Wix.com Review – Website Creation for Creative People

HTML5! Wix has replaced its outdated flash-based website builder with this new technology. In layman’s terms this means that you can create nice effects and animations without knowing anything about programming at all. Thanks to HTML5, websites created with Wix will now also be supported on smartphones and tablet devices such as the iPad.

Their visually stunning designs are indeed impressive and look incredibly professional. Introductory videos take users by the hand to support them well in getting to know the functions.

The combination of the latest technology, smart design and ease of use endow Wix.com with a very special glamour. It certainly convinced us – but we also examined the few cracks in the pretty façade.

See it in action here

info Wix offers a free plan. Sign up for it here (link will open in a new window)

Wix in Detail

Criterion Rating Comment
Ease of use
The editor is very easy to understand. If you are stuck, the FAQ section will help. Short introductory videos give instructions on the different functions.
Choice and flexibility of design (templates)
The designs look great and make a professional impression. But there is one decisive snag: you must decide at the start which one you wish to use. Thereafter it is no longer possible to switch to a different template.
Advertisement-free yes Ad-free only from the premium plan “Combo”. The free version and the Connect Domain plan show some pretty visible Wix-ads.
Languages
The editor supports nine languages. Multilingual sites are generally possible. More info can be found with the search term “multilingual websites”.
Your own domain name (e.g. .com or .net) yes Included from the premium plan “Combo” only. Wix currently only supports the following domain endings: .com, .org, .net, .co.uk .biz and .info. However, with the “Connect Domain” package (and higher) it is possible to move your existing domain to Wix or point it to Wix from another domain registrar. This way you can use further domain name endings. Find more details below in our FAQ's.
Depth of navigation
A maximum of two levels are possible. A third level would be desirable.
Widgets (small tools to add extra functionality)
Comprehensive app store to embed excellent image galleries, videos (YouTube), Facebook, etc. External applications can be integrated easily via the apps.
Monetization yes You can integrate Google Adsense via their App store. Another possibility are banner ads and affiliate links.
E-Commerce
An online store is included in the “eCommerce” package. You can also test the function in the other plans. Customers pay with Paypal or Google Checkout.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Page titles, meta description, alt tags can be added individually. Less ideal are the cryptic URL names.
Blog
Visitors with a Facebook account can leave comments on your blog. It's not possible to schedule blog posts.
Visitor statistics
In order to access statistics, Google Analytics must be integrated in advance.
Contact form yes There is a simple contact form builder.
Password protection yes Exemplary! Pages can be allocated an individual password, or users can be set up and managed with their own log-in.
Newsletter tool yes Wix offers an application called "ShoutOut" that allows you to send newsletters from your account. There are also app integrations with other email marketing services (e.g. CakeMail).
Add HTML code yes Embed various widgets and other tools by means of an integrated app.
Storage space 500 MB+ 500 MB - 20 GB. Please note that there is also a monthly bandwidth limit in most plans (only relevant for very large websites).
Forum yes Can only by embedded via app.
Support yes FAQ, forum, phone. The documentation is very detailed and clearly explained. If you get stuck, you can submit your question to the forum. Answers are usually prompt.
Fun Factor
Starting up is very playful and initial impressive result are achieved quickly. A nasty surprise can occur, however, if you get tired of the design. In that case, you will have to start again from the very beginning.
Overall Rating
4/5
Smart website builder with optical delights. Easy to use. At present we would only recommend it with reservations for commercial purposes. But it is perfect for photographers, bands, artists, etc!

Conclusion

The new website builder is incredibly well done, largely due to the sheer number of possibilities. The selection of highly modern layouts and the fancy animations you can add when switching between pages made a particularly good impression. Another useful tool is the App Market, which makes the implementation of additional features such as photo and slider galleries into your website as easy as a walk in the park.

In our last update, one of our main points of criticism was the fact that the website’s mobile version did not automatically update itself. Wix has corrected this issue. Older browsers now handle Wix’s HTML5-based websites somewhat more gracefully than before, too. All in all, we are glad that Wix has given our feedback serious consideration.

Using Wix has a completely different feel to it than, for instance, Jimdo or Weebly – whether or not this is a good thing depends on your personal preferences. Wix offers much more creative freedom, and, in turn, requires you to pay more attention to detail. You will be much more likely to accidentally move an object around or incorrectly re-arrange your website if you’re not careful. We also dislike the fact that you can’t change your template once you get started. Other website builders need only a few clicks to swap one template for another.

Wix is particularly good for impressive presentation scenarios. Artists, bands, photographers, and other creative users will be very happy with Wix if they want a great platform on which to present themselves with style.

Only the future will tell which areas Wix will tackle next. And when that future comes, all the latest information on the new version will be right available here at WebsiteToolTester.com.

> Test Wix for free and without risk!

Wix Example Sites

Alternatives to Wix

Weebly
See review
Squarespace
See review

FAQ about Wix

How do I use a domain name that I already own?

After logging into your Wix Account you will see the “Domains” menu. Here you can simple enter the domain name that you want to use. If you have already registered the domain name they will show you how you can transfer it or point it to Wix (see screenshot). Further information.

Does the "Connect Domain" plan really show ads?

Yes, it does. For an example, you can check our demo site www.html5-websitebuilder.com.

Do I need my own web space to use Wix?

No, Wix is a hosted website builder. What that means is that by signing up they will provide everything you need for a complete website: the editor, the web space and a domain name. For a proper .com or .net domain you will have to purchase one of their premium plans.

If I use Wix to build my website, will they own my content?

No, Wix will not become the owner of your content. Here is what their terms of service say: “Wix does not claim any intellectual property rights over the User Content[…]” (TOS: 15. User Content D.)

The same applies if you purchase a domain name through them. They will never own it and you are free to transfer it to another domain registrar.

Review Updates

13 Oct 2014 – New rating for blog, before 1,5
27 Aug 2014 – New rating for designs, now 4.5 stars
17 Jul 2014 – Wix introduced its own Newsletter tool “ShoutOut”.
30 Jan 2014 – H1 tags can be added.
09 Jan 2014 – More detailed information about domain names.
10 Dec 2013 – Review of the blog feature added.
24 Sep 2013 – More storage space.
19 Jul 2013 – Supports Google Adsense now.
08 Apr 2013 – Review of Wix’s new HTML builder. The review for the old Flash-based model can be found here.
14 Mar 2012 – Password protection information added
11 Apr 2012 – Initial review of Wix’ HTML5 website builder
22 Nov 2011 – We have tested Wix’ server performance.
07 Nov 2011 – Wix adds a blog module
20 Jul 2011 – Website builder for mobile websites reviewed reviewed, new eCommerce features added
17 Mar 2011 – General update
12 Jan 2011 – General update: support has not been reviewed this time.

Last updated: 13 Oct 2014 | Armin Pinggera

Your opinion and user reviews:

 
  • Trent Watford

    Thanks for your reviews, I had been using Google Sites and was looking for something easier. I tried Wix and have found it very easy to use without having to read tutorials. After I found your site I thought I should try to use Jimdo based on your reviews. But I have not found it nearly as easy as WIX. I am building a site for a small business, I am concerned about what you said about the SEO for WIX how big of a problem are the things you mentioned?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Thank you very much for your feedback! Indeed, after a long time Wix has finally introduced all headline tags. We’ve deleted that wrong information in our review. Hopefully, they’re also fixing the cryptic URL-structure soon.
      A clean URL structure is always better, but at least Wix shows the navigation title in the URL. SEO is such a vast field. A perfect URL structure may be important in an extremely competitive market, but is never the only reason for a bad ranking. Much more important is good and relevant content. Google will register it, even with a non-perfect URL structure.
      I hope this helps!

      • Trent Watford

        Thanks for your response, I did ask them about the cryptic URL structure, they said something about having other code that would help Google crawl the site.

  • Patrick

    Wix has terrible web site loading performance. They seem to think that 5- 7s to load a page is acceptable. Sometimes customer web pages don’t load completely. Over 1k complaints on their support site stating that it is taking too long! Be careful with them as they don’t have a solution.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Patrick. If you believe it or not, Wix has already improved its website performance. For instance, they use compressed JavaScript-Files, etc. Most of the time, blocking (big) images, JavaScript, many http requests, etc. are the problem. But that’s very technical and only hard to achieve with a website builder that must be easy to use.

  • Dane

    I’m a premium paying customer and in a like/hate relationship with WIX, but there’s little alternative. Over and above the fact that WIX doesn’t provide an option for anchor tags to be used and their bug turnaround times are not desirable, I’m extremely frustrated with WIX due to a ‘recent’ (Oct 2013) bug that crept in where Safari browsers have an issue with wix website navigations. On initially loading the page, intermittently the navigation links won’t work, unless the page is refreshed. It’s March 2014, and wix customers with Safari clients now have basically dormant websites and high bounce rates, with very little idea of when this will be resolved. 5months later…

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Dane, thank you for your feedback! Wix is a bit more restrictive than most other website builders when it comes to HTML editing, that’s why anchor links are not possible.
      I just tried a couple of Wix websites in Safari and didn’t have any problems. Could you post the URL you are having issues with?

      • Dane

        I posted a reply, but it seems missing now. might have needed to be reviewed by a mod (you) before it would be visible I think. I can reply again. let me know. :-)

      • Dane

        I’m currently trialing out squarespace, which looks to be quite an exciting alternative

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          Now I experienced the problem as well. The links in the navigation just wouldn’t work without a page reload. Squarespace is a decent site builder, would be great to hear what you think of it and whether you agree with our review: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/reviews/squarespace-review/

    • Dane

      http://www.wix.com/support/forum/html5/error-messages-and-known-bugs/live-website-errors/261113-known-issue-menu-on-saf

      Here’s the link to the main issue I mentioned. The “Best Reply” only recently got edited to state that they “may have a fix” and for users to test. but now this has led to a new issue of only headers and footers being displayed without any main body content PLUS a much slower page loading time.

      I’m officially on the lookout for a new builder for my site: http://www.newzealandstuntschool.com

      I wonder if weebly can do it…

  • Kate

    I’m a Wix premium customer. There are a lot of advantages that why I chose Wix, but the main problem is pretty bad mobile version that you get and you don’t have a lot of flexibility in editing it.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Kate, what don’t you like about it? It used to be very limited but now you can specifically adapt it by hiding pages and changing font styles. Also, changes that you carry out on the desktop version are now being carried over automatically, which is a lot more convenient than before.

  • Inexperienced User

    Hi everyone. I am currently trying to build my first website for a small business. As you can imagine having no experience at all, I went for wix as the easy option. I must say it is a bit of “love and hate” relationship at the moment. And also as I was reading up on it, it turned out it is not as great as I thought. I was wondering before I continue putting work into it, would anyone be lovely enough to suggest an alternative which can be used by inexperienced people like me, who can compensate lack of skill with patience. Thank you!

  • Richard

    I’ve successfully built several sites with very impressive results. I highly recommend Wix for beginners and the html-clueless, of which I am both. See…

    http://www.raconine.com

    In answer to the author, there certainly is a method for switching templates. Build a separate free template to your specs. Then simply reassign your domain to the new template. It takes 5 minutes to make the move. Clear instructions are here…

    http://www.wix.com/support/main/html5/premium-plans/managing-your-premium-plans#Transferring+Your+Plan+to+Another+Site

    Your old template will still live on your site management menu, but it will no longer have an assigned domain.

    I hope this helps.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Richard,

      Thank you for your comment. The problem with your method is that you will lose all your content. A template/design switch shouldn’t affect your content. Imagine you’ve created a website with a lot of content including an online shop that offers many products. You would have to start from scratch.

  • jimmy

    I just created a blog.. And it’s not easy to navigate through blogs or manage them. Maybe it’s just new to me..

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Jimmy, as you can see in our table, we don’t recommend Wix for blogs as it is no typical blog. If you really need a good blog, you should check out Squarespace in our review. Of course, WordPress is always an option for blogs, but much more complicated to set up and maintain.

  • Educate2Day

    Is there a subscriber option with premium accounts?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi, do you want to create a subscriber list so that you can send subcribers more information via email/newsletter in the future?

      • Educate2Day

        Yes, for future use.

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          You can incorporate a signup form e.g. with Mail Chimp in any plan or website for free. Go to the Mail Chimp website and search for signup form. They explain in a video how it works.

  • http://nmnmcis.com Max

    Hi

    I set up a website with WIX and am quite happy with it. I am fairly new at this and am facing the following problem:

    I receive emails when they are sent through my website, using the
    contact form BUT I do not receive them when people use the actual
    contact address (info@nmnmcis.com) without going through the website.

    What can I do/should I know to fix this problem ?

    Thank you, regards

    Max

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Max,

      I’ve just sent you an email. I haven’t received an error message. Have you checked your spam folder? If you shouldn’t have received it, please contact the Wix support. This is all we can do for you here.

  • Ann Wood

    I spent just published my site with wix and noticed that the images on my mobile device basically suck. That are pixelated and fuzzy. I called the tech support with no suggess. My images look great on other platforms like blogger and squarespace. Does anyone know why this is? Any input would be appreciated.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Have you tested it on another mobile phone? I checked several Wix websites on my mobile phone and the picture quality was absolutely fine.

  • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

    Hi Camila,
    No, you don’t need any programming skills to build or maintain the website. The benefit of Wix is that the designs looks modern. Other website builders also offer mobile devices support. Yes, the “blog” is bad. See the explanation in the table. Squarespace has a very good blog.

  • sreejith

    HI,
    Im planning to start an online store with wix. What i need to know is once i buy a template n upload my images into it n publish the site, is it possible to change those images keeping the same template? If yes,how? since its an online store i need to keep changing the images! pls do reply asap.
    Thanks.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      You cannot buy and upload templates in Wix. Check out the free plan and you see how it works.

  • Mason

    How do you make it to where other users of the site can edit their information only ? like how we edit our facebooks and etc.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Sorry, I don’t understand the question. Could you give us more details, please.

  • Nana Yaw Asare

    Hi Admin,
    i have linked my wix account to godaddy domain, how do i get rid of the wix.com and use my own domain purchased from godaddy?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Nana, you can manage your domain settings under “Manage Domain” (see screenshot). There you can check if it’s connected in the correct way.

  • Shurik Kabakov

    If I use your website builder, can i make a page with my own request form?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! This is not our website builder. We’ve just tested Wix. Yes, you can do this. Check it out in the free plan.

  • Krishna Kumar A

    Hi Armin. thanks for the review. is it possible to view the html code of the page i created using a free template on wix or any other website builders for that matter?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Open the website and and press the keyboard combination Ctrl+U. Thus, you see the source code. However, you cannot create your own template in Wix. You can just adapt an existing design with their editor.

  • AverageJoe

    Hi there, Wix looks impressive. But I have a question before investing loads of time with it. How well does it work for people looking for an eCommerce solution with hundreds, if not thousands of item listings. For example I sell clothes, and have over a thousand items I’d like to post. I had used Magento last year, but it wasn’t the quickest method. I’m rather clueless to be honest. Looking for professional insight. :) Thanks!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      The Wix website builder is great for building a portfolio website, but I wouldn’t recommend it for building an online store. In your case I’d look for an online store that allows you to import your product information to save a lot of time. Both Shopify and Weebly are very good. Check them out in our e-commerce overview.

      • Syed

        hi Amin I was a bit curious that why you feel like wix is not very good solution for online store setup ?
        regards.

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          Hi Syed, it’s not very flexible: no import/export for orders and products, little options for variants of products, no customization of confirmation mails, etc. However, it can be OK for a little online store with few products.

  • young adult

    hello Armin, thank you for the review on wix. how well does wix work for uploading users creating profiles, uploading images/video as well as getting votes? i want to create somewhat like a competition website where users can upload entries and those entries can be voted for.
    secondly, what is your opinion on wix’s link with social sites like facebook, twitter etc.

  • astro

    Quick question. I have a current group website (.com domain) that is in desperate need of updates. With this, is it possible to save the web design and upload it to a current URL or website that you already own?

    I’m sorry if this seems like a basic question, but I really need a low cost web design package to update my group’s website. If this doesn’t work, do you know any other places?

    Thanks!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Wix allows you to create a website online with its own editor. Check it out in the free version. The paid plans allow you to move or point your domain to Wix. You find more details in the review table with the criterias. See “Your own domain name (e.g. .com or .net)”.

  • John Doe

    Hi,

    I have a Wix free site, and some people are saying that there are vulgar pop-up ads. I have never seen a pop up ad when visiting the site myself. Does Wix sell advertisements or the only ads on the wix free site the “Create a free site at wix.com” ad?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      No, Wix doesn’t show any vulgar pop-up ads. However, the meaning of Wix can be misunderstood in German-speaking countries. ;-)

    • Mark

      There is free version and a pay version – the free version is supported by the advertising – there is A LOT not to like about them but that is fair in my books.

  • http://www.lovelyinla.tumblr.com/ Lovely in LA

    I gave wix a try and it was the worst mistake I’ve ever made. As a blogger they simply did not have the tools to support even basic blogging needs. It took years to even have the ability to post multiple photos per one post, my page loaded slowly and would cutoff about halfway through. In a nutshell not aesthetically pleasing or conducive to doing business. When I’d finally had enough of this abusive relationship and decided to transfer my domaine, to add insult to injury it took them days! I frankly cannot recommend them for anything and will not be running any of my other sites through them either. Do yourself a favor and stay far far away!!!!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Wix is great for portfolio that have a visual focus. Their blog tool is really not their strength. That’s why we gave them only 1,5/5 stars. Much better alternatives for blogging are Squarespace and, of course, WordPress.

  • eai meya

    hi I have question about the content, actually I want to make site and its actually Photoshop scraps site so the content will be an exclusive, it that a problem
    I am asking about wix and advertising in my website and Google AdSence also

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      If I understand you right you want to offer your content only for certain visitors. You could protect your website with a password. Wix also has a Google AdSense app.

  • Bob Van Lente

    Does Wix backup customers’ files?

  • Kehl Christopher

    I currently have over 7 websites (premium package) with WIX I have been developing one of my main sites for over a year (www.vonbaronmotorcycles.com) and have placed a ton of products online and created a online store. Out of nowhere my products in my store vanished! I have been trying to get it resolved with WIX for over the last 48 Hours and they treat me like I am stupid or something, telling to insert the products into my pages. Really? Is that what I was supposed to do….!! I already did that that is how I had customers order from me… Over 11 pages of my website are missing my product information. They will not even pick up the phone and contact me to solve this issue. They keep responding with reply to this “thread” and their thread does not even work. I sent them screenshots of all my pages and even my last product sale and they still send me ridiculous responses, like please insert your products on each page..I already know how to do this, this is why I am calling and emailing asking where the heck all my products are!! There non compliance has interrupted my business and has caused me to lose sales as I am doing a large sale right now. This company is delusional with their customer service and my tickets were responded by many not just one. In my opinion if you rely on WIX as a web platform you would expect that the web page remains operational at all times. I find this company unprofessional and their business practices unacceptable!!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Christopher! Have you got an update from Wix’ support? If you want we can try to follow this up. Btw, Wix has a “backup” function. Hopefully, this will help to avoid losing content in the future.

  • Mark

    Wix has some qualities but I could never give it 5 stars – 3 perhaps on a good day – I am both a developer and client (for the moment). Firstly, their customer service is terrible – just pat answers, no real solutions, and thats about it. And I am tired of hearing ‘Wix cant do that. it is laden with limitations that are no excuse for a platform of that magnitude. Now I use it for fast mock ups and will move my sites elsewhere this winter.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Mark,
      Thank you for your feedback. Wix is an easy drag ‘n drop editor. It’s great for portfolio websites – nothing fancy. But I like your idea of using it as a mock up tool. :-)

  • Alison

    I used WIX because my developer knew it. I’d give it a 3 out of 5. Some of the Apps are not as “robust” as the real thing (Etsy app is mediocre). The font looks amateurish on old browsers. Not bad for a first start. But I think I’ll move on in a year, I’m a photographer so the look is critical.

  • Design Genesis

    A lot like what I’ve seen others say – poor customer service for an expensive drag and drop template builder.

    I couldn’t even get through a conversation with their customer care. Don’t bother. There are no real solutions, just filler. The superviser didn’t listen to a word that I said, kept interrupting me telling to listen to his scripted protocol, and offered nothing but a “sorry you feel that way”. For the price of this builder, I expected them to treat the consumers better. I even said to them, “Your company’s opportunity to grow is in its customer care.” and was responded with, “I think we have great customer service. There is no opportunity if you would just listen.”

    …really?

    This website builder worked for a year, but that’s because I paid for a year and there are no refunds! In paying for this year, I received continuous billing problems with services that were offered as a package, but apparently were billed separately. To cancel a subscription, be sure to cancel everything else because WIX will continuously charge you for services that you don’t even use… or as Chase told me, “But it’s not OUR policy. It’s a separate company- I mean organization… There’s nothing we can do about that.”

    Than why are you offering it as YOUR service? There is something you can do Chase. There really is… Assume responsibility for the products and services you and your company offer, and assume responsibility for a poor billing policy. Don’t give a hollow, blanket response. Don’t be pushy with with a scripted response. Don’t insult your consumers. [It puts doubt in your consumers brain and makes them NOT want to recommend your services to others and have everyone know about your not so awesome customer care.]

    There are better builders out there that give a free domain name with there packages, and the packages are cheaper… Think I’ll stick to them.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Thank you for your feedback! What service is still charging money? Maybe an app you purchased through Wix’s App Store?

  • Jaz-Do

    Hello Armin.. I have a basic question for you. I built a website using Wix with the intentions of turning it into a online store but never published it..this was before they had problems with being hacked into but anyhow if I go back and edit the site to just utilize the free site as a viewer for my art portfolio can I add links to another current website that I have on the Wix free site or not ?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Jaz-Do, I am not aware of any hacking attack on Wix. To answer your question, yes, of course you can add links to any website you want (as long as it’s nothing illegal).

  • beautybar

    Hello, I got a website on wix, not very happy with it at the moment as it seems to lower the quality of pictures in the galleries. I am in beauty industry and look of my website is quite important. Is there anything I can do to change it? I tried pictures of 6000×4000 resolution as well as 1200×900 and tehy all look awful once you see the site live. The pictures of even smaller resolution, the same thing. On the mobile website, I can hardly recognise what’s on the photos…Tried to contact wix support but they are not very helpful and I don’t want to be stuck with bad photos on the page for a year as it puts off potential customers. Also regarding emails, there are some days when they are not being delivered at all to my wix business email.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Pictures with a resolution of 6000×4000 pixels are too big. Such sizes are interesting for printing, but not for monitors. A visitor with a slow connection, especially with a mobile phone, would need an eternity to see anything. Therefore, Wix compresses your pictures when you upload them. You should reduce the size of your pictures before you upload them to Wix. Another useful tool to optimize your pictures is smush.it. I hope this will help.

      • beautybar

        Thank you for prompt reply. I did resize them to smaller 1200×900 and even smaller than that but the problem is still there. My logo is 400×200 – very small, and looks horribly not sharp…What size do they need to be to look smart and not ”dated”?

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          Hi! I’m not a photographer, but I checked your website and I don’t see any pixelation, blurriness, etc. problems. Wix is not the problem.

  • Larry

    I assume that once you get your website set up there is a hosting fee or some fees of some kind. Sorry I haven’t found that free lunch yet. I’m intrigued but want to know what to expect in the way of fees once set up and running.. or are there ads on my site etc. ?

  • Annoyed

    I’m using wix for 2 separate websites and sometimes the sites are easy access and completely fine while sometimes when people try to pull up my site it says “sorry something went wrong”. Its very embarassing and can cause clients to turn away if unable to pull up your site. Currently Wix may be experiencing technical difficulties – again- as neither of my sites are displaying any pictures.. And I need to upload recent pics on one of my sites. :/

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi, can you maybe post the link to your website(s) so we can check if we get the same issues? You can also send them through our contact form if you prefer.

  • Rina

    I can’t seem to get on wix..I started a web site but the program no longer even let’s me on site..I am trying to upload pics.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Sorry to hear about your problem. Have you tried another browser? Have you contacted the Wix support?

  • Magdalena

    Hi, we´ve got Premium plan an still there is Wix publicity when integrating Pinterest or Instagram. WHY?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Magdalena! To be honest, I don’t know. Please contact the Wix support.

  • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

    Hi! It’s true what Wix said. Your website is online, but not in the Google index. Wix has no influence on that process. Here you find more information. In our “Tutorial” section you find more information about SEO

  • Wickedambassador

    I’ve used the company since 2006, their reps have always been in need of English 101, they do not communicate well with their customers, and their attitude reminds me of the scene from the Transformers when the guys were being bombed and the Indian rep foolishly says “Sir, do not get an attitude with me.” Have an urgent need of support, forget it, you will have to email back and forth sometimes 5-10 times and then I just give up. Wix also lost my longevity as a customer and they tell me I’ve been a customer since 2010. The techies at wix learn and copy from their customers, check your website statistics with each “Save” and “Publish” that you do for your wix site. Someone in NYC and Ashburn, VA, always views what I’ve edited immediately after clicking “Publish” So they are in fact stealing design layouts, and ideas from their paying customers. The majority of their staff is Israeli, and again they do not comprehend well when you have a support issue, and their getting too expensive, other than being NSA like, their editor is excellent, BUT they have become excellent NOT on their own but by the genius design inspirations of their customers :)

  • kbb23

    I really liked the whole design/creation part of the experience but it’s been ruined by my feeling of being scammed by losing in their up-selling methods and my site loads SO incredibly slow. Buying the domain package and then upgrading at their suggestion to a more inclusive package, proved to be counter productive with regard to buying a package deal. I got completely screwed. I paid $28 for a 2-year domain subscription. 5 days later I “upgraded” to a $150 package that had vouchers, etc., and also included a 1-year domain subscription. Well, because I had already purchased the 2 year subscription, the 1-year domain subscription part of the “package” was null and void. After waiting 10 hours for someone to call me back, the best they would do was give me a 1 MONTH extension towards my domain subscription. In my world of math, I paid for 3 years of domain hosting! I figured that if a company kept trying to up sell you as you’re in process of working with them, they’d keep making it worth your while to broaden your package. Not the case. I’m not a review writer and have so little time available to be doing such, but I am so aggravated and disgusted by the whole experience, I needed to warn others. Do not get tangled up with this web designer, they suck.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Kristen! Sorry to hear about your issue. What’s the name of your website? We can contact the Wix support on your behalf and see what we can do.

  • Dave

    Thanks for the great review. I want to create a site with a member sign-in, and I see Wix has a Members app to do this easily. However I’m pretty sure that some members are going to be concerned about privacy. Does Wix collect, market or sell to people who would sign up as members to my site?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Dave! To be honest, I’ve never heard of such a case. Btw, Weebly introduced memberships yesterday. So far, it’s the most sophisticated membership feature of a website builder that we’ve tested. You find more information about Weebly in our review.

  • Guest

    I very much like what Wix offers in their website builder – especially the ability to design from scratch rather than just having rigid templates. My main concern is that in many searches I have read that Wix HTML5 based websites are not fully compatible with versions earlier than IE9 or computers using Windows XP … is this still the case? If so what are the problems that would be encountered? Thank you.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Wix templates look fancy and therefore they need modern techniques like HTML 5 and CSS 3. Older browser can’t cope with it. However, Wix has improved the compatibility with older browsers, but you shouldn’t worry to much about users with outdated browsers or operating systems. The number gets smaller every day and they can always switch to Chrome or Firefox.

  • Avano Berlino Osilla

    In WordPress, we use ‘…com/wp-contents/uploads’ to see the content of the site. So, how about WIX..?
    Thnk you.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Unlike WordPress, Wix has no FTP function that allows you to upload your content to a special folder. You can upload pictures to an image folder or docs to an document folder through the browser.

  • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

    Quick update on Pinterest. Wix now allows you to verify your website with Pinterest and to add a Pinterest follow button. For more details, check this tutorial: http://www.wix.com/support/main/html5/wix-editor/social-facebook-twitter-google1-and-more/social-bar/pinterest-follow?utm_campaign=af_cms-testlabor.de&experiment_id=af_cms-testlabor.de/
    I hope this helps!