses(~Google Apps: $5/account) cost extra. We recommend to purchase the domain somewhere else and not through Weebly. It’s just cheaper. Sorry, but could you clearify your last sentence, please?

      • Payal

        Hi Armin, I would like to know the pro plan price per month in INR(Indian rupee) currency, also like to know price details for renewal and How to make the payment(online)? In your website I can see the current pro plan costs $8 per month. You mean, I should pay $8 per month to weebly for pro plan and I can buy the domain ~$10/year (Weebly price: $39) and mail addresses ~Google Apps: $5/account (Weebly price: $45) separately? Could you please clarify?

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          Weebly isn’t available in INR, only in US dollars. You’d pay with a credit card. Yes, you can buy the domain somewhere else for a cheaper price, but the costs depend on the domain you pick. Google Apps for $5/month is only one solution. However, it’s the easiest, because it’s available through the Weebly interface. For 10 email addresses you’d pay about $50/month. Sounds expensive, but it’s a typical business solution. You could also pick a domain with email hosting at Namecheap or GoDaddy. That would be a little bit cheaper.

  • BusinessAsU

    Hi, i would just like to point out that there is no flexibility in the shipping options on the weebly eCommerce unless you upgrade to the pro user which is not cheap this makes it almost useless. Weebly do not make this clear and you can waste a lot of time and money before you find out this little trap.. Hope this helps. Their support just kept trying to get me to upgrade, this seems to be the business model for weebly ..

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Yes, Weebly’s business model is indeed to upgrade users to paid plans and that’s no secret. But that being said their free plan is still very generous compared to other website builders. I would think twice before I created a web store on any free plan as this can hardly be very professional (you won’t have a proper domain name, for example). Weebly Pro costs $8 per month. Don’t you think your store will be able to cover this with its revenue? If not, you should really think about your business modell.

    • tom

      I have had a business plan for about 8 months now and the support I have received is awful. Every time I have experienced a problem the helpdesk answer is: “everything on our end looks fine, please clear the cache in your browser and see if the problem persists”. Then the problem persists and they do nothing further. My latest problem is having products disappear from public view on my ecommerce site. Weebly has pretty templates, but that is about all it has going for it. I am looking for other options, there is just too little effort on their part to help me as a paying customer, which I find shocking.

      • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

        Hi Tom, it’s the first time I hear of an issue like this. Has anybody else had a similar experience?

  • Kevin W

    Support is atrocious right now.. I wait more than a day for a response and all I get is sent to an kb article that does not solve my issue.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Kevin, thank you for your feedback. May I ask what your question was?

  • Ron

    Hi Robert, can you please tell me if I can insert Smugmug links (picture galleries) into the Weebly website. I want to create a photo website as a front-end to a bunch of photo galleries. Is this possible?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Ron, it depends on how Smugmug provides the content. It is no problem at all to add a simple link to a Smugmug page. If they provide an HTML embed code for their picture galleries you can also add it to your Weebly site very easily by using the “Embed Code” element. I hope this answers your question.

  • Lola

    Hi I just started making a website through weebly. I’ve got a free plan but I am planning to get a domain when im done with the site. I just want to ask if i buy a domain from weebly, is it just the domain im getting? Or will it offer something else, like remove the weebly ad at the footer?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Lola, you need at least the Starter plan to remove the Weebly ad from your site. What you can do in order to save money is to get the domain name from another company (e.g. Namecheap or Go Daddy) and point it to Weebly. It’s a lot cheaper than purchasing the domain name from Weebly. But you’ll need the Starter plan to connect a domain name from an external registrar. I hope this helps!

  • marcus fred

    I am facing log-in error (E313 with my Weebly account and i can’t access my account. I have lost so many important data. They said it happened because of violation but they didn’t specify me the reason. However, I have not break any of their terms and conditions. I am really frustrated about this issue. Please please please help me

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Marcus, sorry to hear that. Can you please send us a link to your website?

      • marcus fred

        Hi Robert, Thank you so much for replay, I have created 10 websites under my account and all are banned. One of them is : fashionwebsitescript(dot)weebly(dot)(com).

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          I just contacted Weebly, will let you know as soon as I have news from them.

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          According to Weebly your websites seem to have been classified as SEO spam as their sole purpose was to drive (unnatural) links back to your main site. Unfortunately I am not able to comment on this as I don’t know the sites in question. What you can do in order to retrieve your content back is to write to abuseATweeblyDOTcom to get access. I hope this helps!

  • Yosalida

    Thank you very much for helping me to decide which website builder to choose. The reviews were really helpful.

  • Roberto Torao

    I’m a weebly pro user, just upgraded to business looking for ecommerce for digital goods, but it was very disapointing, the buggy upload system using just a visual bar progress keeps frozen and reseting for larger uploads. I tried every troubleshooting in weebly foruns, my computer is fine imac27″ i7 16 gigs running latests OS and drivers, my ISP works great (I can upload larger files to my dropbox, youtube channel, etc…), but not working in weebly.

    I left my computer overnight uploading a simple zip file about 700megabytes, for 2 nights, without any luck, always gives a broken upload. I got some upload done in another place, but have the same problems too, tried other computers too.

    I contact the support team, they blame my ISP, and there’s no plans to change the upload system, I asked for another alternative for upload my files, and they said, It is what it is, no plans to change it. Very frustranting, however they refunded my money back, without asking too much for it. Maybe is an issue with upload system. They support guy was not very informed about the upload limits, they told me it was only 1 GB file, in the blog site tells that is 3 GB file, I felt that wasn’t too much interest to help the customer neither.

    I can not recommend weebly to sell your digital goods such as videos and music for large uploads, it just not works, smaller files it’s fine. They should avoid the adobe flash upload system, give more realiable way to upload the files.

    Thanks!
    Roberto Torao.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Roberto,
      Thank you for your feedback! That’s interesting to know. We will test this with a larger file than you had. Let’s see what’ll happen.

      • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

        I’ve just uploaded a 1.19 GB zip-File. It worked. Our internet connection is quite fast (upload 10.32 Mbps). I think you experienced a time out, because it lasted too long. Have you checked your speed here: http://www.speedtest.net/?a=1 This would mean bigger files should only be uploaded with a fast connection. Not perfect.

  • Leanda

    Weebly is the bomb!!! I played around with the features and most of the help you need is on youtube. I’m so excited and thankful that I researched before choosing a site. This website builder is perfect for me. Awesome!!!!!!!

  • DennisL

    A few days ago, I registered a .com domain at 1and1.com. I am using a free Weebly (.weebly.com) domain to build my site because Weebly’s website builder is far superior to 1and1’s. I understand that when I am ready to go live, I can point my .com domain at 1and1 to Weebly’s servers. If I want to host my site on Weebly’s servers rather than 1and1’s, is that even possible, given that I bought the .com domain at 1and1, and if so, how would I do it?

    • Jacklyn Gust

      I did the same thing. When you’re ready to go live, upgrade to whatever package you want. Once you upgrade, Weebly will ask you if you want to purchase a domain or connect to one you already own. They will give you an email to send to 1and1 and directions to get it to connect it yourself. I chose to send 1and1 an email (their control panel was a little hard to navigate), and they had it connected within a few hours.

      • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

        Thank you for the explanation, Jacklyn!

      • Brett Lucas

        Jacklyn,

        When you whet through 1and1 for your domain, did you also go through them an email address at the domain name as well (i.e. 1and 1 Instant Mail). If so, how easy was that to set up?

        Thanks,

        Brett

    • Brett Lucas

      Dennis,

      When you whet through 1and1 for your domain did you also go through
      them an email address at the domain name as well (i.e. 1and 1 Instant Mail). If so, how easy was that to set up?

      Thanks,

      Brett

  • Daniel Roberto Zibetti Gonçalv

    I have been trying to find an answer for my question but nothing in the web so far, let alone in Weebly website. Hopefully someone here can shed some light.

    I have a free Weebly account using their sub-domain for my website (mysite.weebly.com), but now I am planning to buy my own domain. I want to know if I buy the domain through Weebly, which is gonna cost me $39/year, will I have my account upgraded to a Starter Plan?

    Because even if I buy a cheaper domain from another website for $7 to $10 per year, when I wanna connect it to my free Weebly website, it asks me to upgrade to the Starter Plan, so I would have to pay another $49/year for the account, total of about $59 per year.

    So is it really worth it to buy a domain in another website and connect it with Weebly? Or better to just buy it from Weebly straight from a free account?

    Thank you very much!

  • Lisa Williams

    I’ve been trying to find out whether I can sell one of the domains I bought from Weebly. I’ve built a site for one domain with them but haven’t upgraded it from Starter Plan yet. I also have a Starter site plus domain with them which has been running for 7 months. I am in a bad financial position now compared to when I set them up and have realised I can’t afford to renew the domains or the Starter plan really so I’m not sure what to do, whether I can sell them, downgrade from Starter plan back to free, or just give them up!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      The domain belongs to you and you have already paid for it. Have you checked the options in your Weebly account under “Domains”? Can you turn off the auto renewal? If this doesn’t help, please contact the Weebly support directly.

  • Brett Lucas

    I will probably use the Weebly Starter for my webpage builder and hosting. For a domain, I am
    looking at going through 1and1.com to purchase a domain and go through them as well for an email address, email@domainname (i.e. 1and 1 Instant Mail gives one 5 email address associated with a domain). Has anyone else done that, and if so, how easy is it to set up a domain e-mail
    within Weebly? Thanks.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Brett,
      You don’t set up or manage your 1&1 e-mail addresses within Weebly. You handle this in your 1&1 account. There you find all the information you need.

  • Robert Beers

    Easy, no not easy at all, unless you happen to be a member of the Nerd Herd or some other technophile. If not, forget it you will not get anything not except raise your blood pressure.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Sorry to hear about your experience. What problems did you have? It’s a simple drag ‘n drop editor. Maybe you like Jimdo better? It works a bit different.

  • brian

    I’m looking into starting a blog in a niche Industry and will offer daily deals/coupons from merchants that manufacture industry specific products. I’m not technologically inclined. I have a partner who is better suited for that part of the operation. I was advised to go with Hostgator/Wordpress, and purchased the Clipper WP theme. My partner is not comfortable with WP. I’m looking for advise as to what would be the best selections of products for this type of site. I included a monthly budget for anticipated monthly vendor costs e.g.,Email Campaign, Coupon Feeder as I need reliable support.
    So, if you felt you found a first entry niche opportunity, an appropriate product to demographic match, and wanted to create a narrative with a specific demographic rich with imagery and desired information, how would you proceed?

    thank you

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Brian,
      I had a look at theme and it looks pretty neat. The thing about coupons is that you just need to offer them as text, picture, button, etc. You can do this with Weebly. Maybe not as elegant as with the Clipper theme and with less functions, e.g. avaible for limited time or just a certain number. You can try Weebly for free and see if it’d be good enough for your project.

      • brian

        Thanks Armin, I appreciate the feedback. Decided to commit to Clipper, I’ll let you know how it works. All these options and recommendations can make a newcomers head spin. I suppose more is lost on indecision, eh? Thanks again.
        Brian

  • Weebly Sucks

    To PC magazine,
    Re: Weebly receives editors choice award

    Would like to know how much $$$ Weebly paid you for this award? Weebly is the worst site to use for so many reasons, perhaps before an award is given you might want to do your homework first. Have you ever Googled ‘Weebly complaints’? They are numerous! The site offers NO customer service, they create ‘upgrades’ that are not tested first, implemented without a choice and then screw up everyone’s site for at least 2 weeks! Their latest ‘upgrade’ has ongoing problems that they have not corrected sine June 1, 2014. Yes, over 2 months later they still haven’t figured out how to correct their own crap! They do NOT care about their customers or what havoc they create, they don’t care about the customer’s lost revenue, they just DON’T care. I am one of thousands of customers that are fed up with all their nonsense!

    Unbelievable that you could actually give them an award.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi, we are not PC Magazine, but I am happy to answer your questions. You talk about an “upgrade” that is not working. Can you please be more specific?
      We have tested Weebly numerous times and have yet to encounter a major bug. In our view Weebly is a really well-rounded piece of software. Of course, with more than 20 million customers it’s impossible that everybody is 100% satisfied. But if you tell more about the issue you are experiencing I am happy to follow up on this for you.

  • NotALuddite

    Weebly is great for what it is, a simple drag and drop web builder. God help you if it malfunctions though. There is no tech support. I mean NO tech support. Like to have a job where you can ignore paying clients while you play solitaire? Apply at Weebly, no experience required (trust me).

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi, I don’t know what happened in your case but we always get replies from Weebly’s support. As always, if you send us through details of your case I am happy to follow up on your behalf with Weebly’s head of support.

      • NotALuddite

        It’s so simple it makes my brain hurt. I have a background photo on a dirt simple site. Since I launched the site it has been fine. Suddenly 3 days ago the background photo went to some enormous scale and is unrecognizable. If I told you about the multiple conversations I’ve had with support for the past 48 hours you wouldn’t believe me (although I have the transcripts, like where they see the problem and acknowledge it, but have no skill or inclination to fix it). Really, I have yet to connect with anyone at Weebly who has what I would consider minimum technical skills.

        BTW, it’s handsomeconnor.com if you’d like to see it. The site is one I created for my dog. Yes, my dog. If this was an e-commerce site I’d be losing my shorts.

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          I got feedback from Weebly: “It looks like a potential bug with his theme; I see that one of our Senior Reps assigned it to a developer to look into but had forgotten to ping the customer to let him know what was going on. I had another Senior Rep reach out earlier today to explain. His problem should be fixed shortly!”
          Let me know in case you continue to having any issues.

          • NotALuddite

            It has been a week and nothing has been done with the exception that I received a nice email from a fellow who identified himself as a Senior Support Specialist. He said Weebly was working to resolve it. 5 days ago.

            Maybe I should be happy. He was the first person in Weebly tech to acknowledge the site had a problem. The other two tech support people I spoke with before him spent all of their time trying to convince me that there was no problem, or that I was using the wrong type of landing page. Which is odd since I used one of their templates without modification.

            I have transcripts of my talks with tech support. I’ll be posting those soon so everyone can see just how crazy this deal is.

            I thank my lucky stars that this isn’t an e-commerce site.

          • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

            Thank you for the update! I am glad the background image now works correctly.

  • WeeblyNewbie

    How do I add a calendar to a family website so we can keep track of birthdays, special events, vacations, etc.?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      You could embed a Google calendar on your website. Also really promising is Tockify.

  • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

    Hi Billy, there is no odd Google/Weebly conspiration, but if you want to rank for “roofers in Montgomery, AL” you need to place this search term here and there in your Titles, Meta-Description, Content, Alt-Tags, etc. But avoid keyword stuffing, please! Most of your pages offer very general information and sometimes only pictures. That’s not specific enough and too thin for Google. There’s a lot you can optimize. I recommend you to read the beginners guide to SEO from MOZ. Just google it. :-)

    • JeanLucLabarre

      There’s no such word as conspiration either.. :D
      ‘Plot’ is a good alternative.

      • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

        Lol, you’re right! Too many languages on my mind: German, French, Spanish, English. Thx for mentioning it. :-)

  • http://www.scenic2view.com Leslie Mansell

    Hi, I saw where a guy with a roofing business that has a site through Weebly having problems getting recognized on Google. I have an online jewelry and accessory business, http://www.scenic2view.com and wanted to know if you have any suggestions for me, I know my business is not unique in the fact there are countless jewelry, accessory businesses. I am doing an Ad on Google and have been advise to blog which I’ve done twice I know I need more) I haven’t linked to any other sites because I’m not sure of how it works, I know it has to be a similar type business but can I just randomly pick one? I appreciate your help

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Leslie,
      I also recommend you to read Moz’ “Beginners Guide to SEO”. Recently, they also published a guide for link building. It’ll help you a lot.

  • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

    Just drag ‘n drop the YouTube element from the left sidebar on your page. That’s it.

  • Tolga Bostan

    Hii

    Im trying upgrade my account (free to pro) but this error “Your purchase cannot be completed.” Why coming this error please help Thanks

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Have you filled in all details, correctly? Does your credit card work? Have you already contacted the Weebly support?

  • Lisa Best

    Hi, I just signed up for Weebly ecommerce thru Bluehost, my hosting site and it is a terrible set up. The set up options are extremely limited (no category section, colors or sizes, cannot transfer my Etsy store, but I can thru Weebly that is not thru Bluehost with one click) and the set up is completely different than just going thru Weebly tutorials which are great. Should I close or point (as I see below) my domain name to Weebly and just start over using Weebly as my hosting site, or any other hosting site? Please help! Not a tech person at all. Thanks.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! I think this would be the best idea if you really like Weebly. The “original” Weebly is the best Weebly you can get. Just keep your domain and point it to your new Weebly account.

      • Lisa Best

        Thanks so much for your reply. I spent 2 weeks trying to set up Weebly thru bluehost and it still does not look professional. I now will try Wix. Their layouts are so much nicer. For non tech people this is a lot of work, but I am learning.

  • lill

    I have to say this, I first started at 1and1 with my website it was terrible then I moved it to bluehost were I had them completely start over with a new design with WordPress because it was suppose to be the best, well maybe WordPress is the best but from my experience from bluehost design team is was worse then 1and1 and got so tired of paying out money to incompetent designers from top rated companies that I thought, I would cut my losses and just start over myself this time with weebly I heard that it was easy to put together and I purchased the pro plan, It was the best thing I ever did not only have I moved up on Google search engines but thankfully my business has finally picked up and just so you know I have been in business 2 years and just now since I moved it to weebly has my business picked up. you can visit the site at http://www.railryderservices.com The customer services is good. I like weebly very much and I would recommend them.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Lill, fantastic to hear that you found your perfect website builder! I am very happy for you. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

  • Tom

    No captcha possible with Weebly contact forms = spam problem

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      You can replace your Weebly contact form with a Wufoo contact form. Wufoo has a free plan and the anti spam works really good. We also use it on our contact page.

  • Jon

    I am the admin for an NGO and currently have a free plan with Weebly. I would like to upgrade to a premium platform in order to transfer a custom domain we own and host the site with them (built with Weebly but currently hosted elsewhere). The problem is that we have separate sites for each language so in order to set up the “main” site on the parent domain and other languages on subdomains, we would have to purchase a premium plan for every language / subdomain (as per customer support). That just doesn’t make any sense… Can you recommend any suggestions or alternatives?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Jon, what you could do is to transfer the domain name to Weebly (as you had suggested). Then you can set up subdomains for each language es.yoursite, fr.yoursite, it.yoursite etc.
      You can then create copies (in Weebly free) of your website and translate them. Finally you connect them to the subdomains. This should work without paying anything extra. However, Weebly told me that in rare cases you’ll be prompted to upgrade. If that happens, please get back to us.
      More details on multiple languages: http://shrsl.com/?~6nhs
      More on subdomains: http://shrsl.com/?~6nht
      By the way, I asked them if there was a discount for NGOs and they told me that a one-off reduction would be possible. All I need is the email address you used to create your Weebly account. Please send it to me via through our contact form if you’re interested.

  • SeasondipityCandleCo

    I need assistance with the tax function on Weebly. I have an online retail business in Arizona and have been told by the city in which I reside that I need to pay/charge city taxes for any customers within the state of Arizona, regardless of their city. I have been told by Weebly that I only need to enter my zip code (as the shipper) in the Tax section of Weebly. However, unless the customer lives in my same zip code, Weebly is only assessing state taxes for in-state customers and is not assessing the city tax. What am I missing? Hope you can help!

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      With digital orders I think you only have to charge tax in the (US) state that your business is physically present. So for anything you ship outside your state’s borders you won’t have to charge sales tax. I am not a tax advisor so you would have to verify this information. But at least that’s how I understand it.

  • Carl

    I don’t find the site as easy as everyone claims. I would like a site that has someone available to walk you through set-up on the phone. Yes, I was able to set up a site, but not one that satisfied me.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Carl, most users tend to find Weebly very easy to use. Of course, the individual experience can differ from person to person. In your case I would probably recommend you to look for a web designer who can set up the site for you.

  • K8

    I don’t think this site is as good as you’re making it out to be. When I drag and drop blocks there are times where it snaps to a grid but the grid is not on level with the other blocks! It’s so frustrating. And what’s worse is that when you blog there’s no way to organize using tags. SEO also sucks. I can’t believe this is your top recommended site.

  • Steve

    Hey, I am looking to make a simple web site where people can purchase my videos, would weebly be a good choice? I notice paypal is the only option which is fine I guess. Also is there a facebook share option with this site?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Steve! The Weebly Business plan allows you to sell digital goods like videos. You find more information in our Weebly online store review.
      Yes, you can add share icons like facebook, twitter, etc.

  • MrGregOtis .

    I have been dabbling and experimenting with Weebly for almost a year now. I picked Weebly over others because of some of the reviews I found on the Internet. I have been using the “free-be” and maybe eventually upgrade. I have been basically happy with Weebly. It was easy to put together after I figured it out, mostly on my own. There was some frustrations at the start, one being I had to use Google Chrome instead of MS IE 9 at the initial creation of my site. But once I got started, and got past the “learning curve” time period, I was ok. I feel what Weebly offers is limited, but hey, it’s a free site. I am experienced with HTML and I wanted to create my own websites from scratch, but it got to be labor intensive for what I wanted to do. Weebly shorted that labor time a hundred fold. Am I 100% happy with the “finished product?” No, but I am ok with it overall. Weebly might be pricey for the professional and business side, but I think I will stay with them.

  • MrGregOtis .

    Oh, I forgot to add. I couldn’t open up your FAQ with IE9. I had to use Chrome instead. Am I too “old fashion” or out of date? FYI, I always keep PC security updated, but I do not update to the “latest and greatest” software. I do not always trust what is being offered.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Thank you for your feedback. If you consider internet security seriously, you should always keep your browser up-to-date. Every update fixes several security issues. Have you tested our website with the latest version of IE11? It should be fine.

      • MrGregOtis .

        I am sure going to the latest IE will remove any access issues with the Internet, plus add more security. But I don’t always trust Microsoft with their “latest and greatest.” I’ve been burned in the past. Even some of their OS security updates were unstable, and I can give you stories on that. I used to be an IT and network guy in a previous life. Whenever there is an issue while using IE9, I just switch over to Chrome. It might be frustrating at times, but I am ok with it.

  • Jenny

    I would like some help… It takes a long time for my website builder to load! Is this an error? If so could someone please guide me so I can start creating my website? I once had no problems before but now I have these problems…

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Jenny! No, that’s not normal. Weebly’s website builder runs pretty smooth on our computers/ Macs. Have you tried another browser/computer? If the problem remains, you should contact the Weebly support.

  • chris

    WHAT IS UP WITH THE IMAGE FILES? when i add a picture for a category and it is on my home page is cut off. Not a full picture. why can’t the site fit to size these pictures when they are dragged and dropped. Should i open photo shop and resize each one. one at a time until i find out what weebly likes. It is beginning to feel like a waste of time trying to set up my sight. I can not ever get three products to show correctly.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Normally, you don’t need Photoshop, because Weebly allows you to modify, resize and crop images in its editor. Have you tried these options?

      • chris

        Found it under setting, the pics were 1x1s and i changed it to 2×3

  • Tom

    Has Weebly permanently limited the number of pages on free sites now? I signed up today and it will only let me have 5 pages.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Tom! Could be, but it could also change tomorrow. At least, it’s for free. ;-)

  • Aaron

    I definitely don’t recommend weebly. They accept other websites with… the same themes for years and shutdown our website without any information. Other companies inform their clients before doing that. My partner asked for only making a backup and they don’t it. Absolutely not customer friendly! Stay away from this company!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Aaron! We’re sorry to hear about your issue. What website are we talking about? Could you send us the URL, please, and we’ll gladly contact Weebly on your behalf to see what’s the problem.

      • Aaron

        Hi Armin, thank you for your help. We are talking about fxscam weebly-com/, a review website about Forex trading and http://forexbonusbroker-weebly-com/, a website about Forex bonuses.

        All of these websites (in the meantime after we mentioned it they are shutdown, too):

        forex-trading-malaysia-weebly-com/,
        forexauto-weebly-com/,
        sureforex-weebly-com/education–training-html,
        nolossforextradingsoftware-weebly-com/,
        forex2tradeindia-weebly-com/, forexbonus-weebly-com/

        were allowed and so we created an account with weebly.

        We only got an email after asking that “Make Free Money” style websites are not allowed. Our websites has nothing to do with making free money, especially one was a normal review site. Forex Trading has nothing to do with it, it’s a difficult business but nothing illegal.

        But in general I think that you can inform somebody that the content is not ok. That is the normal way like other companies do it. We had no chance to make a backup and we have spent very much time in it… :( Where is the problem to give us access to make a backup and after that we will leave?! That would be customer-friendly. I have no words at the moment.

        Greetings

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          Hi Aaron,
          Sorry that we can’t help here. I agree with you that there is nothing wrong with Forex trading, but in the end, it’s about making money and that involves a serious financial risk for many people. I guess Weebly just doesn’t want to be involved in such business.

          • Aaron

            Hi Armin,
            but where is the problem to give us a possibility to make a backup? If they don’t accept this business it’s ok and we’ll leave. A normal company would give the client a chance to make a backup at least.
            Greetings

          • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

            I understand both parties here, unfortunately I don’t know the original content. Sorry that I can’t do more for you in this case.

  • Guest

    Shitties site every. Dosent save automaticly. Procduers are pussys

  • Bill

    I’ve already got a website located on a server. What I want is a template I can upload to that server. Weebly, Wix, Jimdo, Squarespace, etc. can’t provide that – they require you to locate your domain on their server. Where can I go for what I want?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Bill! That’s correct. On you server, you cannot host a Weebly, etc. template. In our CMS-Server-Article we explain why. There are only 2 possibilities: either you use a CMS like WordPress on your server/own HTML-templates, etc. or you keep the domain and point it to Weebly, Jimdo, etc.

      • Bill

        Thanks!

  • Scottie

    I want to use Weebly to set up a site for an alumni group. I would like to publish names and addresses of people, but not have them visible publicly. Does Weebly have a way for people to login to view such content?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Scottie! Weebly has a password protection and membership function. Both options allow you to publish exclusive content.

  • Allison Edwards

    I love how user friendly weebly is but be warned it has major issues and not happy I pay more for weebly then any other host ive used and yet it has so many things wrong with a support team that is clueless to how to fix issues. I have had sales that don’t charge shipping at all because the buyer didnt put in the correct shipping address and theres no way to check it before it goes through and no way to bill them when they pay by credit card. I have had around 10 orders at least completely not show up in weebly at all but do show up in paypal. These buyers ended up with long ship turnaround times because they were never noticed. The inventory tracker somehow turns itself off on random products and any orders that only show in paypal the inventory on those doesnt update which causes over selling. I have emailed support several times with zero explanation and told well maybe the sales dont show up if they change any info in paypal during the checkout process which they all claim they haven’t done. Im then sent to their forum to just post an idea for them which is useless to me and im still sitting here with lost sales for orders I had to refund due to the non charging of shipping and the buyer never purchases it again, an inventory thats completely off and having to spend a ton of time back tracking all my paypal transactions to see if anything was missed. very very annoyed.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Allison! To be honest, that’s the first time that I hear of such problems with Weebly’s online store. Please send me your URL and we can try to contact Weebly on your behalf.

      • Allison Edwards

        My website is ribbonologysupply.com I have had 4 sales in the last week alone never appear. I have 2 other fellow designers using weebly and they’re dealing with the same issues. One of them had to refund 26 orders due to the inventory tracker not working and overselling. I’ve used godaddy and pappashop both worked great but very time consuming and weebly is the only one I find I can track inventory on multiple products and options in the same listing.

    • http://www.scenic2view.com Leslie Mansell

      Allison did you ask Weebly for a discount coupon I was given 33% off the yearly subscription

  • Karprasad

    Question : I would like to run a moderated “classified ads” page in Weebly where members posts ads, they then undergo moderation and finally get published. Is this possible? if yes how

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Weebly Pro allows to add editors (see video 4:22). When you assign someone to an author, the person can edit the content of pages with granted access. You can also password protect that special page. When you think the ad is okay, you can place it whereever you want on your website.

  • Matt Golden

    I would not recommend WEEBLY. After years of using it, I had a problem with my navigation and they would provide me with zero support as I changed a few things in CSS… after years of using them! I would highly recommend just about any other service. Their support is rude, and would not even provide basic help.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Matt! Sorry to hear about your frustration, but I see it different. I think it’s a good thing that Weebly gives you the possibility to change the code. It gives you a lot of power over your website, but you need to know, what to do. Furthermore, Weebly states on its website that it cannot give any help if you decide to change the template. Jimdo does the same. Other companies like Wix or GoDaddy have abandoned the ability to modify the source code, because they’ve realized that it creates too much demand for support that they cannot give. In the end, it’s common practice.

      • Matt Golden

        I said to them that I can fix the code, but in THEIR template, I was merely asking where the code was that determines what topline nav links work, and which do not.

        They would not even engage me as a customer to support what really is their template… and give me even basic guidance.

        They are free to have that policy, but as a customer I am free to say… that sucks! And if you need a stable site with even basic support… look elsewhere.

        This tool is good for kids soccer teams and other stock basic stuff… but is not business grade.

    • MrWEIRDLEGO

      It’s fine for a beginner

  • http://www.scenic2view.com Leslie Mansell

    Sorry your experience wasn’t a good one I am happy to say my experience with Weebly has been great, I’ve been very pleased with the Customer Service unlike Zappy Host !

  • Mr Wobbly

    Hidden limitations have become a bugbear now.
    Having used Weebly for years and very much liked their product I had often set up friends and even clients with weebly sites. Easy to build (up to a point)
    I just signed up a client to develop an e-commerce site and calculated that the Pro account would suffice. Then we gradually kept uncovering hidden limits that could only be overcome by upgrading to Business account.
    (1.) Shipping options are not Selectable. (Terrible restriction in a global economy).
    (2.) No more than one ‘option’ for any item, so, for example if you have an option for shoe size AND colour – you must upgrade
    (3.) We couldn’t find a way to deal with the same item being more expensive at the adult end of the range, meaning that we needed to enter each individually for Toddler, Child and Adult. This tripled the number of products and pushed us over the pro limit of 25
    (4.) We agreed to set up the store and e-commerce option today, but while the connection and interface to Stripe (e-commerce service) was good and seamless we are baffled as to how to use Stripes very complex test purchase feature.
    Weebly support said “just set an item to like $1 and buy it, but any further advice must be Stripe’s problem. Stripe have not responded to the support request I sent several hours ago.
    Stripe’s so called ‘help’ pages are outrageously complicated and aimed more at programmers into Java and SSI and API and goodness knows all what. We spent all day trying and were still unsuccessful at using one of their test credit card numbers at all.
    Weebly’s help pages do not have anything on test purchases but have many that refer to another system I suspect has been superceded long ago.

    I am very disappointed because I had quoted a good price to my client and was awarded the bid against competitors who were higher priced, now I am left feeling the client may believe I have deceived them.

    I am particularly annoyed because Weebly were encouraging me to resell their products via a portal feature so I even went ahead and purchased yet another website from them to promote myself as a website designer – and now I find all these hidden extras.

    If you want a great free website Weebly is very handy and easy to use, but clearly, when it comes down to doing business level sites they are very sneaky.

    Similarly their domain name purchase is very highly priced these days. at $39.95 (and of course even more in the UK because of the VAT) We got the same thing for less than a pound elsewhere. I really grudge paying 20% VAT on an over charge of £24. Making the cost £30 instead of £1 – £3. You are giving £5 to the government because of Weebly’s greed.

    That is Weebly support just responding to the ticket now, saying it is actually not possible to use test purchase on weebly at all as it is defaulted to ‘Live’ mode and cannot be switched to test. So that was a whole day wasted when they could have put that in their e-commerce help instructions!

    I am not happy – and still have to tell my client the bad news that she will have to pay another £100 to get the features we both believed would be part of the Pro package (they are NOT listed) Then, of course, likely £20 VAT again.

    • Mr Wobbly

      And Weebly still can’t handle animated Gifs you have to post elsewhere and link to it with HTML what a palaver

      • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

        Hi! We don’t know why you thought the Pro plan would be enough for your client, because before you upgrade your Weebly Free account, you see exactly what features each plan includes (see screenshot). I agree with you that shipping and tax calculation are essential for most e-commerce stores, but it’s only included in the Business plan. It’s not hidden information.

        As a user and web designer with several years experience, I would expect that you know that you get a much cheaper domain elsewhere (e.g. Namecheap ~ £5/year). We always recommend people to pick another domain registrar (see table and FAQ). In the end, you could have avoided a lot of trouble with your client, if you had taken a closer look at Weebly’s pricing chart or our comparison.

        In our opinion Weebly has improved a lot over the years, but the most important thing is that Weebly is NOT the sneaky company you describe here.

        And by the way, animated gifs work just fine on Weebly websites. Here’s an example:
        http://photographerwebsite.weebly.com/animated-gif-in-weebly.html

        • Mr Wobbly

          Hi Amin
          (seen it) Can you tell me (from that chart)
          How many “Options” per Product can you have on Pro?
          How many Shipping options can you have on Pro?
          Mr Wobbly

          • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

            Hi! The chart tells me that shipping is not included in Weebly Pro (no green arrow). Product variants aren’t that obvious, but when you try to add them in your Weebly Free account, Weebly will ask you to upgrade to Weebly Business. However, as your client needed shipping settings, the only plan that fulfilled your customers demands was Weebly Business. You find more differences in our plan comparison.

          • Mr Wobbly

            The Arrow says “Shipping and Tax Calculator” which does not (to my mind) describe Shipping options, sounds more like a tool for working out your tax.
            Actually being in a small country it would work to have one shipping method because that is already something we wrote in to the Shipping Options. So Pro account would be acceptable.
            It becomes rather tedious (and feels like very sneaky marketing) when feature after feature keeps popping up an upgrade notice because they have limited the pro version.
            The fact is when someone comes up on a freelancer site looking for a website and Weebly is advertising e-commerce I am not likely to spend 30 days to try out a working replica of the clients site then tell them it doesn’t work. I want to be able to SEE the features precisely all the way through.
            Further, we wanted to test the e-commerce feature which is not described in any weebly help page. Helpdesk says do a cheap purchase as a test. Later said the test mode was actually disabled their end, so using stripe test mode is actually impossible. I wish they had made this clear.

  • MrWEIRDLEGO

    Did you make this site using Weebly

  • MrWEIRDLEGO

    I kinda want to make a website just to edit the HTML

  • John Driscoll

    “Furthermore, we heard that they are testing a new type of free account
    right now where the limit is 5 pages. If you got one of these new
    accounts you can try signing up again with a different email address –
    hopefully you’ll be more lucky and get an account with unlimited pages.”

    Is this still true? I really need a sixth page. I’ve had friends who created portfolio sites for themselves just a couple months ago and they were able to have seven or eight pages. I really need six, but I can’t afford to use more than the free version. Is there still a way around this?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi John! We can’t promise it. Just try it. It’ll take you about 10 minutes to find it out. Just add some dummy pages. If it should not work you could try Wix or Jimdo.

  • Guest

    I’m not sure if this is a question you can answer, or whether I need to go directly to Weebly – but … I am putting together a website and at present am testing both Wix or Weebly, and will be using the Pro plan. I need a site that will allow for multiple Password protected pages, each with a different password. This is an option Wix offers. From what I have read on the Weebly site, is that although I can asign password protection to multiple pages – I can only have the one password. Would you know if Weebly allows for third party password protection to be added – and if so what ones are compatible? Is there any you would recommend? The only one I can find is Sentry. Thank you.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Weebly allows you to add members. The Pro account is a bit limited (20 members, sign-up only per invitation). The Business plan gives you full control (no limits). Sentry works with every website builder.

  • prasanth

    I want to allow my members to post videos files and blog post directly on to one of my members only page. Is it possible in weebly.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      The membership feature is really nice for sharing exclusive content with certain members. Don’t confuse it with the Editors feature that you can see in the video at 4:22. I think it’s possible, but you should try it out yourself. Weebly Pro accounts have a 30-day money back guarantee.

      • prasanth

        thank for ur prompt reply. I wanted to ask if I can allow my members (lets say I have 10000members) to share videos on my site.

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          I guess Weebly wouldn’t be the right website builder for such a huge project. You would need to add 10000 editors manually in your case.

          • Prasanth

            thank u so much for info

  • MizJ

    I find weebly very easy to use (I’m an old dinosaur) but am having trouble figuring out how to add a holiday banner and can’t seem to get hold of tech support. Good builder otherwise!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Do you have the banner as an image? Just include it as a photo and add the link.

  • Gina Fagnani

    With the Business plan, if you set up up the password to the website, will I know when someone signs up? Thanks

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! The sign up function is part of the membership feature (only in Weebly Business available). Yes, in the dashboard you can decide if an approval is required.

  • Manju

    Hi
    I have a medical information website on weebly. Is it possible to add a question answer page. I am not able to find any plug-in.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Manju, you could try http://www.pubble.io/ for Q&A type of pages.

  • Katherine

    Hi, Robert. Just wanted to let you know I got it working. Thanks for your help!

  • Gui

    Hi Val, I noticed that there’s a weebly website builder tool on Hostgator, that means people can build a website using weebly after they bought services on Hostgator?

  • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

    Yes Gui, that’s correct. However, I’d be a bit cautious using the Hostgator version of Weebly as we’ve heard from some users that they didn’t have the same features that you would get through Weebly directly (see the FAQ above). If you asked me, I’d always get it from Weebly directly.

  • Aimee

    From the looks of the link, it seems you have to now sign up for either the starter or the pro subscriptions in order to link an outside-registered domain name to your weebly page. So that means it has changed now and is no longer an option for free sites/accounts, is that right? Thank you!!

  • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

    Hi Aimee, yes that’s right. Weebly changed their pricing, it’s no longer to connect your domain name for free. The only website builder where you can still do that is Webnode: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/reviews/webnode-review/