Wix.com Review – The Flexible Website Builder

The Wix website builder has become incredibly well known over the last few years, in part due to budget busting-marketing efforts like the #ItsThatEasy Super Bowl XLIX campaign. Today Wix is one of the biggest players in the website builder landscape and hosts a whopping 70 million websites.

The visually impressive layouts are designed for small businesses, restaurants, online stores and artists such as musicians and photographers. They are optimized for mobile devices and can be spiced up with one of the numerous apps available from the Wix App Market.

Wix is available for free for as long as you want, but if you require professional features like your own domain name or priority support, you can choose from one of their five premium plans ranging from “Connect Domain” to “VIP (only US)”.

Does their success really reflect the quality of their website builder? Let’s find out in detail what makes Wix so special.

See it in action here

info Wix offers a free plan. Sign up for it here (link will open in a new window)

prosDesigns: the most remarkable thing about Wix is its templates. The designs are exceptional and offer pre-built layouts for many different industries.
wix designs

It’s extremely flexible: whereas other website builder limit the extent to which elements can be moved around, Wix allows your to finish your work off “pixel perfect”.

wix flexibility

Adding animations: Wix is one of the few site builders that let you animate text and other elements. But make sure not to overdo it!

wix flexibility

App Market: There are hundreds of third party apps that you can add to your website. There is a newsletter tool, live chat software, online booking widgets, etc. All of those can be easily integrated into your Wix website. But keep in mind: most of them are third party apps—if they get shut down you can’t complain to Wix.

wix app market

consPricing: the cheapest ad-free plan with Wix is called Combo, which starts at $8.25 per month (compare Wix’s premium plans). The competition offers cheaper options: Weebly’s cheapest plan without any advertising starts at around $4, for example.

Templates can’t be changed: once you’ve chosen your initial template, you are locked in with it. You can certainly change the design within the template, but you cannot pick an entirely new one.

No access to the source code: unlike a few of their competitors, Wix doesn’t let you edit the HTML or CSS of your website. For most, this won’t really be a big issue. If you only want to add certain HTML widgets to your pages, that’s not a problem as you can see in the video:

wix html

Too much flexibility (for some): while it’s great that the Wix editor is really flexible, it can also be overwhelming for some people. Wix feels very much like editing a PowerPoint slide.

Wix in Detail

Criterion Rating Comment
Ease of use
The editor is very easy to understand. If you are stuck, the FAQ section will help. Short introductory videos give instructions on the different functions.
Choice and flexibility of design (templates)
The designs look great and make a professional impression that also look good on mobile devices. You can also embed videos in the background—unfortunately not your own (yet).
Advertisement-free yes Ad-free only from the premium plan “Combo”. The free version and the Connect Domain plan show some pretty visible Wix-ads.
Languages
The editor supports nine languages. Multilingual sites are generally possible. More info can be found in their support pages using the search term “multilingual websites”.
Your own domain name (e.g. .com or .net) yes Free domain name for one year included from the premium plan “Combo” only. Wix supports these and other domain endings: .com, .org, .net, .co.uk and .info. Using the “Connect Domain” package (and higher) it is possible to move your existing domain to Wix or point it from another domain registrar to Wix. For more information search for "domains" on their support pages.
Depth of navigation
A maximum of two levels are possible. A third level would be desirable.
Widgets (small tools to add extra functionality)
Comprehensive app store to embed excellent image galleries, videos (YouTube), Facebook, etc. External applications can be integrated easily via the apps.
Monetization yes You can integrate Google Adsense via their App store. Another possibility is banner ads and affiliate links.
E-Commerce
An online store is included in the “eCommerce” package. You can also test the function in the other plans. Read our detailed review of the Wix Online Store here.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Page titles, meta descriptions, and alt tags can be added individually. Less ideal are the cryptic URL names.
Blog
The blog is quite basic and not SEO-friendly. You can’t modify the URL, title or description. Visitors with a Facebook account can leave comments. It's possible to schedule blog posts.
Visitor statistics
In order to access statistics, Google Analytics must be integrated in advance.
Contact form yes There is a simple contact form builder.
Password protection yes Exemplary! Pages can be allocated an individual password, or users can be set up and managed with their own login.
Newsletter tool yes Wix offers an application called "ShoutOut" that allows you to send newsletters from your account. There are also app integrations with other email marketing services (e.g. CakeMail).
Add HTML code yes Embed various widgets and other tools by means of an integrated app.
Storage space 500 MB+ 500 MB - 20 GB. Please note that there is also a monthly bandwidth limit in most plans (only relevant for very large websites).
Forum yes Can be embedded via app.
Support yes Support center, forum, phone. The documentation is very detailed and clearly explained. If you get stuck, you can submit your question to the forum. Answers are usually prompt.
Fun Factor
Starting up is very playful and, initially, impressive results are achieved quickly. Wix gives you a lot of freedom in the design process.
Overall Rating
4.2/5
Smart website builder with optical delights. Easy to use and as flexible as it can get. It's the perfect website builder for photographers, bands, artists and any kind of portfolio site. Try it for free.

Conclusion

Wix’s selection of highly modern layouts and impressive animations made a particularly good impression on us. The App Market is a very useful tool which makes the implementation of additional features such as photo and slider galleries into your website as easy as adding an app to your smartphone.

There is no doubt that the templates look very attractive, but they also come with some very basic flaws. If you want a good looking website on your mobile device, you need to arrange your elements manually.

Another shortcoming is that you cannot change your template once you have  made your initial choice. Other website builders need only a few clicks to swap one template for another. That’s the price for Wix’s great flexibility of the editor.

Using Wix has a completely different feel than, for instance, Jimdo or Weebly—whether or not this is a good thing depends on your personal preferences. Wix offers much more creative freedom, but in turn requires you to pay more attention to detail. You will be likely to accidentally move objects or re-arrange your website if you’re not careful.

Wix is particularly good for impressive presentation scenarios. Artists, bands, photographers and other creative users will be very happy with Wix if they want a great platform on which to present themselves with style.

As mentioned before, Wix also allows you to sell your goods on your website, but if you are considering running an eCommerce shop, we encourage you to read our Wix Online Shop review first.

Wix has created a product that certainly is impressive in many ways, but you should be aware that it comes with a few minor flaws.

> Test Wix for free and without risk!

Wix Example Sites

A little side-note: HTML5-Websitebuilder.com is our own Wix demo website and ranks surprisingly well in Google for a pretty competitive keyword: “html5 website builder”. Usually it’s on the first page of the search results. So don’t believe those who say that you can’t rank a Wix website on search engines!

User Opinions about Wix

( 4 ) 3 Reviews
5
1
4
1
3
1
2
0
1
0
Wix made it easy to upgrade our company website.
Bob
Apps don't work as they are supposed to
Georgeta Tudor
Very user friendly & efficient for a small business owner
Penny

Alternatives to Wix

Weebly
See review
One.com
See review

A few comments:

Weebly
is a great Wix alternative as it’s extremely intuitive and easy to use. Its templates are not quite as stylish (or as numerous) as Wix’s. You have the option to work with different editor accounts on your website, which is great for teams. There are some very advanced features like a membership area and an online store, which feels more mature compared to Wix.

Jimdo is similar to Weebly and offers a nice all in one bundle—you have a domain name, email address(es) and the website builder all in one package. Although Jimdo has revamped its designs, Wix’s templates are currently second to none. Worth a try if you don’t like Wix’s web editor concept.

We picked the One.com Web Editor as an alternative as the website editor is quite similar to the one of Wix. Not nearly as sophisticated, but a viable alternative for smaller websites. Their prices can be as low as $40 per year including domain name and email accounts.

FAQ about Wix

How do I use a domain name that I already own?

After logging into your Wix Account you will see the “Domains” menu. Here you can simple enter the domain name that you want to use. If you have already registered the domain name they will show you how you can transfer it or point it to Wix (see screenshot). Simply click here and search for “transfer domain”.

Does the "Connect Domain" plan really show ads?

Yes, it does. For an example, you can check our demo site www.html5-websitebuilder.com.

Do I need my own web space to use Wix?

No, Wix is a hosted website builder. What that means is that by signing up they will provide everything you need for a complete website: the editor, the web space and a domain name. For a proper .com or .net domain you will have to purchase one of their premium plans.

If I use Wix to build my website, will they own my content?

No, Wix will not become the owner of your content. Here is what their terms of service say: “Wix does not claim any intellectual property rights over the User Content[…]” (TOS: 15. User Content D.)

The same applies if you purchase a domain name through them. They will never own it and you are free to transfer it to another domain registrar.

Does Wix run both on PC and Mac?

Wix runs in your web browser (Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Microsoft Edge), it doesn’t matter if you are using a Mac or PC. Just make sure your browser is up to date!

Techie Stuff (Mainly for Geeks)


Wix Uptime

Uptime Report for Wix Demo Website: Last 30 days

This widget shows the so-called “uptime” of our Wix demo website within the last month. When a website goes down, it means that no one is able to access it. The closer the uptime is to 100%, the better it is. Anything less than 99.90% is considered relatively poor. “Outages” shows how many times it went blank and “Downtime” gives you the total amount of time it was down within the last month.


Wix Server Response Time

Uptime Report for Wix Demo Website: Last 30 days

Here you can see the number of milliseconds it takes to get a response from Wix’s servers. A value in between 200-500ms is relatively good: more than 800ms can feel slow to the website visitor. Wix’s servers are located in the USA, which means that loading times are fastest there. All of these numbers are updated in real-time.

Wix Page Speed

WixDesktopMobileUser Experience (mobile)
Template 1746796
Template 2897496
Template 3827296
Average Rating81.677196

Loading speed has become an increasingly important ranking factor for Google. That’s why we selected three random Wix templates and tested them for their page speed using Google PageSpeed Insights. Anything below 70 is relatively poor, a rating of above 80 is considered as good. The maximum is 100 points.

Review Updates

02 Sept 2015 – Wix introduced a multilingual app – new rating 4 stars
13 Aug 2015 – Video backgrounds and improved online store lead to a slightly higher rating.
04 Aug 2015 – Pros and cons added as well as server tests
30 Jan 2015 – General review update
13 Oct 2014 – New rating for blog, before 1,5
27 Aug 2014 – New rating for designs, now 4.5 stars
17 Jul 2014 – Wix introduced its own Newsletter tool “ShoutOut”.
30 Jan 2014 – H1 tags can be added.
09 Jan 2014 – More detailed information about domain names.
10 Dec 2013 – Review of the blog feature added.
24 Sep 2013 – More storage space.
19 Jul 2013 – Supports Google Adsense now.
08 Apr 2013 – Review of Wix’s new HTML builder. The review for the old Flash-based model can be found here.
14 Mar 2012 – Password protection information added
11 Apr 2012 – Initial review of Wix’ HTML5 website builder
22 Nov 2011 – We have tested Wix’ server performance.
07 Nov 2011 – Wix adds a blog module
20 Jul 2011 – Website builder for mobile websites reviewed reviewed, new eCommerce features added
17 Mar 2011 – General update
12 Jan 2011 – General update: support has not been reviewed this time.

Last updated: 02 Sep 2015 | Armin Pinggera

Your opinion and user reviews:

 
  • Trent Watford

    Thanks for your reviews, I had been using Google Sites and was looking for something easier. I tried Wix and have found it very easy to use without having to read tutorials. After I found your site I thought I should try to use Jimdo based on your reviews. But I have not found it nearly as easy as WIX. I am building a site for a small business, I am concerned about what you said about the SEO for WIX how big of a problem are the things you mentioned?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Thank you very much for your feedback! Indeed, after a long time Wix has finally introduced all headline tags. We’ve deleted that wrong information in our review. Hopefully, they’re also fixing the cryptic URL-structure soon.
      A clean URL structure is always better, but at least Wix shows the navigation title in the URL. SEO is such a vast field. A perfect URL structure may be important in an extremely competitive market, but is never the only reason for a bad ranking. Much more important is good and relevant content. Google will register it, even with a non-perfect URL structure.
      I hope this helps!

      • Trent Watford

        Thanks for your response, I did ask them about the cryptic URL structure, they said something about having other code that would help Google crawl the site.

  • Patrick

    Wix has terrible web site loading performance. They seem to think that 5- 7s to load a page is acceptable. Sometimes customer web pages don’t load completely. Over 1k complaints on their support site stating that it is taking too long! Be careful with them as they don’t have a solution.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Patrick. If you believe it or not, Wix has already improved its website performance. For instance, they use compressed JavaScript-Files, etc. Most of the time, blocking (big) images, JavaScript, many http requests, etc. are the problem. But that’s very technical and only hard to achieve with a website builder that must be easy to use.

  • Dane

    I’m a premium paying customer and in a like/hate relationship with WIX, but there’s little alternative. Over and above the fact that WIX doesn’t provide an option for anchor tags to be used and their bug turnaround times are not desirable, I’m extremely frustrated with WIX due to a ‘recent’ (Oct 2013) bug that crept in where Safari browsers have an issue with wix website navigations. On initially loading the page, intermittently the navigation links won’t work, unless the page is refreshed. It’s March 2014, and wix customers with Safari clients now have basically dormant websites and high bounce rates, with very little idea of when this will be resolved. 5months later…

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Dane, thank you for your feedback! Wix is a bit more restrictive than most other website builders when it comes to HTML editing, that’s why anchor links are not possible.
      I just tried a couple of Wix websites in Safari and didn’t have any problems. Could you post the URL you are having issues with?

      • Dane

        I posted a reply, but it seems missing now. might have needed to be reviewed by a mod (you) before it would be visible I think. I can reply again. let me know. :-)

      • Dane

        I’m currently trialing out squarespace, which looks to be quite an exciting alternative

        • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

          Now I experienced the problem as well. The links in the navigation just wouldn’t work without a page reload. Squarespace is a decent site builder, would be great to hear what you think of it and whether you agree with our review: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/reviews/squarespace-review/

    • Dane

      http://www.wix.com/support/forum/html5/error-messages-and-known-bugs/live-website-errors/261113-known-issue-menu-on-saf

      Here’s the link to the main issue I mentioned. The “Best Reply” only recently got edited to state that they “may have a fix” and for users to test. but now this has led to a new issue of only headers and footers being displayed without any main body content PLUS a much slower page loading time.

      I’m officially on the lookout for a new builder for my site: http://www.newzealandstuntschool.com

      I wonder if weebly can do it…

  • Kate

    I’m a Wix premium customer. There are a lot of advantages that why I chose Wix, but the main problem is pretty bad mobile version that you get and you don’t have a lot of flexibility in editing it.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Kate, what don’t you like about it? It used to be very limited but now you can specifically adapt it by hiding pages and changing font styles. Also, changes that you carry out on the desktop version are now being carried over automatically, which is a lot more convenient than before.

  • Inexperienced User

    Hi everyone. I am currently trying to build my first website for a small business. As you can imagine having no experience at all, I went for wix as the easy option. I must say it is a bit of “love and hate” relationship at the moment. And also as I was reading up on it, it turned out it is not as great as I thought. I was wondering before I continue putting work into it, would anyone be lovely enough to suggest an alternative which can be used by inexperienced people like me, who can compensate lack of skill with patience. Thank you!

  • Richard

    I’ve successfully built several sites with very impressive results. I highly recommend Wix for beginners and the html-clueless, of which I am both. See…

    http://www.raconine.com

    In answer to the author, there certainly is a method for switching templates. Build a separate free template to your specs. Then simply reassign your domain to the new template. It takes 5 minutes to make the move. Clear instructions are here…

    http://www.wix.com/support/main/html5/premium-plans/managing-your-premium-plans#Transferring+Your+Plan+to+Another+Site

    Your old template will still live on your site management menu, but it will no longer have an assigned domain.

    I hope this helps.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Richard,

      Thank you for your comment. The problem with your method is that you will lose all your content. A template/design switch shouldn’t affect your content. Imagine you’ve created a website with a lot of content including an online shop that offers many products. You would have to start from scratch.

  • jimmy

    I just created a blog.. And it’s not easy to navigate through blogs or manage them. Maybe it’s just new to me..

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Jimmy, as you can see in our table, we don’t recommend Wix for blogs as it is no typical blog. If you really need a good blog, you should check out Squarespace in our review. Of course, WordPress is always an option for blogs, but much more complicated to set up and maintain.

  • Educate2Day

    Is there a subscriber option with premium accounts?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi, do you want to create a subscriber list so that you can send subcribers more information via email/newsletter in the future?

      • Educate2Day

        Yes, for future use.

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          You can incorporate a signup form e.g. with Mail Chimp in any plan or website for free. Go to the Mail Chimp website and search for signup form. They explain in a video how it works.

  • http://nmnmcis.com Max

    Hi

    I set up a website with WIX and am quite happy with it. I am fairly new at this and am facing the following problem:

    I receive emails when they are sent through my website, using the
    contact form BUT I do not receive them when people use the actual
    contact address (info@nmnmcis.com) without going through the website.

    What can I do/should I know to fix this problem ?

    Thank you, regards

    Max

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Max,

      I’ve just sent you an email. I haven’t received an error message. Have you checked your spam folder? If you shouldn’t have received it, please contact the Wix support. This is all we can do for you here.

  • Ann Wood

    I spent just published my site with wix and noticed that the images on my mobile device basically suck. That are pixelated and fuzzy. I called the tech support with no suggess. My images look great on other platforms like blogger and squarespace. Does anyone know why this is? Any input would be appreciated.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Have you tested it on another mobile phone? I checked several Wix websites on my mobile phone and the picture quality was absolutely fine.

  • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

    Hi Camila,
    No, you don’t need any programming skills to build or maintain the website. The benefit of Wix is that the designs looks modern. Other website builders also offer mobile devices support. Yes, the “blog” is bad. See the explanation in the table. Squarespace has a very good blog.

  • sreejith

    HI,
    Im planning to start an online store with wix. What i need to know is once i buy a template n upload my images into it n publish the site, is it possible to change those images keeping the same template? If yes,how? since its an online store i need to keep changing the images! pls do reply asap.
    Thanks.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      You cannot buy and upload templates in Wix. Check out the free plan and you see how it works.

  • Mason

    How do you make it to where other users of the site can edit their information only ? like how we edit our facebooks and etc.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Sorry, I don’t understand the question. Could you give us more details, please.

  • Nana Yaw Asare

    Hi Admin,
    i have linked my wix account to godaddy domain, how do i get rid of the wix.com and use my own domain purchased from godaddy?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Nana, you can manage your domain settings under “Manage Domain” (see screenshot). There you can check if it’s connected in the correct way.

  • Shurik Kabakov

    If I use your website builder, can i make a page with my own request form?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! This is not our website builder. We’ve just tested Wix. Yes, you can do this. Check it out in the free plan.

  • Krishna Kumar A

    Hi Armin. thanks for the review. is it possible to view the html code of the page i created using a free template on wix or any other website builders for that matter?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Open the website and and press the keyboard combination Ctrl+U. Thus, you see the source code. However, you cannot create your own template in Wix. You can just adapt an existing design with their editor.

  • AverageJoe

    Hi there, Wix looks impressive. But I have a question before investing loads of time with it. How well does it work for people looking for an eCommerce solution with hundreds, if not thousands of item listings. For example I sell clothes, and have over a thousand items I’d like to post. I had used Magento last year, but it wasn’t the quickest method. I’m rather clueless to be honest. Looking for professional insight. :) Thanks!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      The Wix website builder is great for building a portfolio website, but I wouldn’t recommend it for building an online store. In your case I’d look for an online store that allows you to import your product information to save a lot of time. Both Shopify and Weebly are very good. Check them out in our e-commerce overview.

      • Syed

        hi Amin I was a bit curious that why you feel like wix is not very good solution for online store setup ?
        regards.

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          Hi Syed, it’s not very flexible: no import/export for orders and products, little options for variants of products, no customization of confirmation mails, etc. However, it can be OK for a little online store with few products.

  • young adult

    hello Armin, thank you for the review on wix. how well does wix work for uploading users creating profiles, uploading images/video as well as getting votes? i want to create somewhat like a competition website where users can upload entries and those entries can be voted for.
    secondly, what is your opinion on wix’s link with social sites like facebook, twitter etc.

  • astro

    Quick question. I have a current group website (.com domain) that is in desperate need of updates. With this, is it possible to save the web design and upload it to a current URL or website that you already own?

    I’m sorry if this seems like a basic question, but I really need a low cost web design package to update my group’s website. If this doesn’t work, do you know any other places?

    Thanks!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Wix allows you to create a website online with its own editor. Check it out in the free version. The paid plans allow you to move or point your domain to Wix. You find more details in the review table with the criterias. See “Your own domain name (e.g. .com or .net)”.

  • John Doe

    Hi,

    I have a Wix free site, and some people are saying that there are vulgar pop-up ads. I have never seen a pop up ad when visiting the site myself. Does Wix sell advertisements or the only ads on the wix free site the “Create a free site at wix.com” ad?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      No, Wix doesn’t show any vulgar pop-up ads. However, the meaning of Wix can be misunderstood in German-speaking countries. 😉

    • Mark

      There is free version and a pay version – the free version is supported by the advertising – there is A LOT not to like about them but that is fair in my books.

  • http://www.lovelyinla.tumblr.com/ Lovely in LA

    I gave wix a try and it was the worst mistake I’ve ever made. As a blogger they simply did not have the tools to support even basic blogging needs. It took years to even have the ability to post multiple photos per one post, my page loaded slowly and would cutoff about halfway through. In a nutshell not aesthetically pleasing or conducive to doing business. When I’d finally had enough of this abusive relationship and decided to transfer my domaine, to add insult to injury it took them days! I frankly cannot recommend them for anything and will not be running any of my other sites through them either. Do yourself a favor and stay far far away!!!!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Wix is great for portfolio that have a visual focus. Their blog tool is really not their strength. That’s why we gave them only 1,5/5 stars. Much better alternatives for blogging are Squarespace and, of course, WordPress.

  • eai meya

    hi I have question about the content, actually I want to make site and its actually Photoshop scraps site so the content will be an exclusive, it that a problem
    I am asking about wix and advertising in my website and Google AdSence also

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      If I understand you right you want to offer your content only for certain visitors. You could protect your website with a password. Wix also has a Google AdSense app.

  • Bob Van Lente

    Does Wix backup customers’ files?

  • Kehl Christopher

    I currently have over 7 websites (premium package) with WIX I have been developing one of my main sites for over a year (www.vonbaronmotorcycles.com) and have placed a ton of products online and created a online store. Out of nowhere my products in my store vanished! I have been trying to get it resolved with WIX for over the last 48 Hours and they treat me like I am stupid or something, telling to insert the products into my pages. Really? Is that what I was supposed to do….!! I already did that that is how I had customers order from me… Over 11 pages of my website are missing my product information. They will not even pick up the phone and contact me to solve this issue. They keep responding with reply to this “thread” and their thread does not even work. I sent them screenshots of all my pages and even my last product sale and they still send me ridiculous responses, like please insert your products on each page..I already know how to do this, this is why I am calling and emailing asking where the heck all my products are!! There non compliance has interrupted my business and has caused me to lose sales as I am doing a large sale right now. This company is delusional with their customer service and my tickets were responded by many not just one. In my opinion if you rely on WIX as a web platform you would expect that the web page remains operational at all times. I find this company unprofessional and their business practices unacceptable!!

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Christopher! Have you got an update from Wix’ support? If you want we can try to follow this up. Btw, Wix has a “backup” function. Hopefully, this will help to avoid losing content in the future.

  • Mark

    Wix has some qualities but I could never give it 5 stars – 3 perhaps on a good day – I am both a developer and client (for the moment). Firstly, their customer service is terrible – just pat answers, no real solutions, and thats about it. And I am tired of hearing ‘Wix cant do that. it is laden with limitations that are no excuse for a platform of that magnitude. Now I use it for fast mock ups and will move my sites elsewhere this winter.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Mark,
      Thank you for your feedback. Wix is an easy drag ‘n drop editor. It’s great for portfolio websites – nothing fancy. But I like your idea of using it as a mock up tool. :-)

  • Alison

    I used WIX because my developer knew it. I’d give it a 3 out of 5. Some of the Apps are not as “robust” as the real thing (Etsy app is mediocre). The font looks amateurish on old browsers. Not bad for a first start. But I think I’ll move on in a year, I’m a photographer so the look is critical.

  • Design Genesis

    A lot like what I’ve seen others say – poor customer service for an expensive drag and drop template builder.

    I couldn’t even get through a conversation with their customer care. Don’t bother. There are no real solutions, just filler. The superviser didn’t listen to a word that I said, kept interrupting me telling to listen to his scripted protocol, and offered nothing but a “sorry you feel that way”. For the price of this builder, I expected them to treat the consumers better. I even said to them, “Your company’s opportunity to grow is in its customer care.” and was responded with, “I think we have great customer service. There is no opportunity if you would just listen.”

    …really?

    This website builder worked for a year, but that’s because I paid for a year and there are no refunds! In paying for this year, I received continuous billing problems with services that were offered as a package, but apparently were billed separately. To cancel a subscription, be sure to cancel everything else because WIX will continuously charge you for services that you don’t even use… or as Chase told me, “But it’s not OUR policy. It’s a separate company- I mean organization… There’s nothing we can do about that.”

    Than why are you offering it as YOUR service? There is something you can do Chase. There really is… Assume responsibility for the products and services you and your company offer, and assume responsibility for a poor billing policy. Don’t give a hollow, blanket response. Don’t be pushy with with a scripted response. Don’t insult your consumers. [It puts doubt in your consumers brain and makes them NOT want to recommend your services to others and have everyone know about your not so awesome customer care.]

    There are better builders out there that give a free domain name with there packages, and the packages are cheaper… Think I’ll stick to them.

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Thank you for your feedback! What service is still charging money? Maybe an app you purchased through Wix’s App Store?

  • Jaz-Do

    Hello Armin.. I have a basic question for you. I built a website using Wix with the intentions of turning it into a online store but never published it..this was before they had problems with being hacked into but anyhow if I go back and edit the site to just utilize the free site as a viewer for my art portfolio can I add links to another current website that I have on the Wix free site or not ?

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi Jaz-Do, I am not aware of any hacking attack on Wix. To answer your question, yes, of course you can add links to any website you want (as long as it’s nothing illegal).

  • beautybar

    Hello, I got a website on wix, not very happy with it at the moment as it seems to lower the quality of pictures in the galleries. I am in beauty industry and look of my website is quite important. Is there anything I can do to change it? I tried pictures of 6000×4000 resolution as well as 1200×900 and tehy all look awful once you see the site live. The pictures of even smaller resolution, the same thing. On the mobile website, I can hardly recognise what’s on the photos…Tried to contact wix support but they are not very helpful and I don’t want to be stuck with bad photos on the page for a year as it puts off potential customers. Also regarding emails, there are some days when they are not being delivered at all to my wix business email.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Pictures with a resolution of 6000×4000 pixels are too big. Such sizes are interesting for printing, but not for monitors. A visitor with a slow connection, especially with a mobile phone, would need an eternity to see anything. Therefore, Wix compresses your pictures when you upload them. You should reduce the size of your pictures before you upload them to Wix. Another useful tool to optimize your pictures is smush.it. I hope this will help.

      • beautybar

        Thank you for prompt reply. I did resize them to smaller 1200×900 and even smaller than that but the problem is still there. My logo is 400×200 – very small, and looks horribly not sharp…What size do they need to be to look smart and not ”dated”?

        • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

          Hi! I’m not a photographer, but I checked your website and I don’t see any pixelation, blurriness, etc. problems. Wix is not the problem.

  • Larry

    I assume that once you get your website set up there is a hosting fee or some fees of some kind. Sorry I haven’t found that free lunch yet. I’m intrigued but want to know what to expect in the way of fees once set up and running.. or are there ads on my site etc. ?

  • Annoyed

    I’m using wix for 2 separate websites and sometimes the sites are easy access and completely fine while sometimes when people try to pull up my site it says “sorry something went wrong”. Its very embarassing and can cause clients to turn away if unable to pull up your site. Currently Wix may be experiencing technical difficulties – again- as neither of my sites are displaying any pictures.. And I need to upload recent pics on one of my sites. :/

    • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

      Hi, can you maybe post the link to your website(s) so we can check if we get the same issues? You can also send them through our contact form if you prefer.

  • Rina

    I can’t seem to get on wix..I started a web site but the program no longer even let’s me on site..I am trying to upload pics.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Sorry to hear about your problem. Have you tried another browser? Have you contacted the Wix support?

  • Magdalena

    Hi, we´ve got Premium plan an still there is Wix publicity when integrating Pinterest or Instagram. WHY?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Magdalena! To be honest, I don’t know. Please contact the Wix support.

  • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

    Hi! It’s true what Wix said. Your website is online, but not in the Google index. Wix has no influence on that process. Here you find more information. In our “Tutorial” section you find more information about SEO

  • Wickedambassador

    I’ve used the company since 2006, their reps have always been in need of English 101, they do not communicate well with their customers, and their attitude reminds me of the scene from the Transformers when the guys were being bombed and the Indian rep foolishly says “Sir, do not get an attitude with me.” Have an urgent need of support, forget it, you will have to email back and forth sometimes 5-10 times and then I just give up. Wix also lost my longevity as a customer and they tell me I’ve been a customer since 2010. The techies at wix learn and copy from their customers, check your website statistics with each “Save” and “Publish” that you do for your wix site. Someone in NYC and Ashburn, VA, always views what I’ve edited immediately after clicking “Publish” So they are in fact stealing design layouts, and ideas from their paying customers. The majority of their staff is Israeli, and again they do not comprehend well when you have a support issue, and their getting too expensive, other than being NSA like, their editor is excellent, BUT they have become excellent NOT on their own but by the genius design inspirations of their customers :)

  • kbb23

    I really liked the whole design/creation part of the experience but it’s been ruined by my feeling of being scammed by losing in their up-selling methods and my site loads SO incredibly slow. Buying the domain package and then upgrading at their suggestion to a more inclusive package, proved to be counter productive with regard to buying a package deal. I got completely screwed. I paid $28 for a 2-year domain subscription. 5 days later I “upgraded” to a $150 package that had vouchers, etc., and also included a 1-year domain subscription. Well, because I had already purchased the 2 year subscription, the 1-year domain subscription part of the “package” was null and void. After waiting 10 hours for someone to call me back, the best they would do was give me a 1 MONTH extension towards my domain subscription. In my world of math, I paid for 3 years of domain hosting! I figured that if a company kept trying to up sell you as you’re in process of working with them, they’d keep making it worth your while to broaden your package. Not the case. I’m not a review writer and have so little time available to be doing such, but I am so aggravated and disgusted by the whole experience, I needed to warn others. Do not get tangled up with this web designer, they suck.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Kristen! Sorry to hear about your issue. What’s the name of your website? We can contact the Wix support on your behalf and see what we can do.

  • Dave

    Thanks for the great review. I want to create a site with a member sign-in, and I see Wix has a Members app to do this easily. However I’m pretty sure that some members are going to be concerned about privacy. Does Wix collect, market or sell to people who would sign up as members to my site?

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi Dave! To be honest, I’ve never heard of such a case. Btw, Weebly introduced memberships yesterday. So far, it’s the most sophisticated membership feature of a website builder that we’ve tested. You find more information about Weebly in our review.

  • Guest

    I very much like what Wix offers in their website builder – especially the ability to design from scratch rather than just having rigid templates. My main concern is that in many searches I have read that Wix HTML5 based websites are not fully compatible with versions earlier than IE9 or computers using Windows XP … is this still the case? If so what are the problems that would be encountered? Thank you.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Wix templates look fancy and therefore they need modern techniques like HTML 5 and CSS 3. Older browser can’t cope with it. However, Wix has improved the compatibility with older browsers, but you shouldn’t worry to much about users with outdated browsers or operating systems. The number gets smaller every day and they can always switch to Chrome or Firefox.

  • Avano Berlino Osilla

    In WordPress, we use ‘…com/wp-contents/uploads’ to see the content of the site. So, how about WIX..?
    Thnk you.

    • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

      Hi! Unlike WordPress, Wix has no FTP function that allows you to upload your content to a special folder. You can upload pictures to an image folder or docs to an document folder through the browser.

  • Jared Levine

    Thank you for the review. I was reading through the comments and saw the discussion about FTP. Does this mean that you can’t purchase your website outright at any point from Wix? Is that how that works? Would I need to get my website through someone like SetMySite who uses WordPress? I’ve heard really good things about them. Also, do you know if Web.com allows you to purchase the site if you like it? I’ve seen some commercials and am debating between them, Wix, Setmysite, Squarespace and some others.

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Jared, online website builders like Wix are tools that offer an intuitive and easy to use tool to create a site and hosting services (including web space). Therefore, once you’ve created a page you are set and ready to go live. You can learn more about how website builders work in this article. Although we don’t have a detailed review for Web com, we haven’t heard very good things about them (in particular for their cryptic pricing model). If your goal is to host your website on your own web space I recommend you to check out our WordPress Beginners Guide: http://websitetooltester.com/en/website-with-wordpress/

  • charly

    Hi,

    I’ve been asked to design a website and wanted to use Wix as i found it was great for my portfolio, the thing is it’s for someone who already has a .com domain and i cant seem to find the information on how to sell the site once you’ve built it? I’ve read on Wix that they are happy for people to do this but do they mean they are happy that you sell the existing domain to Wix and the person would then pay monthly or is there a way to create the site & then transfer it to the persons existing?

    Many thanks

    Charly

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Charly, I am pretty sure you can transfer the website to a new owner but the website itself will always have to be hosted on Wix’s servers. I hope this answers your question.

  • will

    Hi, I have a smoothie and juice company in New Zealand. I am looking to have build a website that will allow people to order drinks online for delivery as well as being able to educate themselves on health. I have no experience with coding. I know Wix accepts authorize.net for payments. Would this be suitable or would you recommend another builder

    • Josep Garcia

      Hello Will. Wix allows you to create really visually appealing designs. Unfortunately its online store is not the best one. I’d suggest you to check out Weebly (they also support Authorize-net) or Squarepace (here you would have to use Stripe). They are both very easy to use tools with excellent design options and great eCommerce functionalities. If you are looking for an even more professional solution, you can also take a look at Shopify.

  • http://nrwebdev.com/ Nick Rich

    Looks like images are not SEO’d with Wix. You can not copy your site out of Wix. No micro formats are used in Wix sites. Javascript is required to be enabled.

    • Josep Garcia

      Hello Nick, thanks for your message. Alt tags can be edited in Wix for regular images please see the attached screenshot. However it’s not possible for gallery images; micro formats aren’t available either. Thanks for your feedback : )

  • Josep Garcia

    Hello Jason, thanks a lot for your comment. You should be able to add as many PayPal buttons as you wish, no need to upgrade your plan. I would test it first for mobile devices to ensure all works well. Please find a tutorial to create PayPal buttons.

  • Eileen

    If I’ve build the website using the online wix tools, can I export everything out to another server as an Intranet site?

    • Josep Garcia

      Hello, no you will not be able to export it. Website builders are meant to be online apps and they are not compatible among them. Therefore, they don’t have any feature to export their content. You can learn more about how website builders work here: http://www.websitetooltester.com/en/online-website-builder/.

  • Jerry

    How Are my images protected from copying???

    • Josep Garcia

      It is difficult to protect the content one uploads to a website. However, you could use a watermark to protect your images.

  • Disappointed Wix user

    ​Well, Wix doesn’t have a courtesy to inform its customers about the fact that their information regarding premium offers are highly deceiving and faulty, for instance, that the so called free vouchers, as just one of the examples, will not at all be free for most users at all, the users are not informed about that IN ADVANCE! That was a final drop for me, I’m GOING TO END MY RELATIONSHIP WITH WIX, for I have been charged by Facebook DUE TO NOT BEING INFORMED ABOUT THAT AND I CANNOT AFFORD THE CHARGES, I WOULD HAVE PLANNED MY CAMPAIGN IN A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT WAY HAD I KNEW THAT, WORDS CANNOT EXPRESS HOW SICK AND TIRED OF WIX I AM.

  • aerialherbs

    Hi i am in the process of setting up website with the free version of wix and i have come across a hidden msg that sais my customers wont be able to complete their purchase unless i upgrade is this true? many thanks

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi, yes you will not be able to use your online store unless you upgrade to the eCommerce plan. Check out our Wix plan comparison. Alternatively, you could try Jimdo, they will let you create an online store with PayPal integration and you will be able to sell 5 products for free. Read our Jimdo analysis for more information.

  • Dr Derek Ambrose

    Why can’t I edit one of my sites, it is blocked by the other site name? This is very frustrating and so far Wix not very helpful!!!

    • Josep Garcia

      Hello, I am sorry to hear that you are having issues. For this I would encourage you to directly contact Wix Support.

  • Melinda Torrens

    I have been using Wix to build a variety of websites for years now and I love the ease and features of the platform. I have only one complaint. I am a real estate broker and would like to add an IDX feed to my Wix website but it’s sadly not available. Most will only work on WordPress sites and WordPress is just not as easy or robust as Wix. I have seen Wix add many features over the past couple of years and I am really hoping they get on board with a decent IDX feed.

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Melinda, thanks for your feedback. Yes, Wix doesn’t support IDX integration. Let’s see how Wix approaches this.

  • http://WebsiteToolTester.com/ Armin

    Hi Dominick,

    First of all your website appears in the Google index. A big issue is the way you included your picture descriptions. They are all part of the picture. This is not SEO friendly and that’s also the reason why Google AdSense has issues to read your content. However, Wix allows you to add Alt-texts and descriptions separately. There’s a lot you need to optimize if you want to achieve better results. Wix has a very detailed SEO guide that’ll help you to rank better. I advise you to follow it chapter by chapter. You won’t regret it. :-)

  • JaxBlazer

    Why does Wix charge for email address? Isn’t it just Google email which is free? When I was with Yahoo webhosting, email addresses were included. I erroneously assumed email address were part of the price. $50/year for a google email?

    • Josep Garcia

      Wix doesn’t provide a good solution for email accounts. You can sign up for Google Apps through them but it’s pricy. Another alternative is to purchase the domain name through a third party (e.g. Namecheap) and get your email accounts from there.

    • http://www.mikemaleri.se Conrad

      google mail to your domain is not free

      • JaxBlazer

        Yeah i get that. The point is that if regular gmail is free why is Gmail for Work $60/year for ONE email address to your domain?!

        • Josep Garcia

          GoogleApps is a professional solution that allows you to send emails under your own domain name and set up email accounts for your employees. It is really convenient for team work. But if you only need a professional email account, there are better alternatives such as Namecheap or 1&1.

        • danica_stone

          It seems like you think that Wix is overcharging you here. But actually, that’s what gmail charges. If you set it up for an email address at your own domain, it’s $5 per month — $60 per year — regardless of whether you’re using Wix or not.

          • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

            Hi Danica! You are right about the fact that it’s not Wix charging this fee. But there are other website builders that include email addresses in the premium packages such as Jimdo for example. Also, if you purchase your domain name through a registrar like Namecheap and connect it to your Wix website you can have email addresses a lot cheaper.

  • Josep Garcia

    Your site shows in the Google index, this means Google knows about it (good news). Search engines look for relevant unique content, they can’t either read text included in images. I’d suggest you to include more text based content and add unique ALT descriptions for each image. Wix has a very detailed SEO guide that’ll help you to rank better. I advise you to follow it chapter by chapter. Good luck : )

    • California Delta Maps

      If you read my comment again, I’m not having a problem with google, it’s bing and yahoo that my website has dropped off of. It was the first listing in the mud first page of every other search engine except google. Now it’s gone, disappeared.

      • Josep Garcia

        Hello, Your site is indexed also in Bing, Yahoo and I even checked DuckDuckGo. As I mentioned in my previous comment you can do a lot of on-page optimisation to improve your ranking (define unique Alt text, replace text in images for normal text, focus each page on relevant keywords and generate more content). Once you finished all that, I would suggest to start with the off-page SEO optimisation (link building, social media, etc). You can find more information in my previous comment.

        • California Delta Maps

          Without changing anything on our website, we are back on the first page of every search engine. Hmmmmmmmm

  • http://www.mikemaleri.se Conrad

    i use wix and google displays my page maybe your just doin something wrong

  • Madison Zwiebel

    If I don’t pay to get my website up does that mean that I do not own my own website or the content on it? I read up on the mater and am confuse if I will no longer own my pictures and if Wix can use my pictures for whatever they want. That would be the only reason I wouldn’t use this website. Other than that it seems pretty great!

    • Josep Garcia

      You will always be the owner of the content you create. However, when using their platform, you agree to grant Wix permission to use your content. Nonetheless, I haven’t heard of anyone saying that Wix used their content.

  • http://www.tooltester.net/ Robert (Tooltester Network)

    Quick update on Pinterest. Wix now allows you to verify your website with Pinterest and to add a Pinterest follow button. For more details, check this tutorial: http://www.wix.com/support/main/html5/wix-editor/social-facebook-twitter-google1-and-more/social-bar/pinterest-follow?utm_campaign=af_cms-testlabor.de&experiment_id=af_cms-testlabor.de/
    I hope this helps!