Weebly Online Store Review: An Easy Way to Sell?

Weebly provides a fantastic website builder that makes it easy to build a professional online presence. But that’s not all. Since ecommerce has become so important, they’ve now enhanced the editor with many features that will help you sell online. No coding skills needed!

You can sell physical products for shipping, or even digital stuff like ebooks and MP3s. However, the range of features (e.g. gifts cards) depends on the plan.

The Starter and Pro plans provide a very limited version of the Weebly ecommerce solution where they charge an additional sales fee. The best solution for aspiring shop owners is probably the Business plan. It has all the features that you really need. Weebly’s ultimate solution is the Performance plan. It comes with an abandoned cart email engine and real-time shipping rate calculation.

Check out this in-depth review to find out if Weebly’s Online Store is any good?

See the Online Shop in action

info Weebly’s Online Store can be tried out here. (Link will open in a new window.)

Weebly Ecommerce in Detail

Criterion Rating Comment
Ease of use
Adding an online store to your Weebly website is as easy as following a couple of simple steps explained in the menu.
Product presentation
Great zoom function, flexible use of all elements, including videos, slideshows etc. Another great feature is the filtered product search that lets your customer highlight products based on size, color or price.
Product variants
This function is used to create article variants for different colors or sizes. It's very convenient to add variants with this editor. 250 variants per article is the limit in the Business plan.
Cart function yes Products are saved to a digital shopping cart. The performance plan provides abandoned cart emails for visitors who didn’t complete checkout.
Article numbers yes Add your own SKU numbers
Mobile view yes Works perfectly with mobile devices, too
Payment options
Credit card (via Stripe, Square and Authorize.net), PayPal, and Authorize.net. Manual payment methods are not offered.
Sale of digital goods yes Available in Weebly Business and higher. It is possible to limit the number of downloads or the time of availability. Delivery is handled via e-mail. The performance plan also comes with gift cards.
SSL encryption yes In the Starter and Pro plans you can use SSL encryption for the checkout pages only. With the Business and Performance plans you can encrypt your entire website and also use your own custom domain name for the SSL certificate.
Customer log-in area no Feature not available with Weebly.
Coupon codes yes Available in the Business Plan and higher. You can provide a percent discount, a fixed Dollar-amount or free shipping. A limit can also be set to the number of available voucher codes.
Shipping cost settings
Shipping costs are set per country or continent. Individual per-state shipping charges can be set for US-based online stores. A variety of shipping types and carriers are available. Please note: shipping costs can only be set in the Business plan and Performance plans. The Performance plan even provides real time shipping rates for USPS, FedEx, DHL and UPS. However, this is currently only available for shop addresses in US, Canada and Mexico.
Tax settings
If you are based in the US, all you have to do is to insert your zip code and Weebly adds the tax rate. It also allows you to set up individual VAT rates for all other countries worldwide. Taxes will only be shown on the checkout page and not before (which is a requirement in some countries).
Article management
Weebly tracks what you have in stock.
Customizable e-mails for order confirmation
Yes. You can add a message in the header and footer of your emails. Unfortunately, you can't add your own company logo.
Importing/exporting product data yes / yes Product data can be imported and exported via a CSV file. Products can also be transferred from Shopify and Etsy.
E-Commerce analysis yes You can add Google Analytics to your cart, payment or receipt pages to track your visitor behavior.
Exporting order data yes Export orders with a CSV file. The Business plan also allows to export orders in QuickBooks.
Total Score
4.5/5
Weebly delivers a well-executed and easy-to-use online store for beginners. It's a more solid product than the ecommerce options of their closest competitors Wix and Squarespace.

Conclusion

Weebly has done great work here. Adding products and categories is simple and quick thanks to the well-structured backend. New articles can also be added by uploading a CSV Excel file, and you can even transfer articles directly from Shopify or Etsy. Artists and writers in particular will appreciate the option to sell digital goods such as MP3s, videos, or ebooks.

We liked the fact that three payment providers found their way into Weebly’s ecommerce solution: Stripe, Authorize.net, and PayPal. All of these services charge a 2.9% + $0.30 transaction fee. In addition Weebly charges you an extra 3% transaction fee in their Starter and Pro plans. Choose the Business plan if you want to avoid this extra charge.

Thanks to responsive templates, buyers can browse the store easily on their mobile devices. Security is worth a special mention of its own – all customer data is encrypted via SSL.

However, we have mixed feelings about the Performance plan. Even though it contains more features than Business, we don’t think that it’s worth almost twice the price of the Business plan. If you are planning to have a store that large, you should probably also consider Shopify as it offers a much wider variety of ecommerce add-ons.

All in all, Weebly’s online store is worth a look. An ideal solution for any small business that is trying to grow!

Check out the Weebly Online Store for free!

Please note that the shipping and tax calculator are only available in the Business and Performance plans. As these features are essential for most store owners we don’t recommend using the Starter or Pro plan to set up a Weebly online store.

Weebly Online Shop Examples Websites

Weebly Ecommerce Alternatives

Shopify
See review
Jimdo Online Store
See review
Wix Online Store
See review

FAQ

Can I sell digital goods like MP3s, videos or eBooks with Weebly?

Yes. You can sell files with a max. size of 3GB. Perfect for large software or video files.

Can I manage my store with Weebly's iOS or Android app?

Yes, the Weebly app notifies you about new orders (via push notifications), and you can also process and fulfill them. And, of course, you can also edit your store and answer customer inquiries from within the app.

Review Updates

05 Jul 2017 – Added filtered search and information about the mobile app.
04 Oct 2016 – Weebly 4 Update. Performance plan provides new features.
13 May 2016 – Free online store no more available / Product export function added
09 Feb 2016 – Small update in SSL encryption
07 Aug 2015 – Prices update
26 Nov 2014 – Added tax settings and information on product variants
28 Oct 2014 – Item limitations have changed.
20 Aug 2014 – Item limitations removed for Starter, Pro and Business
01 Apr. 2014 – Update: Weebly added an order export function, Google Analytics tracking and the possibility to leave a personal note for the seller.
03 Feb. 2014 – Coupons are available. Confirmation e-mails can be modified.
29 Nov. 2013 – Initial review of the Weebly online shop

Last update: 05 Jul 2017 | Armin Pinggera

Your questions:

 
We love to hear from you! This is the place to ask questions about the product we reviewed. Please note that we reserve the right to delete comments that are disrespectful, use inappropriate language or are solely promotional.

60 Comments

  • Salonie Kelly says:

    This is wonderful information. Thanks to weebly team.

  • Hope says:

    What if you only want a donation button. I don’t need a whole store…we only collect funds for events.

  • Vasilious says:

    Hi, I sell products with different weights and sizes, when I tried out the weebly commerce site, I had to set up a lot of buttons in PayPal, which kind of defeats the object. Is this still a requirement, or haas this now been resolved. For example if sell a tea, with different sizes can this be setup in the Weebly page rather than having to add HTML coded buttons from PayPal. Thank you.

    • Armin says:

      Yes, all you need to do is to connect your PayPal account with Weebly. Each product can have variants like sizes etc. Fortunatly, you don’t have to create any button any longer.

  • vedo says:

    People order from my website..but the purchase amount doesn’t show in my account, can you help me?

  • TerryN says:

    Hope this may help some of you folk out there: Anyone thinking of using this, and I must say excellent, online store builder, please be aware that if you have a Weebly account set up with YOUR email (personal or business) address, the online store order confirmations will end up in YOUR mail box. So, say you are building a site for a client or friend and you have a Weebly account with maybe your own website hosted, make sure their store is in a separate account AND most importantly, with the email address they want to use for order confirmations. They would obviously have to give you admin access which is easily set up. Weebly are busy working on this (they told me last week) so hopefully it will not be an issue in the near future. Also worth noting, is if you already have a store built for someone, but set up in your name and want to transfer the store’s ‘Weebly account’ over to them ready for launch, they can do that for you if you contact them, BUT, and it’s a big but! They can’t transfer the store element and its products over to the new account. The store would have to be completely rebuilt! That is another issue they are working on at this minute in time. They don’t explain these issues anywhere and I had to find out the hard way.
    Apart from all that, I have six websites under construction, four are published and think it’s the best website builder ever produced. Support is second to none. Being in the UK, I can get an answer back within a few hours. Can’t beat that can you?

  • Anna says:

    Hei Armin, have you seen that Weebly newly introduced a costumer log in function? It was one of the thing you highlighted in your review as really missing compared to Shopify. What do you think about it? I did as you recommended and tried test versions but cannot decide which to choose, shopify or weebly. Can I write in Norwegian on weebly? I mean everything, also the checkout processes, billing and shipping infos etc. Thank you so much for your answer.

    • Armin says:

      Hi Anna! I guess you mean the recently introduced membership function. It is not connected with the eCommerce store. It’s good when you organize a venue, etc. No, Weebly doesn’t allow you to edit or translate everything. Check the video. For instance, you can only add information to the header or footer in your confirmation emails. The rest is predefined. Shopify is much more flexible.

  • nuhausco. says:

    I am trying to figure out based on fees, what is the best option – Squarespace or Weebly – for creating an ecommerce site. At first glance it seems Weebly is less expensive, but after paying for an account I realized they charge an extra 3% on items, so in reality, it may end up being much more expensive.. I plan on having somewhere between 10-20 items in my shop, ranging in price from $18-250. Is there some way to compare numbers? I’m usually good at breaking these things down but I’m having trouble with all the variables. I find it interesting that most reviews and comparisons don’t even really cover this part of ecommerce other than yours.

    • Armin says:

      Hi! The only Weebly plan that makes sense for an online shop is Weebly Business ($25 + costs for your domain). Starter and Pro have no shipping and tax function what makes your shop useless in general. Squarespace has a Professional plan ($16 incl. domain) that allows you to sell up to 20 products. Their Business plan has even more functions, but is still $1 cheaper than Weebly Business.

  • aim says:

    Hi
    I want to build a blog that also has the option of purchasing 5-10 products. Is Weebly or Weebly Store the better option?

    Thanks

    • Armin says:

      Hi! In your case I think I’d try Squarespace, because it has a cool feature that allows you to incorporate your products directly into your blog. Furthermore, the Professional ($16) plan would be much cheaper than Weebly’s Business ($25+ domain costs) plan. You can try Squarespace 14 days for free.

  • Ni says:

    Hi, thanks for the info on Weebly..how does the billing to the site owner work? There is no info on Weebly website…like how do they deal with the transaction fees and how do they collect said fees? Am I missing something? Thanks for all help..Ni

  • Sergio says:

    Hi I have been a Weebly Pro Plan subscriber since December 2012. I had started my site(s) but did not do much for a while. Recently, I decided to seriously start back again. On Dec 2014, I decided to renew Pro Plan for 2 years.

    Then at the beginning of Feb 2015, I decided to sign up for the Business Plan which is $299/yr. So on Feb 2, I sent an email to Weebly letting them know that I had just paid in Dec for 2 yrs of Pro Plan and if it was possible to have the amount I paid for Pro deducted from Business Plan at sign up time. The reply (02/02/15) was not very clear as why not but the answer was no. But I could get a 15% discount off the $299. That means that I would lose most of the money I paid for Pro, one and 1/2 month prior. I do not think that’s fair.

    The worst part was that I sent a reply to their Feb 2 email on Feb 4 explaining my reasoning for the credit and to let them know that their email was not clear to me. As of today Feb 10, I have yet to receive an answer to my Feb 4 email. I sent another (not so nice) email on Feb 6 and no reply. But because the Feb 6 email opened another ticket, they found the time to send me 2 emails one regarding closing the older ticket and the other about merging the older one with the new one.
    I do like Weebly sitebuilder but customer service sucks and that is a deal breaker for me. What would happen if I had an issue after I signed up for Business Plan? I most definitely would not recommend Weebly. People stay away from Weebly.

    I did not include all details but this is a very long comment and did not want to make it any longer.
    Thank you for all the website builder reviews and for your time and effort to share them with us. They have been very helpful to me. Keep up the good work!

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hello Sergio, sorry for our late reply. It took longer than usual because we asked Weebly about it. I hope this is useful, they said the following:

      “If a customer purchases Pro and later decides to change to Business, they are immediately and automatically credited for any unused time left on their Pro service.

      Let’s say someone purchases two years of Pro for $159, then one month later they decide they’d rather have one year of Business for $299. We’ll subtract the value of one month of Pro from what they previously paid $159 – 6.50 = $152.50, and then apply the remainder to cost of the one year of Business $299 – $152.50 = $146.50.

      So they’d own $146.50 for one year of Business instead of $299 thanks to the $152.50 credit from their unused Pro.

      Additionally, if they decided to pay for Business on a monthly basis instead of paying in advance then we’d subtract $29 a month from their credit until it ran out.

      The credit is alway applied automatically in the account as soon as you attempt the upgrade. If the customer isn’t seeing this, then it’s possible there could be a bug in their account that support could get fixed for them (I’d be happy to look if you have his email address).”

      • Sergio says:

        Hi Josep, that’s what I thought until I got an answer from them. But not until 5 days later and two emails from me, did they answer me stating what you just said above. Thanks again. And keep up the good work… you and your site are very helpful and I appreciate it!

  • Aine Scannell says:

    I have to say I am really impressed by the quality of the staff here on this website – you guys are really the bees knees !!!

  • ArtieHarris says:

    I think that the link above might be wrong – where it says, ” Try the Weebly Online Store for free now!”

    Best,

    • Hi Artie, I just checked the link, it should work perfectly. The online store is part of the regular Weebly package. Even in the free plan you can try out all the features. Let me know if you have any further questions!

  • Cheri Higdon says:

    I use my weekly for my teacher web page. This year the site has not been reliable. I can type my week’s agenda and it does not post. I would like to continue to use weebly but I really need something I can count on.

    • Josep Garcia says:

      We are sorry to hear about your issues. Sometimes old browsers can be tricky, please make sure you use an updated version. Have you tried to contact Weebly’s support?

  • Blue-Eyed Devil says:

    I make designs for t-shirts on Redbubble, Cafepress, and Spreadshirt, and I use a Mac for all my work. I’ve reached the point where I would like to integrate it all under one site name for marketing purposes. I signed up for Weebly a few months ago, played around with some features for a little while to get a feel for the system and logged off. When I tried to log back in, after inputting my username and password, nothing happened when I clicked the login button. It also did nothing when I used the enter key, it just sits there. I was able to login on my phone or my wife’s laptop, but not my Mac. I wrote Weebly customer support about it and they told me they’d been having problems connecting via Safari and suggested I use Chrome or Firefox. I tried logging in again today, six months later, to see if they’d resolved the issue, but I still get the same result. I don’t feel I should have to install another browser just to be able to build my site from the computer that actually contains all my files, and I hate using the wife’s laptop at all.

    • Josep Garcia says:

      I’ve never heard about this issue before, thanks for letting us know. I tried Weebly with Safari, Chrome, Firefox and Opera and it worked perfectly. I would suggest you to update Safari if you aren’t using the last version yet; sometimes older browsers have issues working with web applications.

  • Emily says:

    Hi, I just wanted to let you know that the link in this video does not work. The link that should take you to the full review simply takes you to this webpage again.

  • Gabriel says:

    Nice review, weeblys ecommerce solution seems to be really interesting. I just find that the payment options are not satisfying, how can they not add at least an invoice option? CC and Paypal is not that common here… Do you know of any clever workaround?

  • sayula says:

    Is Weebly’s online store (pro account) suitable for a waterspouts rental business?

    • sayula says:

      *water sports

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Weebly only offers tax calculator with their Business plan. Therefore, we would not recommend the Pro or the Starter plan. Additionally, you could have a look at Wix, they have recently lunched Wix Bookings, a tool that will let your costumers self-book appointments and even processes payments. I think it’s interesting for your business.

  • Claire Tindall (cmt018) says:

    How can i find out what traffic levels weebly ecommerce can support without my site going down

    • Armin says:

      I’d say Weebly is pretty stable and it would require a DDoS-Attack to bring your store down. Best you also ask the Weebly-Support if they have more information about that.

  • sydney chaden says:

    I’m quite old, and not very adept with computers. Is there someone available to call with questions or to provide technical support?

  • Vichi Contacto says:

    hello. What do you think is better Weebly, Wix or Shopify. I need good looking store with a lot of categories. but also of line payments that weebly dont have. maybe they put them on next update?

    • Armin says:

      Hi,
      Shopify would be the best match for your project. We doubt that Weebly will add this feature soon, because they just updated the online store. Wix is ok for small online stores but not if you think about adding a lot of categories.

  • Amanda Lee Mély says:

    Hi there!
    Thank you for this wealth of valuable information!!
    Which platform is best suited to an online clothing store (niche market) we’ve narrowed it down to Shopify or Weebly? We also require the site to be in 4 languages namely; English, German, French and Italian?
    TIA and kind regards

    • Armin says:

      Hi Amanda,
      Both are great for a shop in one language, but they struggle with several languages. Shopify has a plugin that can translate the shop, however it’s a bit pricey. You’ll get most flexibility with a system like WordPress with the plugins WooCommerce and WPML. However, they are by far more complicated to set up and maintain.

      • Amanda Lee Mély says:

        Hi Armin
        Thank you! Not quite the answer I wanted to hear LoL. Oh dear, so here goes my uphill climb!! I was hoping one of the Web builders would work for us :/
        Thanks for your input.

  • Josephine says:

    Hello. Thank you for the article. I want to open an online store which i hope can be accessible to customers in Nigeria and Uk. Which of the web platforms allows conversion of currency based on the country orders are made from. I hope to get a feedback. Thanks

    • Armin says:

      Hi Josephine,
      I guess the problem is that you can’t use any payment gateway that they offer in Nigeria. Therefore, you should check out Shopify since they provide many more gateways. Maybe one of them also provides support in Nigeria.

  • Octavian Simon says:

    Greate article

  • Donald SaintVal says:

    I must say this is an awesome article. Great website in general. I am looking into opening an online store in which users would be able to sell and trade with other users. This would basically mean they would be able to upload a listing, sort of like ebay. Is weebly or any other builder capable of this??

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi Donald. I am afraid that your project can’t be done with Weebly or any other website builder. You’d need a more advanced solution such as WordPress. Be aware that this will requiere some technical knowledge. Please check our WordPress guide for more information.

  • teresa Hansen says:

    We would like to use Weebly because we will have a full website that volunteers will update and it seems quite easy. BUT we do want to have an commerce page to sell a few items for our small non-profit. We also have a brick and mortar store. We currently keep our inventory on Quickbooks and use it to invoice for orders. How can we track inventory? It looks like we could choose Square on Weebly for payment, but that the inventory information would not make it to from Weebly to Square and then to QB. Is that right? Any suggestions?

    • Armin says:

      Hi Teresa,
      In order to export your store order history to Quickbooks, you’ll need Weebly Business or higher. Weebly also provides an internal stock tracker.

  • Isabelle says:

    Awesome reviews and information, it was very helpful!! However I still am having some trouble deciding between Jimdo, Shopify and Wix. I am planning to sell stationary “crates” using eCommerce but since this will start out as a fairly small business I am looking for something that includes: no (or cheap) transaction fees, more than one paying option (Stripe, PayPal, credit etc.), cheap plans, search engine optimization (SEO), SSL, no tax trouble and shipping help. I am aware having all these are not possible but I am looking for something cheap month to month (not annual payments) that is a solid eCommerce platform. Thank you!

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi Isabelle. If cheap is your priority, then Wix or Jimdo will be the best fit. Personally, I think Wix’s ecommerce is slightly better. Shopify and Weebly have more advanced tools and their ecommerce modules are more powerful, but they are more expensive. You can compare all these tools here. You can try them out for a couple of hours see which one you like better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ebook website creation cover

Get your FREE ebook now! 100% knowledge, 0% spam!

Create your own business website the right way! Read this ebook and you will be surprised how simple it is.
  1. Plan your website properly from the start
  2. Create a website in no time
  3. Use our checklist before going live
  4. 100% free, no spam, no hidden costs
  5. Already over 10,000 downloads!
Instant Download