Wix Online Store Review: Worth Your Time and Money?

In our general Wix review, we were quite impressed by the website builder’s visual strengths and ability to create a professional and modern looking website. Imagine you are an artist and could sell your music, pictures or books directly through your amazing looking website. Wouldn’t that be handy? Wix has an “eCommerce” plan that aims exactly for that goal.

In this online store review, we’ll find out what the online store has to offer. Is the plan worth its money or should you consider a competitor’s solution? Let’s find out!

See it in action here

info Wix offers a free plan that allows you to test the eCommerce store. Sign up for it here.

Wix Online Store in Detail

Criterion Rating Comment
Ease of use
An online store can be added with one click. The editor is well structured and it’s quite easy.
Product presentation
Photo w/ zoom function, YouTube and Vimeo video, overview and detailed description.
Product variants
Different colors, sizes and other individual variants are possible.
Cart function yes Products are saved to a digital shopping cart that can be customized.
Article numbers yes SKUs can be added, even for your variants.
Mobile view yes The store is optimized for mobile devices. An editor allows you to optimize the presentation.
Payment options
PayPal, credit card (Stripe, Wirecard, Authorize.net), offline payment are available.
Sale of digital goods no But you can integrate an external solution from the Wix App Market for that (at an extra cost). However, Wix Music allows you to sell your MP3s, etc. for free. This doesn't require the eCommerce plan.
SSL encryption partially The entire store is secured with SSL-encryption (https).
Customer log-in area no Personal shopping logins for returning customers are not provided.
Coupon codes yes Give your customers a discount, either as a percentage, fixed amount or free shipping. You can also set an expiration date.
Shipping cost settings
Shipping costs are set per country and can be defined for each region. Carriers aren’t included.
Tax settings
Set individual tax rates for each country worldwide. Allows to display VAT prices on your product pages.
Article management
Wix gives you an overview of your articles in stock.
Customizable e-mails for order confirmation
No. It’s not possible to modify anything. No logo, further notes, etc. You can only modify the “Checkout” and “Thank you” pages.
Importing/exporting product data no / no Products can only be added manually. Not a good solution for bigger shops.
E-Commerce analysis no No statistics provided. However, you can integrate Google Analytics on your “Thank you” page for sales tracking.
Exporting order data no An export of your orders with a CSV file or into any other service is not possible. However, Wix feature their own invoicing solution in the app market.
Total Score
3.8/5
The Wix online store is a handy solution for small businesses that is very easy to use. We hope that Wix will include support for digital goods in the future.

Conclusion

Wix has taken a step in the right direction. With their editor overhaul in August 2015, they didn’t just change its design but also introduced and improved a couple of useful features: SKUs, coupon options, payment options, etc.

Selling t-shirts, mugs or your old CD collection is fairly easy. However, we’re quite disappointed that you can’t add important SEO-relevant information to a product. There also is no integrated solution for selling digital goods (like PDFs, images, eBooks, etc.). Therefore, you have to pick an app from the store that costs extra. Fortunately, there’s a free app for musicians that allows users to sell music without any fees or commissions. You do not need the eCommerce plan for the music app.

Since there is still no import/export function for products, the Wix eCommerce plan is really meant for small online stores. If you’re looking to sell some MP3s, the cheaper plan should be sufficient for your project.

For more information, you can check our Wix plan comparison. We also recommend having a look at our eCommerce side-by-side comparison.

> Test Wix’s online store for free and without risk

Alternatives to Wix' Online Store

Weebly Store
See review
Squarespace Store
See review
Shopify
See review
Jimdo Online Store
See review

Review Updates

03 Feb 2017 – SSL added
22 Nov 2016 – Pricing update
20 Apr 2016 – Remark on Wix Invoices added
12 Aug 2015 – Updated review (new editor)
26 Nov 2014 – Tax settings added
04 Nov 2014 – Added video review
16 Oct 2014 – Initial review of Wix’ Online Store

Last updated: 03 Feb 2017 | Armin Pinggera

Your questions:

 
We love to hear from you! This is the place to ask questions about the product we reviewed. Please note that we reserve the right to delete comments that are disrespectful, use inappropriate language or are solely promotional.
  • Sarah

    Wix does NOT allow multiple tax rates for individual states.

    This presents a HUGE problem in states like New York, as businesses must charge tax based on the destination COUNTY. (Generally, but not always, this goes by zip code.)

    So, yeah. I just wasted a few days of my life setting up my Wix website. It looks like I won’t be able to accept payments that comply with the ridiculous New York State tax codes.

    • Josep Garcia

      Yes, you are absolutely right about this. If you need a website builder that provides a solution for this issue, you can check Shopify and Weebly.

    • Jon Schackmuth

      Yes you can Sarah, I just did it as a first time user. After clicking on Shipping & Tax, Add a tax rule, scroll down and pick the United States. Then go to the right of the U.S. is a blue 49 States, click it and you can deselect all states and reselect NY.

      • Hey Jon! The problem is that when you are a seller from New York you have to deal with different sales tax rates, based on the destination of the buyer within NY. Wix only allows to set up one tax rate for NY. That’s a big problem if you have a business there.

    • djnh

      They really need to add the USPS rates integrated by zip code, as store owners, we risk losing money on sales. The tax part is tough too, they need to start using cookie solutions to figure out a javascrpt for this stuff.

      • Yes, we agree. Wix should do this. Fortunately, Shopify has USPS integrated and you can also add the correct tax rates.

  • mark

    I WOULD RECOMMEND VOMMOCO THEY BUILD GREAT WEBSITES IF YOU WANT UNLIMITED.

  • Leo O Leo

    Hello guys. Thanks for the review. I’ve just checked the Wix ecommerce functionalities and nowdays they are way better. You should up date your review.

    • Hi! Thank you for your feedback. What functionalities do you think are better now?

  • Daniel Radin

    If you use the shopify app instead of the ecommerce plan, does this fix all of the problems? Is it as feature-rich as a true shopify site? I assume you can’t integrate apps from the shopify app store into the shopify wix app.

    • You need a Shopify store to use the Shopify app. In that case it would make more sense to run directly a Shopify store, otherwise you pay both for Wix and Shopify.

  • Man Among the Ruins

    Does anybody know if it is possible to add an instruction form on the order page? My service requires specific (but simple) instructions for completion of the order.

  • francois Clerc

    Just made a website with Wix Store and I find it ridiculous, I have so many issues:
    – There is no flexibility with the VAT (in UK different rate for different products)
    – You can’t show the price including VAT
    – The shipping rules are very limited, flat rate whatever you sell!!

    I wouldn’t recommend Wix Store, it’s got none of the basics you need to manage an online store!

    • We always encourage our readers to test the free version. The Jimdo store allows you to have a standard tax rate and a product specific rate. You can test the Jimdo online store for free as long as you want.

  • How about using the WIX paypal app, which is free? Has anyone tried that?

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Lori. Wix has a few PayPal apps in their App Market. These are apps that help you generate and integrate the code for a simple PayPal button. This means there isn’t integration with a real online store (e.g. no shopping cart, no shipping features, no tax options, no order management, etc.). For simple projects this may be good enough and you can use it with their free plan. If you need more advanced options, you can compare Wix and other ecommerce platforms here.

  • Rob Thompson

    Hello, i’m new to website building. What is it referring to with no export/import? As well as it states it’s set up for small store but doesn’t specify how small. Thanks.

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Rob. “Importing & exporting product data” refers to automated processes that some tools have to add product’s information without having to upload the content manually. In this case Wix does not have either import or export features.

      Wix is not good for small projects. This is difficult to quantify, but in my opinion about 50 products is the limit. To manage more than 50 products manually is complicated and other tools are better suited for this.

  • Jessica

    Wix is great if you’re not using it as an ecommerce site or your sales are super low. Basic functions (like searching or filtering customer orders) aren’t there. If you plan on having any sort of volume to your sales, I recommend looking elsewhere, I regret the time and energy I poured into creating my site and now have to rebuild it with a platform that can meet my needs (Like not “losing” my orders and not being able to recover them). Recommend it if you’re looking for just a pretty site though. Hope this helps anyone avoid the mistake I did.

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Jessica, thanks for your feedback. We agree, there are more advanced tools to create an online store with, please use our tool to compare the best ecommerce builders. However, for other type of pages Wix can be a really good match.

    • Jennifer Green

      Oh this really sucks. I finished all my hard work. You don’t think it’s any luck at all? That’s a lot ofor money I don’t have to invest in another site:(

  • Admin SC

    hello, is there any way I can link youtube cards on my videos to my merch in my wix store, like it says on Youtube it can be done with many other stores? https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/6083754?hl=en
    tks

    • Unfortunately, it’s still not possible, since it’s not in the list of approved retailers.

      • masoud

        hi armin,
        on a tottaly seprate project can i have a private chat?
        basically i would like to setup a website to teach accredited public health courses for free( nominal fees for exam papers). i hope to see if you could advise. thanks maoud

        • Hi Masoud, in Wix’s App Market you can find a couple of live chat tools that would allow you to do that. For more information on live chat you can also check out http://www.chattooltester.com

        • Hi! We don’t offer private consulting, but you could try to set this up with Weebly. They have a membership function. You’ll find a video in this blog post.

  • Jennifer Green

    Hi,

    I have a e-commerce with wix, I have a store with over 21 items and on some products I have over 3 options. Now I launched and everything has been working but today my site doesn’t work at all. The “add to cart” button doesn’t work it’s not letting customers add anything. I’m not sure if the site is temporarily down or its my store. Can you help? I’ve tried getting in touch with wix no luck…

    • Hi Jennifer,
      Normally, it should always work. It’s hard to say what exactly happened. Wix will always reply. Just make sure that you left them a message.

  • Peter

    Can anyone tell me how much it will cost me. I presume it’s not all free?

  • frustratedfullstack

    Yep right direction, but severely limited as far as range of motion, you cant remove the ecommerce solution from the wix hosting and you will continue to be charged through the nose for it as your site grows. Good luck with an Ecommerce solution by WIX. Don’t believe me why don’t you simply ask WIX tech support “No site developed with WIX editor can be removed from WIX servers” so you are locked in tight and forced to pay their premiums. Not a bad strategy but it is deceitful.

    • Hi!
      First of all, you can test Wix for free as long as you want, even the eCommerce features. If you don’t like, don’t use it. However, if you should decide to upgrade to a premium plan, you can choose to pay per month or per year. And if you don’t need the ecommerce plan, you can also downgrade to a less cheaper plan (or cancel it). With Wix you are never locked down tight.

      • frustratedfullstack

        OK, attempt to take your site off of wix servers, seems like youre pretty well good and locked especially if you purchase your domain through them. Seems like it is spot on accurate. But you can definitely cancel the site and lose all the work you put into it lol. Its a gamble, for sure build build build and then road block.

        • Wix is not an Open-Source solution like WordPress. You cannot simply move your website to another hosting company. But that’s the price you pay, if you want to create a website without any coding or technical skills. That’s not a secret. 😉

  • Antje Peters

    Hi Armin,
    can you confirm that ecommerce shop does not offer confirmation emails for orders?
    I run a tour company and am looking for an efficient booking and payment system WITH confirmation emails. What would WIX offer here?

    • Hi Antje,
      When they pay with PayPal or Stripe, they’ll get a confirmation mail from these services. The main problem is that you can’t edit them. Weebly would be more interesting for your project since you can customize your confirmation mails.

  • Helen

    Hi, may I ask you which website builder you think is best suitable for offering consulting services with online booking appointments features for the consultants AND ability to sell products as well? Thanks so much!

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Hellen, the only website builder that would let you do all that natively is Wix. They have both an ecommerce and also have the Wix Bookings app to let your customers book appointments online. However, you can always use Weebly ecommerce module and use an external app such as Appontlet if you need an alternative to Wix.

  • Will

    Hello! I’m looking for a website builder that will allow me to sell membership registrations through the ecommerce store, but automating the registration process. In other words, the customer purchases the “membership” through the store, and is then registered automatically and given login details. I looked at Weebly, but it seems that I would have to register each customer manually after purchase, which could be time consuming. Do you have any suggestions? Many thanks for your time 🙂

    Will

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Will. As far as I know there isn’t a website builder that would let you do that. I think you’d need to use WordPress and a plugin such as WooCommerce to achieve this. Please read our WordPress guide for more details.

      • Will

        Thank you for the advice. I have been looking at WordPress and plugins, and possibly Wishlist Member might be what I am looking for. I’ll take a look at WooCommerce too.

        • Josep Garcia

          I think both would work for you, but please check before.

  • Rajat Shanbhag

    Thanks for the info. I am an artist and want to create a website for painting. Is WIx a good choice ? I am looking where people can buy from my site and also add my etsy shop on the website as an option. Also, if there is an indicator on the work saying whether it is sold or not. any suggestions ?

    • Hi Rajat, Wix’s online store should be fine for this purpose. There’s even a Wix app for Etsy that you can use. Wix also provides article management, which will give you and your visitors an overview of what is in and out of stock.

      • Ray

        Is wix suitable for a non profit organization that solicits online donations?

        • Josep Garcia

          Hi Ray. Wix has a free app called “Get Funding” that will let you accept donations.

  • Marquita

    Reasons why Wix is not ideal for e-commerce.
    1. They do not have shipping estimators, so you will have to either offer flat rate shipping, or calculate shipping by product weight.
    2. You cannot connect a SSL certificate to your actual site. As of 1/1/2017 Google will downgrade sites that do not have a SSL certificate in their searches and your customers will get a nice pop-up when visiting your site telling them your site is unsafe!! Although there is safety through the payment gateways that you link to your account, it still is very damaging to your business’ reputation. I hope they fix this very soon!!

    • Josep Garcia

      Those are really good points! Thank you for bringing this up. We find Weebly or Shopify much better to create online stores with since they provide SSL-encryption and a real time shipping calculator.

    • Hi Marquita, I heard that Wix is currently working on a solution to enable SSL encryption. This should be fixed relatively soon, can’t say when exactly though.

  • Wendy Gore

    I need a web builder that allows me to list unlimited different types of items with detailed pictures. I want one that is safe and all costs included as much as possible. Please advise.

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Wendy. I assume you are planning to build an online store with many products. With Wix it would be difficult to manage as it lacks of importing and exporting features. I’d say that for this you could consider Weebly or Shopify (for really large online stores). Please compare Wix and its best alternatives here.

      Note: the Weebly Business plan lets you sell unlimited products.

  • Christie

    I own a small boutique where I’m constantly getting in new items monthly. I would like to grow my business by selling online and possibly doing a custome shopping experience where I receive information about the customer and pick items that would work best for them. Which company do you think would work best for me? I’ve looked into square space, Shopify, wix and square up.

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Christie. Weebly, Squarespace and Shopify are ready to sell services. Which you will need for this “custome shopping experience”. In my opinion Weebly is the easies to use and suitable for small and medium online stores. If you are planning to have a larger project, I would check Shopify. By the way, we have an ecommerce guide that you may find interesting.

  • Jeanne

    I am part of a CO-OP that is an art gallery and teaching studio. I am curious what eCommerce store and /or website builder works best with online registration and sales of classes?

    • Josep Garcia

      This will depend on what you are exactly looking for. However, Wix has an app called Wix Bookings that will let your users book (and pay) for appointments. You could set this for both individual or group classes. With other website builders such as Weebly or Shopify you can sell services, but I guess this booking feature would suit you better.

  • Emily

    Just FYI…I signed up with Wix to set up an online store about a month ago. The features are all great. HOWEVER, unless you are educated about web design, SEO and all the “techno” stuff, I would consider someone else. Wix’s customer support is ABSOLUTELY HORRIFIC!!! I called their office – no exaggeration – for a FULL WEEK, during business hours and always received a recording saying either that they were closed or that they weren’t accepting any more calls that day. I was told that the easiest way to contact them is through email. I have sent them 4 emails in the past month and have not received a reply to ANY of them. If you read through all of the FAQs and help articles (of which there are many), but have a question about something you’ve read, don’t bother submitting a help ticket or question. They will just copy and paste the exact same page you already read without answering your question. I’m extremely frustrated and disappointed. I’ve spent alot of money and time working on this website and I’m about ready to throw my computer out the window because of it.

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Emily, thanks for your feedback. Would you mind sharing with us what your issue is? We may be able to find an answer for you.

      • Emily

        My BIGGEST issue is not being able to access any type of useful customer service when I need it. Since posting this, I have also emailed several of the top executives at Wix and I’m currently having an email conversation with the CEO.

        My current site issue are:
        1. I have a vertical menu on the left-hand side of our page, outside the grid line. This menu does not show up on all computer screens. It’s cut off of many.

        2. I added H1 and H2 tags to my pages, but when I follow the instructions to check them, it only finds the H1 tag on my home page. Nothing on any of my other pages.

        • We just tested it, but we don’t have any issues with the H1-H6 tags. They all appear in the source code. Here’s the test page. About the menu: have you tried another position for the vertical menu inside the gridline? If it doesn’t get cut off, you know what to do. 😉 Good luck!

  • Bessie Neshan

    I have a ecommerce question. Trying to decipher what is the best solution for my website’s needs. I’m not selling actual goods that need to be shipped. I currently have a WIX website and it’s objective is to provide unlimited access to website’s content after purchase of package is made by individual. It is a lifestyle fitness & nutrition website and I want to sell my program online.

    I don’t want users to have to pay for downloadable content, rather I want them to pay for unlimited access to all the content on my website. Whereas other viewers would have limited viewing access. I’ve created member only permissions restrictions on those pages that would need to be paid for.

    My question, is this possible in WIX? I’ve created all the packages that I’m interested in selling. Is WIX Store the way to move forward or do I need an external APP? or Simply a Paypal button added to packages?

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Bessie. As far as I know, this is not achievable with Wix as their registered users feature can’t be mixed with online payments. To be honest, other website builders (e.g. Weebly) aren’t better at membership sites. As you mentioned, you could use a PayPal and give manual access to your customers, but IMO this is not ideal. As I see, your best option would be to use WordPress and and combine it with a plugin such as WishList or WooCommerce. More on WordPress with our beginners guide.

      • Bessie Neshan

        Thank you. I’ll check it out.

  • Sha

    If offline payment is applied to my shop. How can I receive the customer payment confirmation? Does the web has ‘payment confimation form’ feature?

    • Hi,
      You have to check your bank account (e.g. for money transfer). In the Wix back end you can choose “Complete Order” so that the system knows that this customer has already paid.

  • Jon Meloche

    If we use your services, who owns the domain name? Do we own the rights to the name, and have the ability to change Web companies, while still keeping the same name?

    • Josep Garcia

      Hi Jon. First of all let me clarify that we aren’t Wix and certainly we don’t offer website building services. We test and review website builders. If you decide to host your domain name with Wix, you own. And it’d be possible to moved to another provider and keep the same name.

  • ieth

    Hello. I’m looking for a tick box that can be included for online booking. I already have a Wix Premium account. The idea is, the client will choose as many services as she wants before completing the booking. I hope you can help me. Thank you.

    • Hi,
      You’ll need an order form like Typeform. If this doesn’t work, please get in touch with Wix’s support. Maybe there’s also an app for this available in their store.

  • Nereid Talani

    How fast is the online store? i have a pizzeria, and i need to use an online store, i want to get my online orders through fax, fast and easy, is that possible with the online store that wix offers, and if yes do you know any websites(restaurants, pizzerias or anything else) that uses wix online store for their online orders?

    • Hi Nereid,
      You don’t need the online store (eCommerce plan) for your project. Wix has an app called “Wix Restaurants” for this kind of website. You can test it for free.

ebook website creation cover

Get your FREE ebook now! 100% knowledge, 0% spam!

Create your own business website the right way! Read this ebook and you will be surprised how simple it is.
  1. Plan your website properly from the start
  2. Create a website in no time
  3. Use our checklist before going live
  4. 100% free, no spam, no hidden costs
  5. Already over 10,000 downloads!
Instant Download