Wix Online Store Review: Worth Your Time and Money?

In our general Wix review, we were quite impressed by the website builder’s visual strengths and ability to create a professional and modern looking website. Now, imagine you are an artist and could sell your music, pictures or books directly through your amazing looking website. Wouldn’t that be handy? Wix’s “eCommerce” plan aims exactly for that goal.

Fortunately, the free plan already allows you to play with the settings and to get a feeling for the handling. You’ll be able to add products, check out the tax and shipping settings and a lot more. You can try it as long as you want, just like the rest of the free version.

In this online store review, we’ll find out what the Wix eCommerce plan has to offer. Is it worth its money or should you consider a different solution such as Shopify or Weebly? Let’s find out!

See it in action here

info Wix offers a free plan that allows you to test the eCommerce store. Sign up for it here.

Value: Wix eCommerce provides one of the cheapest online store solutions in the market.

Ease of use: Wix eCommerce is as simple to use as the rest of the website builder. Beginners can set up their online store very fast.

Products: You can sell physical and digital goods.

Sale fees: Wix doesn’t charge any commission.

Online store size: we’d only recommend it for smaller online stores (up to 60 items approx.).

Shipping: Unfortunately, there’s no real-time carrier calculated shipping (e.g. UPS or FedEx).

Customization: in general, everything looks really well designed, but some elements like confirmation emails can’t be entirely customized.

Wix Online Store in Detail

Criterion Rating Comment
Ease of use
An online store can be added with only one click. The store-related menus are well structured and it’s quite easy to understand. Help texts are usually just one click away.
Product presentation
Product images w/ zoom function, overview and detailed description. A ribbon text can be added stating things like “Bestseller” or “New”. Unfortunately, videos can currently only be added as an external link in the product’s description.
Product variants
Different colors, sizes and other individual variants are possible. All of these variations can be edited individually.
Cart function yes Products are saved to a digital shopping cart. You can customize the icon and the layout of the shopping cart page.
Article numbers yes SKUs can be added, even for your variants.
Mobile view yes The store is optimized for mobile devices. An editor allows you to optimize the presentation for both desktop and smartphone versions individually. This is great but as the mobile version isn’t always 100% perfect, you sometimes need to readjust it a little.
Payment options
PayPal, credit cards (Stripe, Wirecard) and offline payment are available (cash, cheque, wire transfer). Further information.
Sale of digital goods yes You can offer different types of digital downloads: ebooks (40 MB), images (50MB), music (100MB) and zip-files (1 GB). Buyers will receive links to download their digital products on the Thank You page of the Checkout, along with an emailed link that will last for 30 days.
SSL encryption yes The entire store is secured with SSL-encryption (https).
Customer log-in area no Personal shopping logins for returning customers are not provided.
Coupon codes yes Give your customers a discount, either as a percentage, fixed amount or free shipping. You can also set an expiration date.
Shipping cost settings
Shipping costs are set per country and can be defined for each region. Real-time carrier calculated shipping isn’t included.
Tax settings
Set individual tax rates for each country worldwide. Allows you to display VAT prices on your product pages.
Article management
Wix gives you an overview of your articles in stock. Once you run out they can’t be ordered anymore.
Customizable e-mails for order confirmation
There are four types available: order places, digital product order, order shipped and order ready for pickup. You can add a logo and the company name to the header. The rest is predefined.
Importing/exporting product data no / no Products can only be added manually. Not a good solution for bigger stores.
E-Commerce analysis no No internal statistics provided. However, you can integrate Google Analytics to your website for sales tracking. It’s also possible to add any other tracking code (e.g. AdWords) to your “Thank you” page.
Exporting order data yes Order export via CSV file is available. This will allow you to import them into any accounting software. Wix’s app market also provides some invoicing solutions.
Total Score
3.9/5
The Wix online store is a solid solution for smaller ecommerce businesses as it provides all the features you need to conveniently run a store of up to 60 items. It’s suitable for both physical and digital goods.

Conclusion

Wix’s eCommerce plan let’s you easily sell t-shirts, mugs or your paintings. New products can be highlighted with an eye-catching ribbon. But that’s not all: their new feature for digital products takes care of the entire sales process for you as these orders will be sent automatically to your customer. Wix doesn’t charge any extra commission for this.

SEO settings are essential for an online store to get found in Google. Wix does a stellar job here. Every product page allows you to have an individual title, description and URL-name.

There are also two great features that we haven’t talked about yet: Wix’s online store mobile app and the ShoutOut Email Campaign tool. The app will allow you to edit and manage your online store via your mobile phone. For instance, you can add new products or check your customer’s order status.

The neat integration of ShoutOut makes it possible to promote your products from your product pages. This means it’ll insert your product info directly into an email. You just need to modify it as you wish and hit the send button. That makes promoting really easy.

However, we have to say that Wix eCommerce is clearly meant for smaller online stores, because there is no import/export function for products. Imagine you have to update every single product manually. For bigger projects you’d need a solution like Shopify. You can compare it in our eCommerce side-by-side comparison.

> Test Wix’s online store for free and without risk

Is Wix’s Online Store the right choice for you?

  • you are looking for an easy way to sell online
  • you want to sell physical and digital goods
  • you want a great looking online store

Alternatives to Wix' Online Store

Weebly Store
See review
Shopify
See review
Jimdo Online Store
See review
Squarespace Store
See review

Wix eCommerce FAQ

How much is Wix eCommerce?

It depends on your contract term. You can opt for a monthly up to 2-years subscription. The cheapest option would be $17/month. You’ll find more information in our detailed Wix pricing comparison.

Is Wix eCommerce better than Shopify?

Both are great online store solutions. However, we see Wix more in the small online store sector whereas Shopify is a great solution for scalable online stores.

How can I cancel my Wix online store?

Just cancel your plan in the dashboard. If you want to delete your entire Wix account, you must cancel your subscription before.

How many products can I add to the store?

There’s no limit, but tons of products can affect your website performance. Furthermore, we don’t recommend it for big online stores (60 items and more), because you can’t import or export your products.

Review Updates

28 Jun 2017 – Review update: digital downloads available
03 Feb 2017 – SSL added
22 Nov 2016 – Pricing update
20 Apr 2016 – Remark on Wix Invoices added
12 Aug 2015 – Updated review (new editor)
26 Nov 2014 – Tax settings added
04 Nov 2014 – Added video review
16 Oct 2014 – Initial review of Wix’ Online Store

Last updated: 28 Jun 2017 | Armin Pinggera

Your questions:

 
We love to hear from you! This is the place to ask questions about the product we reviewed. Please note that we reserve the right to delete comments that are disrespectful, use inappropriate language or are solely promotional.

86 Comments

  • Sarah says:

    Wix does NOT allow multiple tax rates for individual states.

    This presents a HUGE problem in states like New York, as businesses must charge tax based on the destination COUNTY. (Generally, but not always, this goes by zip code.)

    So, yeah. I just wasted a few days of my life setting up my Wix website. It looks like I won’t be able to accept payments that comply with the ridiculous New York State tax codes.

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Yes, you are absolutely right about this. If you need a website builder that provides a solution for this issue, you can check Shopify and Weebly.

    • Jon Schackmuth says:

      Yes you can Sarah, I just did it as a first time user. After clicking on Shipping & Tax, Add a tax rule, scroll down and pick the United States. Then go to the right of the U.S. is a blue 49 States, click it and you can deselect all states and reselect NY.

      • Armin says:

        Hey Jon! The problem is that when you are a seller from New York you have to deal with different sales tax rates, based on the destination of the buyer within NY. Wix only allows to set up one tax rate for NY. That’s a big problem if you have a business there.

    • djnh says:

      They really need to add the USPS rates integrated by zip code, as store owners, we risk losing money on sales. The tax part is tough too, they need to start using cookie solutions to figure out a javascrpt for this stuff.

  • mark says:

    I WOULD RECOMMEND VOMMOCO THEY BUILD GREAT WEBSITES IF YOU WANT UNLIMITED.

  • Leo O Leo says:

    Hello guys. Thanks for the review. I’ve just checked the Wix ecommerce functionalities and nowdays they are way better. You should up date your review.

  • Daniel Radin says:

    If you use the shopify app instead of the ecommerce plan, does this fix all of the problems? Is it as feature-rich as a true shopify site? I assume you can’t integrate apps from the shopify app store into the shopify wix app.

  • Man Among the Ruins says:

    Does anybody know if it is possible to add an instruction form on the order page? My service requires specific (but simple) instructions for completion of the order.

  • francois Clerc says:

    Just made a website with Wix Store and I find it ridiculous, I have so many issues:
    – There is no flexibility with the VAT (in UK different rate for different products)
    – You can’t show the price including VAT
    – The shipping rules are very limited, flat rate whatever you sell!!

    I wouldn’t recommend Wix Store, it’s got none of the basics you need to manage an online store!

    • Armin says:

      We always encourage our readers to test the free version. The Jimdo store allows you to have a standard tax rate and a product specific rate. You can test the Jimdo online store for free as long as you want.

  • lori says:

    How about using the WIX paypal app, which is free? Has anyone tried that?

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi Lori. Wix has a few PayPal apps in their App Market. These are apps that help you generate and integrate the code for a simple PayPal button. This means there isn’t integration with a real online store (e.g. no shopping cart, no shipping features, no tax options, no order management, etc.). For simple projects this may be good enough and you can use it with their free plan. If you need more advanced options, you can compare Wix and other ecommerce platforms here.

  • Rob Thompson says:

    Hello, i’m new to website building. What is it referring to with no export/import? As well as it states it’s set up for small store but doesn’t specify how small. Thanks.

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi Rob. “Importing & exporting product data” refers to automated processes that some tools have to add product’s information without having to upload the content manually. In this case Wix does not have either import or export features.

      Wix is not good for small projects. This is difficult to quantify, but in my opinion about 50 products is the limit. To manage more than 50 products manually is complicated and other tools are better suited for this.

  • Jessica says:

    Wix is great if you’re not using it as an ecommerce site or your sales are super low. Basic functions (like searching or filtering customer orders) aren’t there. If you plan on having any sort of volume to your sales, I recommend looking elsewhere, I regret the time and energy I poured into creating my site and now have to rebuild it with a platform that can meet my needs (Like not “losing” my orders and not being able to recover them). Recommend it if you’re looking for just a pretty site though. Hope this helps anyone avoid the mistake I did.

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi Jessica, thanks for your feedback. We agree, there are more advanced tools to create an online store with, please use our tool to compare the best ecommerce builders. However, for other type of pages Wix can be a really good match.

    • Jennifer Green says:

      Oh this really sucks. I finished all my hard work. You don’t think it’s any luck at all? That’s a lot ofor money I don’t have to invest in another site:(

  • Admin SC says:

    hello, is there any way I can link youtube cards on my videos to my merch in my wix store, like it says on Youtube it can be done with many other stores? https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/6083754?hl=en
    tks

  • Jennifer Green says:

    Hi,

    I have a e-commerce with wix, I have a store with over 21 items and on some products I have over 3 options. Now I launched and everything has been working but today my site doesn’t work at all. The “add to cart” button doesn’t work it’s not letting customers add anything. I’m not sure if the site is temporarily down or its my store. Can you help? I’ve tried getting in touch with wix no luck…

    • Armin says:

      Hi Jennifer,
      Normally, it should always work. It’s hard to say what exactly happened. Wix will always reply. Just make sure that you left them a message.

  • Peter says:

    Can anyone tell me how much it will cost me. I presume it’s not all free?

  • frustratedfullstack says:

    Yep right direction, but severely limited as far as range of motion, you cant remove the ecommerce solution from the wix hosting and you will continue to be charged through the nose for it as your site grows. Good luck with an Ecommerce solution by WIX. Don’t believe me why don’t you simply ask WIX tech support “No site developed with WIX editor can be removed from WIX servers” so you are locked in tight and forced to pay their premiums. Not a bad strategy but it is deceitful.

    • Armin says:

      Hi!
      First of all, you can test Wix for free as long as you want, even the eCommerce features. If you don’t like, don’t use it. However, if you should decide to upgrade to a premium plan, you can choose to pay per month or per year. And if you don’t need the ecommerce plan, you can also downgrade to a less cheaper plan (or cancel it). With Wix you are never locked down tight.

      • frustratedfullstack says:

        OK, attempt to take your site off of wix servers, seems like youre pretty well good and locked especially if you purchase your domain through them. Seems like it is spot on accurate. But you can definitely cancel the site and lose all the work you put into it lol. Its a gamble, for sure build build build and then road block.

        • Armin says:

          Wix is not an Open-Source solution like WordPress. You cannot simply move your website to another hosting company. But that’s the price you pay, if you want to create a website without any coding or technical skills. That’s not a secret. 😉

  • Antje Peters says:

    Hi Armin,
    can you confirm that ecommerce shop does not offer confirmation emails for orders?
    I run a tour company and am looking for an efficient booking and payment system WITH confirmation emails. What would WIX offer here?

    • Armin says:

      Hi Antje,
      When they pay with PayPal or Stripe, they’ll get a confirmation mail from these services. The main problem is that you can’t edit them. Weebly would be more interesting for your project since you can customize your confirmation mails.

  • Helen says:

    Hi, may I ask you which website builder you think is best suitable for offering consulting services with online booking appointments features for the consultants AND ability to sell products as well? Thanks so much!

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi Hellen, the only website builder that would let you do all that natively is Wix. They have both an ecommerce and also have the Wix Bookings app to let your customers book appointments online. However, you can always use Weebly ecommerce module and use an external app such as Appontlet if you need an alternative to Wix.

  • Will says:

    Hello! I’m looking for a website builder that will allow me to sell membership registrations through the ecommerce store, but automating the registration process. In other words, the customer purchases the “membership” through the store, and is then registered automatically and given login details. I looked at Weebly, but it seems that I would have to register each customer manually after purchase, which could be time consuming. Do you have any suggestions? Many thanks for your time 🙂

    Will

  • Rajat Shanbhag says:

    Thanks for the info. I am an artist and want to create a website for painting. Is WIx a good choice ? I am looking where people can buy from my site and also add my etsy shop on the website as an option. Also, if there is an indicator on the work saying whether it is sold or not. any suggestions ?

  • Marquita says:

    Reasons why Wix is not ideal for e-commerce.
    1. They do not have shipping estimators, so you will have to either offer flat rate shipping, or calculate shipping by product weight.
    2. You cannot connect a SSL certificate to your actual site. As of 1/1/2017 Google will downgrade sites that do not have a SSL certificate in their searches and your customers will get a nice pop-up when visiting your site telling them your site is unsafe!! Although there is safety through the payment gateways that you link to your account, it still is very damaging to your business’ reputation. I hope they fix this very soon!!

  • Wendy Gore says:

    I need a web builder that allows me to list unlimited different types of items with detailed pictures. I want one that is safe and all costs included as much as possible. Please advise.

  • Christie says:

    I own a small boutique where I’m constantly getting in new items monthly. I would like to grow my business by selling online and possibly doing a custome shopping experience where I receive information about the customer and pick items that would work best for them. Which company do you think would work best for me? I’ve looked into square space, Shopify, wix and square up.

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi Christie. Weebly, Squarespace and Shopify are ready to sell services. Which you will need for this “custome shopping experience”. In my opinion Weebly is the easies to use and suitable for small and medium online stores. If you are planning to have a larger project, I would check Shopify. By the way, we have an ecommerce guide that you may find interesting.

  • Jeanne says:

    I am part of a CO-OP that is an art gallery and teaching studio. I am curious what eCommerce store and /or website builder works best with online registration and sales of classes?

    • Josep Garcia says:

      This will depend on what you are exactly looking for. However, Wix has an app called Wix Bookings that will let your users book (and pay) for appointments. You could set this for both individual or group classes. With other website builders such as Weebly or Shopify you can sell services, but I guess this booking feature would suit you better.

  • Emily says:

    Just FYI…I signed up with Wix to set up an online store about a month ago. The features are all great. HOWEVER, unless you are educated about web design, SEO and all the “techno” stuff, I would consider someone else. Wix’s customer support is ABSOLUTELY HORRIFIC!!! I called their office – no exaggeration – for a FULL WEEK, during business hours and always received a recording saying either that they were closed or that they weren’t accepting any more calls that day. I was told that the easiest way to contact them is through email. I have sent them 4 emails in the past month and have not received a reply to ANY of them. If you read through all of the FAQs and help articles (of which there are many), but have a question about something you’ve read, don’t bother submitting a help ticket or question. They will just copy and paste the exact same page you already read without answering your question. I’m extremely frustrated and disappointed. I’ve spent alot of money and time working on this website and I’m about ready to throw my computer out the window because of it.

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi Emily, thanks for your feedback. Would you mind sharing with us what your issue is? We may be able to find an answer for you.

      • Emily says:

        My BIGGEST issue is not being able to access any type of useful customer service when I need it. Since posting this, I have also emailed several of the top executives at Wix and I’m currently having an email conversation with the CEO.

        My current site issue are:
        1. I have a vertical menu on the left-hand side of our page, outside the grid line. This menu does not show up on all computer screens. It’s cut off of many.

        2. I added H1 and H2 tags to my pages, but when I follow the instructions to check them, it only finds the H1 tag on my home page. Nothing on any of my other pages.

        • Armin says:

          We just tested it, but we don’t have any issues with the H1-H6 tags. They all appear in the source code. Here’s the test page. About the menu: have you tried another position for the vertical menu inside the gridline? If it doesn’t get cut off, you know what to do. 😉 Good luck!

  • Bessie Neshan says:

    I have a ecommerce question. Trying to decipher what is the best solution for my website’s needs. I’m not selling actual goods that need to be shipped. I currently have a WIX website and it’s objective is to provide unlimited access to website’s content after purchase of package is made by individual. It is a lifestyle fitness & nutrition website and I want to sell my program online.

    I don’t want users to have to pay for downloadable content, rather I want them to pay for unlimited access to all the content on my website. Whereas other viewers would have limited viewing access. I’ve created member only permissions restrictions on those pages that would need to be paid for.

    My question, is this possible in WIX? I’ve created all the packages that I’m interested in selling. Is WIX Store the way to move forward or do I need an external APP? or Simply a Paypal button added to packages?

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi Bessie. As far as I know, this is not achievable with Wix as their registered users feature can’t be mixed with online payments. To be honest, other website builders (e.g. Weebly) aren’t better at membership sites. As you mentioned, you could use a PayPal and give manual access to your customers, but IMO this is not ideal. As I see, your best option would be to use WordPress and and combine it with a plugin such as WishList or WooCommerce. More on WordPress with our beginners guide.

  • Sha says:

    If offline payment is applied to my shop. How can I receive the customer payment confirmation? Does the web has ‘payment confimation form’ feature?

    • Armin says:

      Hi,
      You have to check your bank account (e.g. for money transfer). In the Wix back end you can choose “Complete Order” so that the system knows that this customer has already paid.

  • Jon Meloche says:

    If we use your services, who owns the domain name? Do we own the rights to the name, and have the ability to change Web companies, while still keeping the same name?

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi Jon. First of all let me clarify that we aren’t Wix and certainly we don’t offer website building services. We test and review website builders. If you decide to host your domain name with Wix, you own. And it’d be possible to moved to another provider and keep the same name.

  • ieth says:

    Hello. I’m looking for a tick box that can be included for online booking. I already have a Wix Premium account. The idea is, the client will choose as many services as she wants before completing the booking. I hope you can help me. Thank you.

    • Armin says:

      Hi,
      You’ll need an order form like Typeform. If this doesn’t work, please get in touch with Wix’s support. Maybe there’s also an app for this available in their store.

  • Nereid Talani says:

    How fast is the online store? i have a pizzeria, and i need to use an online store, i want to get my online orders through fax, fast and easy, is that possible with the online store that wix offers, and if yes do you know any websites(restaurants, pizzerias or anything else) that uses wix online store for their online orders?

  • Armin says:

    Hi Maja,
    Unfortunately, this is not possible with Wix. You can only provide one currency. This is a very advanced feature since rates change quite a lot. The payment gateway normally does the converting. I think BigCommerce does quite a good job when it comes to different currencies at once.

  • TJ says:

    Hi Armin,

    I have a question regarding Wix ecommerce. I want to list items but I will need Google or other search engines to bring customers to my site. I was wondering if people are searching for the brands that I am selling would they be routed to the Wix site? Thank you so much!

  • TJ says:

    Thank you Josep 🙂 would you recommend a different site? I am still shopping around, I need something that isn’t pricey and that can drive traffic to the site. I see that Wix is really easy to use so that’s a plus.

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Hi TJ. The SEO of these tools (e.g. Wix, Weebly, Shopify, etc) is good, but be aware that for you to get organic traffic (from search engines) you’d need to have a good SEO strategy. However, in my opinion, there are better alternatives (e.g. Shopify or Weebly). Check out our ecommerce guide to get more information on the topic.

  • Josep Garcia says:

    Hi Claudia. It will depend on the store itself and your needs. As you said, Wix is really good to create visual results and their ecommerce system is OK for medium and small online stores. If their online store system is good enough for your, you should be fine. However, if your ecommerce is going to be rather large, I’d suggest you to check Shopify if you need something easier to use than Magento. Compare the best easy-to-use store builders here.

  • L Witt says:

    Is there a way for customers to browse/see the details of the products BEFORE “Sign In” to add something to their cart?

    • Josep Garcia says:

      Personal shopping logins for returning customers aren’t available with Wix. If you need a store builder with this functionality I’d suggest you to check Shopify out.

  • Kiki Fabini says:

    Hi, I would like to sell digital products like coaching courses with integrated videos kind of tutorials… is that possible with Wix??

    • Armin says:

      Hi Kiki,
      Yes, this is possible with Wix eCommerce.

      • Michael Hebbes says:

        Is Wix ideal for coaching courses though I’m seriously considering Wix but I’m still a bit apprehensive

        • Michael Hebbes says:

          Also no returning customers means I’d have to allow clients to download my videos as opposed to stream only?

          • Armin says:

            Wix can’t stream videos out of the box. It’s not a streaming service, but a website builder. You’ll need a service like Skype, YouTube, etc. for the live coaching.

        • Armin says:

          Hi Michael,
          Wix will allow you to sell digital videos via their online store. However, if you want to offer live coaching, you should consider Wix Bookings. This add-on for Wix also has a payment function and you can better arrange appointments. The live session has to be done with a typical software like Skype, etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ebook website creation cover

Get your FREE ebook now! 100% knowledge, 0% spam!

Create your own business website the right way! Read this ebook and you will be surprised how simple it is.
  1. Plan your website properly from the start
  2. Create a website in no time
  3. Use our checklist before going live
  4. 100% free, no spam, no hidden costs
  5. Already over 10,000 downloads!
Instant Download